Memorial Middle School
Public middle school, grades 6 to 8 · Tulsa, Oklahoma
Memorial Middle School in Tulsa, Oklahoma enrolled 572 students in 2024-25 with 29.4 full-time teachers, 19.4 students per teacher against the Oklahoma middle-school median of 15.4. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 9% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 3% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Oklahoma: 27.2% and 25.1%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment fell 9% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 7%
626 students in 2022-23, 568 students in 2023-24, 572 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 27.5 to 29.4.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 626 | 27.5 | 22.8 |
| 2023-24 | 568 | 31.1 | 18.3 |
| 2024-25 | 572 | 29.4 | 19.4 |
19.4 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 92 of every 100 Oklahoma middle schools
Among the 354 Oklahoma middle schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 15.4; the national median for middle schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
One counselor per 191 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Memorial Middle School enrolled 573 students and had 3.0 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 134 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programYes
- Counselors (FTE)3.0, one per 191 of the 573 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions134
- Chronically absent80.4% (2022-23)
Who attends
35.8% of students were Hispanic, 32.0% Black, 12.9% White in 2024-25.
- Hispanic35.8%
- Black32.0%
- White12.9%
- Two or more races12.2%
- American Indian4.2%
- Asian2.6%
- Pacific Islander0.2%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at Memorial Middle School scored proficient or above: 9% in reading in 2021-22 and 3% in math in 2022-23, against 27.2% in reading in 2021-22 and 25.1% in math in 2022-23 across Oklahoma. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Oklahoma, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | Oklahoma |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 9% | 13% | 27.2% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 3% | 9% (2021-22) | 25.1% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Middle schools in Tulsa
19 public middle schools in Tulsa report 2024-25 enrollment.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Union 6th-7th Grade Ctr | 2,123 | 17.4 | not reported |
| Edison Preparatory Middle School | 860 | 20.2 | not reported |
| East Central Middle School | 843 | 21.4 | not reported |
| Jenks East Intermediate Elementary School | 815 | 14.9 | not reported |
| Nathan Hale Middle School | 782 | 22.1 | not reported |
| Monroe Demonstration Middle School | 657 | 21.2 | not reported |
| Carver Middle School | 651 | 20.7 | not reported |
| Will Rogers College Middle School | 646 | 16.0 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Memorial Middle School
- Thoreau Demonstration AcademyThe nearest public middle school, 1.5 miles away: 434 students, 17.4 per teacher (2024-25).1.5 mi
- Union 6th-7th Grade CtrThe next nearest public middle school, 1.7 miles away: 2,123 students, 17.4 per teacher (2024-25).1.7 mi
- Compare Memorial Middle School with Thoreau Demonstration AcademyStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Tulsa Public Schools spends per student$11,873 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$11,873
- The largest public schools in OklahomaMemorial Middle School is the number 88 by size of 355 Oklahoma middle schools open in 2024-25.#88 of 355
- Oklahoma schools by students per teacher19.4 students per teacher here against the Oklahoma median of 15.4 for middle schools.19.4:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Memorial Middle School
How many students attend Memorial Middle School?
572 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 626 in 2022-23. It is a middle school in Tulsa, OK.What is the student-teacher ratio at Memorial Middle School?
19.4 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Oklahoma median for middle schools is 15.4. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Memorial Middle School a Title I school?
Memorial Middle School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Memorial Middle School do on state tests?
The students tested at Memorial Middle School scored proficient or above: 9% in reading in 2021-22 and 3% in math in 2022-23, against 27.2% in reading in 2021-22 and 25.1% in math in 2022-23 across Oklahoma. Oklahoma's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Memorial Middle School in?
Tulsa Public Schools, NCES district ID 4030240. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 403024002921 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.