North Rock Creek Elementary School

Public elementary school, pre-kindergarten to grade 4 · Shawnee, Oklahoma

North Rock Creek Elementary School in Shawnee, Oklahoma enrolled 458 students in 2024-25 with 26.2 full-time teachers, 17.5 students per teacher against the Oklahoma elementary-school median of 15.5. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 10-14% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 6-9% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Oklahoma: 27.2% and 25.1%).

Enrollment fell 2% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 10%

467 students in 2022-23, 477 students in 2023-24, 458 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 23.8 to 26.2.

Students enrolled at North Rock Creek Elementary School by school year2022-23: 467, 2023-24: 477, 2024-25: 45802004006002022-234672023-244772024-25458
Students enrolled at North Rock Creek Elementary School by school year2022-23: 467, 2023-24: 477, 2024-25: 45802004006002022-234672023-244772024-25458
Students enrolled at North Rock Creek Elementary School by school year2022-23: 467, 2023-24: 477, 2024-25: 45802004006002022-234672023-244772024-25458
Students enrolled at North Rock Creek Elementary School by school year2022-23: 467, 2023-24: 477, 2024-25: 45802004006002022-234672023-244772024-25458
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2346723.819.6
2023-2447728.416.8
2024-2545826.217.5

17.5 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 81 of every 100 Oklahoma elementary schools

Among the 915 Oklahoma elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 15.5; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Oklahoma elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 5.1 to 60.0; This school 17.5; state median 15.5.2 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 17.5state median 15.5U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Oklahoma elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 5.1 to 60.0; This school 17.5; state median 15.5.2 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 17.5state median 15.5U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Oklahoma elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 5.1 to 60.0; This school 17.5; state median 15.5.2 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 17.5state median 15.5U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Oklahoma elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 5.1 to 60.0; This school 17.5; state median 15.5.2 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 17.5state median 15.5U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 398 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection North Rock Creek Elementary School enrolled 398 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 398 of the 398 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absent14.8% (2022-23)

Who attends

50.0% of students were White, 22.3% of two or more races, 16.6% American Indian in 2024-25.

  1. White50.0%
  2. Two or more races22.3%
  3. American Indian16.6%
  4. Hispanic9.6%
  5. Black1.5%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at North Rock Creek Elementary School scored proficient or above: 10-14% in reading in 2021-22 and 6-9% in math in 2022-23, against 27.2% in reading in 2021-22 and 25.1% in math in 2022-23 across Oklahoma. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Oklahoma, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtOklahoma
Reading and language arts, 2021-2210‑14%22%27.2%
Math, 2022-236‑9%20% (2021-22)25.1%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Shawnee

10 public elementary schools in Shawnee report 2024-25 enrollment; North Rock Creek Elementary School is number 3 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Bethel Elementary School55615.7not reported
Grove Public School53915.5not reported
North Rock Creek Elementary School45817.5not reported
South Rock Creek Public School41817.1not reported
Will Rogers Elementary School36714.1not reported
Shawnee Ec Ctr35012.7not reported
Jefferson Elementary School34814.6not reported
Sequoyah Elementary School29313.5not reported

All public schools in Shawnee →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about North Rock Creek Elementary School

  1. Grove Public SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 3.0 miles away: 539 students, 15.5 per teacher (2024-25).3.0 mi
  2. Will Rogers Elementary SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 3.3 miles away: 367 students, 14.1 per teacher (2024-25).3.3 mi
  3. Compare North Rock Creek Elementary School with Grove Public SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much North Rock Creek spends per student$10,832 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$10,832
  5. The largest public schools in OklahomaNorth Rock Creek Elementary School is the number 247 by size of 917 Oklahoma elementary schools open in 2024-25.#247 of 917
  6. Oklahoma schools by students per teacher17.5 students per teacher here against the Oklahoma median of 15.5 for elementary schools.17.5:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about North Rock Creek Elementary School

  1. How many students attend North Rock Creek Elementary School?
    458 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 467 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Shawnee, OK.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at North Rock Creek Elementary School?
    17.5 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Oklahoma median for elementary schools is 15.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is North Rock Creek Elementary School a Title I school?
    North Rock Creek Elementary School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at North Rock Creek Elementary School do on state tests?
    The students tested at North Rock Creek Elementary School scored proficient or above: 10-14% in reading in 2021-22 and 6-9% in math in 2022-23, against 27.2% in reading in 2021-22 and 25.1% in math in 2022-23 across Oklahoma. Oklahoma's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is North Rock Creek Elementary School in?
    North Rock Creek, NCES district ID 4000802. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 400080202876 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22