Hawthorn Aspen Elementary School

Public elementary school, grades 1 to 5 · Vernon Hills, Illinois

Hawthorn Aspen Elementary School in Vernon Hills, Illinois enrolled 313 students in 2024-25 with 26.8 full-time teachers, 11.7 students per teacher against the Illinois elementary-school median of 13.1. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 34% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 52% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Illinois: 29.9% and 26.6%).

Enrollment fell 7% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 16%

337 students in 2022-23, 318 students in 2023-24, 313 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 31.9 to 26.8.

Students enrolled at Hawthorn Aspen Elementary School by school year2022-23: 337, 2023-24: 318, 2024-25: 31301002003004002022-233372023-243182024-25313
Students enrolled at Hawthorn Aspen Elementary School by school year2022-23: 337, 2023-24: 318, 2024-25: 31301002003004002022-233372023-243182024-25313
Students enrolled at Hawthorn Aspen Elementary School by school year2022-23: 337, 2023-24: 318, 2024-25: 31301002003004002022-233372023-243182024-25313
Students enrolled at Hawthorn Aspen Elementary School by school year2022-23: 337, 2023-24: 318, 2024-25: 31301002003004002022-233372023-243182024-25313
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2333731.910.6
2023-2431833.39.5
2024-2531326.811.7

11.7 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 73 of every 100 Illinois elementary schools

Among the 2,300 Illinois elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 11.7; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 11.7state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 11.7; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 11.7state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 11.7; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 11.7state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 11.7; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 11.7state median 13.1U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Hawthorn Aspen Elementary School enrolled 339 students and reported no counselor; it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)0.0
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absent16.9% (2022-23)

Who attends

53.8% of students were White, 20.8% Asian, 15.1% Hispanic in 2024-25.

  1. White53.8%
  2. Asian20.8%
  3. Hispanic15.1%
  4. Two or more races5.4%
  5. Black3.8%
  6. American Indian1.0%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Hawthorn Aspen Elementary School scored proficient or above: 34% in reading in 2021-22 and 52% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtIllinois
Reading and language arts, 2021-2234%45%29.9%
Math, 2022-2352%not published26.6%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Vernon Hills

6 public elementary schools in Vernon Hills report 2024-25 enrollment; Hawthorn Aspen Elementary School is number 4 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Hawthorn Elem School South50510.9not reported
Hawthorn Sch of Dual Language41310.5not reported
Hawthorn Elem School North3478.1not reported
Hawthorn Aspen Elementary School31311.7not reported
Hawthorn Townline Elementary School3069.7not reported
Hawthorn Sch for Young Learners2489.5not reported

All public schools in Vernon Hills →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Hawthorn Aspen Elementary School

  1. Hawthorn Elem School SouthThe nearest public elementary school, under 0.1 miles away: 505 students, 10.9 per teacher (2024-25).under 0.1 mi
  2. Hawthorn Sch for Young LearnersThe next nearest public elementary school, 0.3 miles away: 248 students, 9.5 per teacher (2024-25).0.3 mi
  3. Compare Hawthorn Aspen Elementary School with Hawthorn Elem School SouthStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Hawthorn District 73 spends per student$19,084 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$19,084
  5. The largest public schools in IllinoisHawthorn Aspen Elementary School is the number 1,445 by size of 2,314 Illinois elementary schools open in 2024-25.#1,445 of 2,314
  6. Illinois schools by students per teacher11.7 students per teacher here against the Illinois median of 13.1 for elementary schools.11.7:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Hawthorn Aspen Elementary School

  1. How many students attend Hawthorn Aspen Elementary School?
    313 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 337 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Vernon Hills, IL.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Hawthorn Aspen Elementary School?
    11.7 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Illinois median for elementary schools is 13.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Hawthorn Aspen Elementary School a Title I school?
    Hawthorn Aspen Elementary School was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Hawthorn Aspen Elementary School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Hawthorn Aspen Elementary School scored proficient or above: 34% in reading in 2021-22 and 52% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Hawthorn Aspen Elementary School in?
    Hawthorn District 73, NCES district ID 1718570. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 171857003707 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22