Handke Center- EC Special Education

Public school, pre-kindergarten · Elk River, Minnesota

Handke Center- EC Special Education in Elk River, Minnesota enrolled 399 students in 2024-25 with 23.8 full-time teachers, 16.8 students per teacher against the Minnesota median of 6.6. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25).

Enrollment rose 18% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 12%

339 students in 2022-23, 379 students in 2023-24, 399 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 21.3 to 23.8.

Students enrolled at Handke Center- EC Special Education by school year2022-23: 339, 2023-24: 379, 2024-25: 39901002003004002022-233392023-243792024-25399
Students enrolled at Handke Center- EC Special Education by school year2022-23: 339, 2023-24: 379, 2024-25: 39901002003004002022-233392023-243792024-25399
Students enrolled at Handke Center- EC Special Education by school year2022-23: 339, 2023-24: 379, 2024-25: 39901002003004002022-233392023-243792024-25399
Students enrolled at Handke Center- EC Special Education by school year2022-23: 339, 2023-24: 379, 2024-25: 39901002003004002022-233392023-243792024-25399
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2333921.315.9
2023-2437921.817.4
2024-2539923.816.8

16.8 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 85 of every 100 Minnesota schools of this kind

Among the 163 Minnesota schools of this kind that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 6.6; the national median for schools of this kind is 13.8. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Minnesota other schools, 2024-25163 values from 3.0 to 69.0; This school 16.8; state median 6.6.2 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherThis school 16.8state median 6.6U.S. 13.8
Students per teacher, Minnesota other schools, 2024-25163 values from 3.0 to 69.0; This school 16.8; state median 6.6.2 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherThis school 16.8state median 6.6U.S. 13.8
Students per teacher, Minnesota other schools, 2024-25163 values from 3.0 to 69.0; This school 16.8; state median 6.6.2 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherThis school 16.8state median 6.6U.S. 13.8
Students per teacher, Minnesota other schools, 2024-25163 values from 3.0 to 69.0; This school 16.8; state median 6.6.2 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherThis school 16.8state median 6.6U.S. 13.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Handke Center- EC Special Education reported and reported no counselor; it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)0.0
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absentnot reported for this school

Who attends

89.5% of students were White, 3.5% Black, 3.3% Hispanic in 2024-25.

  1. White89.5%
  2. Black3.5%
  3. Hispanic3.3%
  4. Two or more races2.0%
  5. Asian1.8%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

Schools of this kind in Elk River

3 public schools of this kind in Elk River report 2024-25 enrollment; Handke Center- EC Special Education is the largest.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Handke Center- EC Special Education39916.819.3%
ISD 728 Focus/Journey237.752.2%
Fairview Program6not reportednot reported

All public schools in Elk River →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Handke Center- EC Special Education

  1. ISD 728 Focus/JourneyThe nearest public school of this kind, 0.5 miles away: 23 students, 7.7 per teacher (2024-25).0.5 mi
  2. Eastview Elementary School - SNWThe next nearest public school of this kind, 9.6 miles away: 68 students, 11.1 per teacher (2024-25).9.6 mi
  3. Compare Handke Center- EC Special Education with ISD 728 Focus/JourneyStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Elk River Area ISD 728 spends per student$12,958 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$12,958
  5. The largest public schools in MinnesotaHandke Center- EC Special Education is the number 6 by size of 245 Minnesota schools of this kind open in 2024-25.#6 of 245
  6. Minnesota schools by students per teacher16.8 students per teacher here against the Minnesota median of 6.6 for schools of this kind.16.8:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Handke Center- EC Special Education

  1. How many students attend Handke Center- EC Special Education?
    399 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 339 in 2022-23. It is a special-education school in Elk River, MN.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Handke Center- EC Special Education?
    16.8 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Minnesota median for schools of this kind is 6.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Handke Center- EC Special Education a Title I school?
    Handke Center- EC Special Education was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. What district is Handke Center- EC Special Education in?
    Elk River Area ISD 728, NCES district ID 2711370. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 271137004181 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22