Indian Hill
Public elementary school, pre-kindergarten to kindergarten · Palos Heights, Illinois
Indian Hill in Palos Heights, Illinois enrolled 183 students in 2024-25 with 11.1 full-time teachers, 16.5 students per teacher against the Illinois elementary-school median of 13.1. It has no Title I status on file for 2021-22; it does not take part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment rose 27% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 24%
144 students in 2022-23, 170 students in 2023-24, 183 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 8.9 to 11.1.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 144 | 8.9 | 16.1 |
| 2023-24 | 170 | 10.1 | 16.8 |
| 2024-25 | 183 | 11.1 | 16.5 |
16.5 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 90 of every 100 Illinois elementary schools
Among the 2,300 Illinois elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
One counselor per 135 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Indian Hill enrolled 135 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programNo
- Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 135 of the 135 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions0
- Chronically absent13.9% (2022-23)
Who attends
78.7% of students were White, 15.3% of two or more races, 2.7% Hispanic in 2024-25.
- White78.7%
- Two or more races15.3%
- Hispanic2.7%
- Black1.6%
- Asian1.6%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
Elementary schools in Palos Heights
4 public elementary schools in Palos Heights report 2024-25 enrollment; Indian Hill is number 3 by size.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Palos East Elementary School | 705 | 12.5 | not reported |
| Chippewa Elementary School | 237 | 13.1 | not reported |
| Indian Hill | 183 | 16.5 | not reported |
| Navajo Heights Elementary School | 174 | 13.5 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Indian Hill
- Chippewa Elementary SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 0.5 miles away: 237 students, 13.1 per teacher (2024-25).0.5 mi
- Navajo Heights Elementary SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 1.1 miles away: 174 students, 13.5 per teacher (2024-25).1.1 mi
- Compare Indian Hill with Chippewa Elementary SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Palos Heights SD 128 spends per student$17,650 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$17,650
- The largest public schools in IllinoisIndian Hill is the number 2,044 by size of 2,314 Illinois elementary schools open in 2024-25.#2,044 of 2,314
- Illinois schools by students per teacher16.5 students per teacher here against the Illinois median of 13.1 for elementary schools.16.5:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Indian Hill
How many students attend Indian Hill?
183 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 144 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Palos Heights, IL.What is the student-teacher ratio at Indian Hill?
16.5 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Illinois median for elementary schools is 13.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Indian Hill a Title I school?
Indian Hill has no 2021-22 Title I status in the NCES school files (the school opened later, or its district did not report one).What district is Indian Hill in?
Palos Heights SD 128, NCES district ID 1730570. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 173057003904 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.