Rowan-Salisbury School System

Listed by NCES as Rowan-Salisbury Schools (district ID 3704050)

Public school district · Rowan County · North Carolina · NCES district ID 3704050

Rowan-Salisbury School System spent $12,141 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 58% of the other North Carolina districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $12,366). Its 32 schools enrolled 17,683 students in 2024-25; 54.1% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,427 per student, up 10.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 88% (North Carolina: 86.5%).

Spending per student among North Carolina districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Rowan-Salisbury School System in enrollment (14,406 to 21,206 students) and Rowan-Salisbury School System itself.

Current spending per student, North Carolina districts closest in size to Rowan-Salisbury School System, FY23Public Schools of Robeson County $12,767; Cleveland County Schools $12,540; Nash County Public Schools $12,350; Rowan-Salisbury School System $12,141; Catawba County Schools $11,487; Randolph County School System $11,457; Iredell-Statesville $11,291; Wayne County Public Schools $11,267; Davidson County Schools $11,178; Harnett County Schools $10,877; State median, 1,000+ students $12,366.8k10k12k14kPublic Schools of Robeson Coun…$12,767Cleveland County Schools$12,540Nash County Public Schools$12,350Rowan-Salisbury School System$12,141Catawba County Schools$11,487Randolph County School System$11,457Iredell-Statesville$11,291Wayne County Public Schools$11,267Davidson County Schools$11,178Harnett County Schools$10,877State median, 1,000+ students $12,366
Current spending per student, North Carolina districts closest in size to Rowan-Salisbury School System, FY23Public Schools of Robeson County $12,767; Cleveland County Schools $12,540; Nash County Public Schools $12,350; Rowan-Salisbury School System $12,141; Catawba County Schools $11,487; Randolph County School System $11,457; Iredell-Statesville $11,291; Wayne County Public Schools $11,267; Davidson County Schools $11,178; Harnett County Schools $10,877; State median, 1,000+ students $12,366.8k10k12k14kPublic Schools of Robeson County$12,767Cleveland County Schools$12,540Nash County Public Schools$12,350Rowan-Salisbury School System$12,141Catawba County Schools$11,487Randolph County School System$11,457Iredell-Statesville$11,291Wayne County Public Schools$11,267Davidson County Schools$11,178Harnett County Schools$10,877State median, 1,000+ students $12,366
Current spending per student, North Carolina districts closest in size to Rowan-Salisbury School System, FY23Public Schools of Robeson County $12,767; Cleveland County Schools $12,540; Nash County Public Schools $12,350; Rowan-Salisbury School System $12,141; Catawba County Schools $11,487; Randolph County School System $11,457; Iredell-Statesville $11,291; Wayne County Public Schools $11,267; Davidson County Schools $11,178; Harnett County Schools $10,877; State median, 1,000+ students $12,366.8k10k12k14kPublic Schools of Robeson County$12,767Cleveland County Schools$12,540Nash County Public Schools$12,350Rowan-Salisbury School System$12,141Catawba County Schools$11,487Randolph County School System$11,457Iredell-Statesville$11,291Wayne County Public Schools$11,267Davidson County Schools$11,178Harnett County Schools$10,877State median, 1,000+ students $12,366
Current spending per student, North Carolina districts closest in size to Rowan-Salisbury School System, FY23Public Schools of Robeson County $12,767; Cleveland County Schools $12,540; Nash County Public Schools $12,350; Rowan-Salisbury School System $12,141; Catawba County Schools $11,487; Randolph County School System $11,457; Iredell-Statesville $11,291; Wayne County Public Schools $11,267; Davidson County Schools $11,178; Harnett County Schools $10,877; State median, 1,000+ students $12,366.8k10k12k14kPublic Schools of Robeson County$12,767Cleveland County Schools$12,540Nash County Public Schools$12,350Rowan-Salisbury School System$12,141Catawba County Schools$11,487Randolph County School System$11,457Iredell-Statesville$11,291Wayne County Public Schools$11,267Davidson County Schools$11,178Harnett County Schools$10,877State median, 1,000+ students $12,366

