Federal Furnace School

Public elementary school, kindergarten to grade 5 · Plymouth, Massachusetts

Federal Furnace School in Plymouth, Massachusetts enrolled 359 students in 2024-25 with 35.7 full-time teachers, 10.0 students per teacher against the Massachusetts elementary-school median of 12.1. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 55-59% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 50-54% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Massachusetts: 43.7% and 42%).

Enrollment fell 12% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 5%

406 students in 2022-23, 383 students in 2023-24, 359 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 37.8 to 35.7.

Students enrolled at Federal Furnace School by school year2022-23: 406, 2023-24: 383, 2024-25: 35902004006002022-234062023-243832024-25359
Students enrolled at Federal Furnace School by school year2022-23: 406, 2023-24: 383, 2024-25: 35902004006002022-234062023-243832024-25359
Students enrolled at Federal Furnace School by school year2022-23: 406, 2023-24: 383, 2024-25: 35902004006002022-234062023-243832024-25359
Students enrolled at Federal Furnace School by school year2022-23: 406, 2023-24: 383, 2024-25: 35902004006002022-234062023-243832024-25359
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2340637.810.7
2023-2438335.110.9
2024-2535935.710.0

10.0 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 84 of every 100 Massachusetts elementary schools

Among the 1,012 Massachusetts elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 12.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; Federal Furnace School 10.0; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherFederal Furnace School 10.0state median 12.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; Federal Furnace School 10.0; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherFederal Furnace School 10.0state median 12.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; Federal Furnace School 10.0; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherFederal Furnace School 10.0state median 12.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; Federal Furnace School 10.0; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherFederal Furnace School 10.0state median 12.1U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 373 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Federal Furnace School enrolled 373 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 373 of the 373 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absent21.4% (2022-23)

Who attends

79.1% of students were White, 8.6% Hispanic, 7.2% of two or more races in 2024-25.

  1. White79.1%
  2. Hispanic8.6%
  3. Two or more races7.2%
  4. Black4.5%
  5. Asian0.6%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Federal Furnace School scored proficient or above: 55-59% in reading in 2021-22 and 50-54% in math in 2022-23, against 43.7% in reading in 2021-22 and 42% in math in 2022-23 across Massachusetts. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Massachusetts, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtMassachusetts
Reading and language arts, 2021-2255‑59%48%43.7%
Math, 2022-2350‑54%38% (2021-22)42%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Plymouth

8 public elementary schools in Plymouth report 2024-25 enrollment; Federal Furnace School is number 4 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
South Elementary61412.1not reported
Indian Brook52011.9not reported
Nathaniel Morton Elementary51112.3not reported
Federal Furnace School35910.0not reported
West Elementary34910.5not reported
Manomet Elementary26312.5not reported
Cold Spring2149.8not reported
Hedge2109.4not reported

All public schools in Plymouth →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Federal Furnace School

  1. Carver Elementary SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 3.3 miles away: 788 students, 14.1 per teacher (2024-25).3.3 mi
  2. West ElementaryThe next nearest public elementary school, 3.7 miles away: 349 students, 10.5 per teacher (2024-25).3.7 mi
  3. Compare Federal Furnace School with Carver Elementary SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Plymouth spends per student$23,123 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$23,123
  5. The largest public schools in MassachusettsFederal Furnace School is the number 550 by size of 1,014 Massachusetts elementary schools open in 2024-25.#550 of 1,014
  6. Massachusetts schools by students per teacher10.0 students per teacher here against the Massachusetts median of 12.1 for elementary schools.10.0:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Federal Furnace School

  1. How many students attend Federal Furnace School?
    359 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 406 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Plymouth, MA.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Federal Furnace School?
    10.0 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Massachusetts median for elementary schools is 12.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Federal Furnace School a Title I school?
    Federal Furnace School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Federal Furnace School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Federal Furnace School scored proficient or above: 55-59% in reading in 2021-22 and 50-54% in math in 2022-23, against 43.7% in reading in 2021-22 and 42% in math in 2022-23 across Massachusetts. Massachusetts's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Federal Furnace School in?
    Plymouth, NCES district ID 2509720. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 250972001540 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22