Educational Opportunity Center

Public high school, grades 9 to 12 · Yuma, Arizona

Educational Opportunity Center in Yuma, Arizona enrolled 101 students in 2024-25 with 5.0 full-time teachers, 20.2 students per teacher against the Arizona high-school median of 18.7. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 20% or less of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 20% or less proficient in math in 2022-23 (Arizona: 40.4% and 34%). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 30-39% (Arizona: 77.8%).

Enrollment fell 6% from 2022-23 to 2024-25

107 students in 2022-23, 106 students in 2023-24, 101 students in 2024-25.

Students enrolled at Educational Opportunity Center by school year2022-23: 107, 2023-24: 106, 2024-25: 1010501001502022-231072023-241062024-25101
Students enrolled at Educational Opportunity Center by school year2022-23: 107, 2023-24: 106, 2024-25: 1010501001502022-231072023-241062024-25101
Students enrolled at Educational Opportunity Center by school year2022-23: 107, 2023-24: 106, 2024-25: 1010501001502022-231072023-241062024-25101
Students enrolled at Educational Opportunity Center by school year2022-23: 107, 2023-24: 106, 2024-25: 1010501001502022-231072023-241062024-25101
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-23107not reportednot reported
2023-24106not reportednot reported
2024-251015.020.2

20.2 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 60 of every 100 Arizona high schools

Among the 419 Arizona high schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 18.7; the national median for high schools is 14.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Arizona high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.1 to 94.4; This school 20.2; state median 18.7.3 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherThis school 20.2state median 18.7U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Arizona high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.1 to 94.4; This school 20.2; state median 18.7.3 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherThis school 20.2state median 18.7U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Arizona high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.1 to 94.4; This school 20.2; state median 18.7.3 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherThis school 20.2state median 18.7U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Arizona high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.1 to 94.4; This school 20.2; state median 18.7.3 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherThis school 20.2state median 18.7U.S. 14.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 116 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Educational Opportunity Center enrolled 116 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 26 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 116 of the 116 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions26
  • Chronically absentnot reported for this school

Who attends

83.2% of students were Hispanic, 10.9% White, 3.0% Black in 2024-25.

  1. Hispanic83.2%
  2. White10.9%
  3. Black3.0%
  4. Pacific Islander3.0%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Educational Opportunity Center scored proficient or above: 20% or less in reading in 2021-22 and 20% or less in math in 2022-23, against 40.4% in reading in 2021-22 and 34% in math in 2022-23 across Arizona. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Arizona, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtArizona
Reading and language arts, 2021-2220% or less20% or less40.4%
Math, 2022-2320% or less20% or less (2021-22)34%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

30-39% of the 43 students in Educational Opportunity Center's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 77.8% across Arizona. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This schoolIts districtArizona
Four-year graduation rate30‑39%30‑39%77.8%
Students in the class434393,470

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows school and district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

High schools in Yuma

12 public high schools in Yuma report 2024-25 enrollment; Educational Opportunity Center is number 7 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Cibola High School2,43425.248.0%
Gila Ridge High School2,24924.644.0%
Kofa High School1,97622.564.0%
Yuma High School1,04021.171.9%
Desert View Middle & High School22520.5not reported
Vista High School17512.072.7%
Educational Opportunity Center10120.287.9%
Yuma Online Distance Academy53not reportednot reported

All public schools in Yuma →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Educational Opportunity Center

  1. Cibola High SchoolThe nearest public high school, 0.6 miles away: 2,434 students, 25.2 per teacher (2024-25).0.6 mi
  2. Desert View Online SchoolThe next nearest public high school, 0.9 miles away: 5 students (2024-25).0.9 mi
  3. Compare Educational Opportunity Center with Cibola High SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Yuma Private Industry Council Inc. (4509) spends per student$12,178 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$12,178
  5. The largest public schools in ArizonaEducational Opportunity Center is the number 359 by size of 580 Arizona high schools open in 2024-25.#359 of 580
  6. Arizona schools by students per teacher20.2 students per teacher here against the Arizona median of 18.7 for high schools.20.2:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Educational Opportunity Center

  1. How many students attend Educational Opportunity Center?
    101 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 107 in 2022-23. It is a high school in Yuma, AZ.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Educational Opportunity Center?
    20.2 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Arizona median for high schools is 18.7. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Educational Opportunity Center a Title I school?
    Educational Opportunity Center was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Educational Opportunity Center do on state tests?
    The students tested at Educational Opportunity Center scored proficient or above: 20% or less in reading in 2021-22 and 20% or less in math in 2022-23, against 40.4% in reading in 2021-22 and 34% in math in 2022-23 across Arizona. Arizona's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What is the graduation rate at Educational Opportunity Center?
    30-39% of the 43 students in Educational Opportunity Center's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 77.8% across Arizona. The rate counts the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and the share of them with a regular diploma by 2023. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23; ED publishes school rates as ranges to protect small groups.
  6. What district is Educational Opportunity Center in?
    Yuma Private Industry Council Inc. (4509), NCES district ID 0400095. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 040009501114 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22