Where the money came from

$257,084,000 in revenue: 54.1% state, 21.7% local and 24.2% federal. Total spending including $12,920,000 of capital outlay was $236,773,000, or $12,992 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Rowan-Salisbury School System revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $139,122,000; Local $55,673,000; Federal $62,289,000; total $257,084,000.
  • State$139,122,000 54%
  • Local$55,673,000 22%
  • Federal$62,289,000 24%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 150 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

18,225 students in 2022-23, 18,110 students in 2023-24, 17,683 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Rowan-Salisbury School System enrollment by school year2022-23: 18,225, 2023-24: 18,110, 2024-25: 17,68305k10k15k20k2022-2318,2252023-2418,1102024-2517,683
Rowan-Salisbury School System enrollment by school year2022-23: 18,225, 2023-24: 18,110, 2024-25: 17,68305k10k15k20k2022-2318,2252023-2418,1102024-2517,683
Rowan-Salisbury School System enrollment by school year2022-23: 18,225, 2023-24: 18,110, 2024-25: 17,68305k10k15k20k2022-2318,2252023-2418,1102024-2517,683
Rowan-Salisbury School System enrollment by school year2022-23: 18,225, 2023-24: 18,110, 2024-25: 17,68305k10k15k20k2022-2318,2252023-2418,1102024-2517,683

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2318,2251104.516.5
2023-2418,1101096.016.5
2024-2517,683990.017.9

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$54,592,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $2,995 per student

Rowan-Salisbury School System booked $54,592,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 1,129 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $48,351 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 36 in 100 North Carolina districts with a figure (state median $49,503, 293 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average North Carolina teacher salary at $53,644 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$36,684,00067.2%
Special education$4,596,0008.4%
Vocational$3,605,0006.6%
Other programs$9,707,00017.8%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,098 in 2018-19, $3,073 in 2019-20, $3,276 in 2020-21, $3,158 in 2021-22, $2,995 in 2022-23.

Rowan-Salisbury School System teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,098, 2019-20: $3,073, 2020-21: $3,276, 2021-22: $3,158, 2022-23: $2,99501k2k3k4k2018-19$3,0982019-20$3,0732020-21$3,2762021-22$3,1582022-23$2,995
Rowan-Salisbury School System teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,098, 2019-20: $3,073, 2020-21: $3,276, 2021-22: $3,158, 2022-23: $2,99501k2k3k4k2018-19$3,0982019-20$3,0732020-21$3,2762021-22$3,1582022-23$2,995
Rowan-Salisbury School System teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,098, 2019-20: $3,073, 2020-21: $3,276, 2021-22: $3,158, 2022-23: $2,99501k2k3k4k2018-19$3,0982019-20$3,0732020-21$3,2762021-22$3,1582022-23$2,995
Rowan-Salisbury School System teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,098, 2019-20: $3,073, 2020-21: $3,276, 2021-22: $3,158, 2022-23: $2,99501k2k3k4k2018-19$3,0982019-20$3,0732020-21$3,2762021-22$3,1582022-23$2,995

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Rowan-Salisbury School System scored proficient or above: 34% in reading and 30% in math, against 48% in reading and 50% in math across North Carolina. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within North Carolina, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNorth CarolinaStudents tested
Reading and language arts34%48%8,092
Math30%50%8,074

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

88% of the 1,511 students in Rowan-Salisbury School System's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.5% across North Carolina. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNorth Carolina
Four-year graduation rate88%86.5%
Students in the class1,511120,822

