Norwood Elementary School
Public middle school, grades 5 to 8 · Peoria, Illinois
Norwood Elementary School in Peoria, Illinois enrolled 150 students in 2024-25 with 12.0 full-time teachers, 12.5 students per teacher against the Illinois middle-school median of 12.7. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 20-24% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 20-24% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Illinois: 29.9% and 26.6%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment fell 9% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 8%
165 students in 2022-23, 153 students in 2023-24, 150 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 13.0 to 12.0.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 165 | 13.0 | 12.7 |
| 2023-24 | 153 | 12.0 | 12.8 |
| 2024-25 | 150 | 12.0 | 12.5 |
12.5 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 55 of every 100 Illinois middle schools
Among the 684 Illinois middle schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 12.7; the national median for middle schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
One counselor per 324 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Norwood Elementary School enrolled 162 students and had 0.5 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 43 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programNo
- Counselors (FTE)0.5, one per 324 of the 162 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions43
- Chronically absent42.4% (2022-23)
Who attends
76.0% of students were White, 10.0% of two or more races, 8.0% Hispanic in 2024-25.
- White76.0%
- Two or more races10.0%
- Hispanic8.0%
- Black6.0%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at Norwood Elementary School scored proficient or above: 20-24% in reading in 2021-22 and 20-24% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | Illinois |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 20‑24% | 20% | 29.9% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 20‑24% | not published | 26.6% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Middle schools in Peoria
7 public middle schools in Peoria report 2024-25 enrollment; Norwood Elementary School is number 7 by size.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sterling Middle School | 374 | 14.8 | not reported |
| Liberty Leadership Middle School | 350 | 12.8 | not reported |
| Reservoir Gifted School | 308 | 19.0 | not reported |
| Von Steuben Middle School | 266 | 16.4 | not reported |
| Mark W Bills Middle School | 258 | 11.5 | not reported |
| Pleasant Valley Intermediate School | 166 | 9.2 | not reported |
| Norwood Elementary School | 150 | 12.5 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Norwood Elementary School
- Harold B Dawson Middle SchoolThe nearest public middle school, 3.2 miles away: 331 students, 15.8 per teacher (2024-25).3.2 mi
- Pleasant Valley Intermediate SchoolThe next nearest public middle school, 3.4 miles away: 166 students, 9.2 per teacher (2024-25).3.4 mi
- Compare Norwood Elementary School with Harold B Dawson Middle SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Norwood ESD 63 spends per student$13,145 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$13,145
- The largest public schools in IllinoisNorwood Elementary School is the number 605 by size of 686 Illinois middle schools open in 2024-25.#605 of 686
- Illinois schools by students per teacher12.5 students per teacher here against the Illinois median of 12.7 for middle schools.12.5:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Norwood Elementary School
How many students attend Norwood Elementary School?
150 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 165 in 2022-23. It is a middle school in Peoria, IL.What is the student-teacher ratio at Norwood Elementary School?
12.5 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Illinois median for middle schools is 12.7. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Norwood Elementary School a Title I school?
Norwood Elementary School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Norwood Elementary School do on state tests?
The students tested at Norwood Elementary School scored proficient or above: 20-24% in reading in 2021-22 and 20-24% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Norwood Elementary School in?
Norwood ESD 63, NCES district ID 1729040. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 172904003218 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.