Mary Munford Elementary
Public elementary school, pre-kindergarten to grade 5 · Richmond, Virginia
Mary Munford Elementary in Richmond, Virginia enrolled 476 students in 2024-25. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 80-84% of its students tested were proficient in math in 2022-23 (Virginia: 67.5%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment rose 10% from 2022-23 to 2024-25
433 students in 2022-23, 471 students in 2023-24, 476 students in 2024-25.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 433 | 21.0 | 20.6 |
| 2023-24 | 471 | 21.0 | 22.4 |
| 2024-25 | 476 | not reported | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25.
One counselor per 420 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Mary Munford Elementary enrolled 420 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 8 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programYes
- Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 420 of the 420 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions8
- Chronically absent3.5% (2022-23)
Who attends
77.5% of students were White, 6.9% Hispanic, 6.5% Black in 2024-25.
- White77.5%
- Hispanic6.9%
- Black6.5%
- Two or more races5.7%
- Asian2.9%
- American Indian0.4%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2022-23
In 2022-23, the students tested at Mary Munford Elementary scored proficient or above: 80-84% in math, against 67.5% in math across Virginia. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Virginia, not across states. No whole-school reading result is shown: ED's files give none for this school for 2021-22 or 2022-23.
| Subject | This school | Its district | Virginia |
|---|---|---|---|
| Math | 80‑84% | not published | 67.5% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express; for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Elementary schools in Richmond
59 public elementary schools in Richmond report 2024-25 enrollment.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elizabeth Holladay Elementary | 859 | 16.8 | 89.9% |
| Falling Creek Elementary | 823 | 10.7 | 77.5% |
| Cardinal Elementary | 821 | 15.7 | 99.6% |
| Maybeury Elementary | 691 | 18.2 | 89.4% |
| Dumbarton Elementary | 684 | 16.3 | 90.2% |
| Tuckahoe Elementary | 682 | 16.0 | 7.8% |
| G.H. Reid Elementary | 671 | 16.5 | 99.1% |
| Crestwood Elementary | 635 | 14.1 | 76.9% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Mary Munford Elementary
- John B. Cary ElementaryThe nearest public elementary school, 1.4 miles away: 262 students, 13.4 per teacher (2024-25).1.4 mi
- William Fox ElementaryThe next nearest public elementary school, 1.9 miles away: 367 students, 14.9 per teacher (2024-25).1.9 mi
- Compare Mary Munford Elementary with John B. Cary ElementaryStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Richmond Public Schools spends per student$21,413 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$21,413
- The largest public schools in VirginiaMary Munford Elementary is the number 633 by size of 1,137 Virginia elementary schools open in 2024-25.#633 of 1,137
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Mary Munford Elementary
How many students attend Mary Munford Elementary?
476 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 433 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Richmond, VA.What is the student-teacher ratio at Mary Munford Elementary?
20.6 students per full-time teacher (2022-23). A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Mary Munford Elementary a Title I school?
Mary Munford Elementary was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Mary Munford Elementary do on state tests?
In 2022-23, the students tested at Mary Munford Elementary scored proficient or above: 80-84% in math, against 67.5% in math across Virginia. Virginia's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Mary Munford Elementary in?
Richmond Public Schools, NCES district ID 5103240. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 510324001383 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.