Happy Valley Middle School

Public middle school, grades 5 to 8 · Elizabethton, Tennessee

Happy Valley Middle School in Elizabethton, Tennessee enrolled 354 students in 2024-25. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 27-31% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 30% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Tennessee: 35% and 34.3%).

Enrollment fell 2% from 2022-23 to 2023-24; full-time teachers rose 7%

369 students in 2022-23, 361 students in 2023-24. Full-time teachers went from 20.0 to 21.5.

Students enrolled at Happy Valley Middle School by school year2022-23: 369, 2023-24: 36101002003004002022-233692023-24361
Students enrolled at Happy Valley Middle School by school year2022-23: 369, 2023-24: 36101002003004002022-233692023-24361
Students enrolled at Happy Valley Middle School by school year2022-23: 369, 2023-24: 36101002003004002022-233692023-24361
Students enrolled at Happy Valley Middle School by school year2022-23: 369, 2023-24: 36101002003004002022-233692023-24361
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2336920.018.4
2023-2436121.516.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24.

One counselor per 380 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Happy Valley Middle School enrolled 380 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 12 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 380 of the 380 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions12
  • Chronically absent30.4% (2022-23)

Who attends

89.0% of students were White, 7.1% Hispanic, 2.5% of two or more races in 2024-25.

  1. White89.0%
  2. Hispanic7.1%
  3. Two or more races2.5%
  4. Black1.1%
  5. Asian0.3%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Happy Valley Middle School scored proficient or above: 27-31% in reading in 2021-22 and 30% in math in 2022-23, against 35% in reading in 2021-22 and 34.3% in math in 2022-23 across Tennessee. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Tennessee, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtTennessee
Reading and language arts, 2021-2227‑31%32‑33%35%
Math, 2022-2330%24‑26% (2021-22)34.3%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Middle schools in Elizabethton

2 public middle schools in Elizabethton report 2024-25 enrollment; Happy Valley Middle School is number 2 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
T A Dugger Junior High School61916.5not reported
Happy Valley Middle School35418.4not reported

All public schools in Elizabethton →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Happy Valley Middle School

  1. T A Dugger Junior High SchoolThe nearest public middle school, 3.7 miles away: 619 students, 16.5 per teacher (2024-25).3.7 mi
  2. Liberty Bell Middle SchoolThe next nearest public middle school, 5.2 miles away: 987 students, 15.0 per teacher (2024-25).5.2 mi
  3. Compare Happy Valley Middle School with T A Dugger Junior High SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Carter County School District spends per student$11,526 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$11,526
  5. The largest public schools in TennesseeHappy Valley Middle School is the number 253 by size of 332 Tennessee middle schools open in 2024-25.#253 of 332
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Happy Valley Middle School

  1. How many students attend Happy Valley Middle School?
    354 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 369 in 2022-23. It is a middle school in Elizabethton, TN.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Happy Valley Middle School?
    18.4 students per full-time teacher (2022-23). A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Happy Valley Middle School a Title I school?
    Happy Valley Middle School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Happy Valley Middle School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Happy Valley Middle School scored proficient or above: 27-31% in reading in 2021-22 and 30% in math in 2022-23, against 35% in reading in 2021-22 and 34.3% in math in 2022-23 across Tennessee. Tennessee's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Happy Valley Middle School in?
    Carter County School District, NCES district ID 4700510. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 470051000158 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22