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

17 elementary schools, 7,906 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Landis Elementary61318.799.5%Schoolwide program
West Rowan Elementary61115.199.5%Schoolwide program
China Grove Elementary59218.699.5%Schoolwide program
Granite Quarry Elementary58620.099.5%Schoolwide program
Knollwood Elementary58518.899.5%Schoolwide program
Koontz Elementary55414.792.8%Schoolwide program
Millbridge Elementary54715.599.5%Schoolwide program
Isenberg Elementary50915.095.3%Schoolwide program
Rockwell Elementary50216.899.4%Schoolwide program
Hurley Elementary46614.899.4%Schoolwide program
Shive Elementary41314.599.3%Schoolwide program
North Rowan Elementary40515.099.3%Schoolwide program
The other 5 elementary schools
SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Dole Elementary38815.699.2%Schoolwide program
Bostian Elementary34215.699.1%Not Title I
Mt Ulla Elementary28116.498.9%Schoolwide program
Morgan Elementary27514.998.9%Schoolwide program
Overton Elementary23715.392.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

6 middle schools, 3,776 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Erwin Middle76317.098.4%Eligible, no program
West Rowan Middle70718.298.9%Eligible, no program
North Rowan Middle64915.399.5%Schoolwide program
Southeast Middle62818.299.5%Eligible, no program
China Grove Middle57219.199.5%Eligible, no program
Corriher Lipe Middle45717.999.3%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

8 high schools, 5,760 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Carson High1,06323.099.7%Eligible, no program
West Rowan High98821.699.6%Eligible, no program
East Rowan High98620.198.4%Eligible, no program
South Rowan High93221.599.7%Eligible, no program
Salisbury High93019.699.7%Eligible, no program
North Rowan High55520.066.2%Eligible, no program
Rowan Co Early College23533.098.7%Eligible, no program
Henderson High7110.295.8%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 other school, 241 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Summit Virtual Academy24118.380.5%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

One more school on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory

These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.

Knox Middle

Middle school in Salisbury; 514 students; 15.2 students per teacher.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.

Contact Rowan-Salisbury School System

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Rowan-Salisbury School System

  1. North Carolina districts by spending per studentRowan-Salisbury School System ranks 87 of 150 North Carolina districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($12,141).#87 of 150
  2. Every school district in North CarolinaRowan-Salisbury School System is the number 19 by size of 332 North Carolina districts, with 18,225 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#19 of 332
  3. Harnett County SchoolsThe next larger North Carolina district: 20,050 students in fall 2022, $10,877 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,877
  4. Davidson County SchoolsThe next smaller North Carolina district: 17,964 students in fall 2022, $11,178 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,178
  5. Compare Rowan-Salisbury School System with Harnett County SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Carson High, its largest high school1,063 students in 2024-25, 23.0 per teacher.1,063
  7. Teacher salary spending across North CarolinaRowan-Salisbury School System spent $48,351 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $49,503); spending, not a salary.$48,351
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Rowan-Salisbury School System

  1. How many schools and students are in Rowan-Salisbury School System?
    32 schools were open in 2024-25 (17 elementary, 6 middle, 8 high, 1 other), enrolling 17,683 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Rowan-Salisbury School System spend per student?
    $12,141 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the North Carolina median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,366 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,427 per student, up 10.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Rowan-Salisbury School System's money come from?
    $257,084,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 54.1% state, 21.7% local and 24.2% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Rowan-Salisbury School System live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 4,376 of the 23,465 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 18.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Rowan-Salisbury School System spend on teacher salaries?
    $54,592,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $2,995 per student. Divided by the 1,129 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $48,351 per teacher, more than 36 in 100 North Carolina districts (state median $49,503). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average North Carolina teacher salary at $53,644 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Rowan-Salisbury School System do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Rowan-Salisbury School System scored proficient or above: 34% in reading and 30% in math, against 48% in reading and 50% in math across North Carolina. North Carolina's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Rowan-Salisbury School System?
    88% of the 1,511 students in Rowan-Salisbury School System's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.5% across North Carolina. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Rowan-Salisbury School System's NCES district ID?
    3704050. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25