Nathaniel Morton Elementary
Public elementary school, kindergarten to grade 5 · Plymouth, Massachusetts
Nathaniel Morton Elementary in Plymouth, Massachusetts enrolled 511 students in 2024-25 with 41.5 full-time teachers, 12.3 students per teacher against the Massachusetts elementary-school median of 12.1. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 46% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 51% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Massachusetts: 43.7% and 42%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 7%
512 students in 2022-23, 502 students in 2023-24, 511 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 44.6 to 41.5.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 512 | 44.6 | 11.5 |
| 2023-24 | 502 | 40.2 | 12.5 |
| 2024-25 | 511 | 41.5 | 12.3 |
12.3 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 53 of every 100 Massachusetts elementary schools
Among the 1,012 Massachusetts elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 12.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
One counselor per 502 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Nathaniel Morton Elementary enrolled 502 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 3 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programNo
- Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 502 of the 502 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions3
- Chronically absent20.3% (2022-23)
Who attends
78.7% of students were White, 11.7% Hispanic, 5.7% of two or more races in 2024-25.
- White78.7%
- Hispanic11.7%
- Two or more races5.7%
- Black2.0%
- Asian1.6%
- American Indian0.4%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at Nathaniel Morton Elementary scored proficient or above: 46% in reading in 2021-22 and 51% in math in 2022-23, against 43.7% in reading in 2021-22 and 42% in math in 2022-23 across Massachusetts. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Massachusetts, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | Massachusetts |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 46% | 48% | 43.7% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 51% | 38% (2021-22) | 42% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Elementary schools in Plymouth
8 public elementary schools in Plymouth report 2024-25 enrollment; Nathaniel Morton Elementary is number 3 by size.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| South Elementary | 614 | 12.1 | not reported |
| Indian Brook | 520 | 11.9 | not reported |
| Nathaniel Morton Elementary | 511 | 12.3 | not reported |
| Federal Furnace School | 359 | 10.0 | not reported |
| West Elementary | 349 | 10.5 | not reported |
| Manomet Elementary | 263 | 12.5 | not reported |
| Cold Spring | 214 | 9.8 | not reported |
| Hedge | 210 | 9.4 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Nathaniel Morton Elementary
- Cold SpringThe nearest public elementary school, 1.1 miles away: 214 students, 9.8 per teacher (2024-25).1.1 mi
- HedgeThe next nearest public elementary school, 2.0 miles away: 210 students, 9.4 per teacher (2024-25).2.0 mi
- Compare Nathaniel Morton Elementary with Cold SpringStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Plymouth spends per student$23,123 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$23,123
- The largest public schools in MassachusettsNathaniel Morton Elementary is the number 220 by size of 1,014 Massachusetts elementary schools open in 2024-25.#220 of 1,014
- Massachusetts schools by students per teacher12.3 students per teacher here against the Massachusetts median of 12.1 for elementary schools.12.3:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Nathaniel Morton Elementary
How many students attend Nathaniel Morton Elementary?
511 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 512 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Plymouth, MA.What is the student-teacher ratio at Nathaniel Morton Elementary?
12.3 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Massachusetts median for elementary schools is 12.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Nathaniel Morton Elementary a Title I school?
Nathaniel Morton Elementary was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Nathaniel Morton Elementary do on state tests?
The students tested at Nathaniel Morton Elementary scored proficient or above: 46% in reading in 2021-22 and 51% in math in 2022-23, against 43.7% in reading in 2021-22 and 42% in math in 2022-23 across Massachusetts. Massachusetts's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Nathaniel Morton Elementary in?
Plymouth, NCES district ID 2509720. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 250972001545 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.