Dr Preston L Williams Jr Elementary School

Public elementary school, kindergarten to grade 5 · Urbana, Illinois

Dr Preston L Williams Jr Elementary School in Urbana, Illinois enrolled 399 students in 2024-25 with 31.5 full-time teachers, 12.7 students per teacher against the Illinois elementary-school median of 13.1. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 5% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 1% or less proficient in math in 2022-23 (Illinois: 29.9% and 26.6%).

Enrollment fell 11% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 5%

446 students in 2022-23, 517 students in 2023-24, 399 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 30.0 to 31.5.

Students enrolled at Dr Preston L Williams Jr Elementary School by school year2022-23: 446, 2023-24: 517, 2024-25: 39902004006002022-234462023-245172024-25399
Students enrolled at Dr Preston L Williams Jr Elementary School by school year2022-23: 446, 2023-24: 517, 2024-25: 39902004006002022-234462023-245172024-25399
Students enrolled at Dr Preston L Williams Jr Elementary School by school year2022-23: 446, 2023-24: 517, 2024-25: 39902004006002022-234462023-245172024-25399
Students enrolled at Dr Preston L Williams Jr Elementary School by school year2022-23: 446, 2023-24: 517, 2024-25: 39902004006002022-234462023-245172024-25399
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2344630.014.9
2023-2451729.017.8
2024-2539931.512.7

12.7 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 57 of every 100 Illinois elementary schools

Among the 2,300 Illinois elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 12.7; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 12.7state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 12.7; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 12.7state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 12.7; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 12.7state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 12.7; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 12.7state median 13.1U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Dr Preston L Williams Jr Elementary School enrolled 428 students and reported no counselor; it reported 21 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)0.0
  • Out-of-school suspensions21
  • Chronically absent43.0% (2022-23)

Who attends

64.7% of students were Black, 15.3% White, 14.8% of two or more races in 2024-25.

  1. Black64.7%
  2. White15.3%
  3. Two or more races14.8%
  4. Hispanic4.0%
  5. Asian0.8%
  6. American Indian0.3%
  7. Pacific Islander0.3%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Dr Preston L Williams Jr Elementary School scored proficient or above: 5% in reading in 2021-22 and 1% or less in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtIllinois
Reading and language arts, 2021-225%13%29.9%
Math, 2022-231% or lessnot published26.6%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Urbana

6 public elementary schools in Urbana report 2024-25 enrollment; Dr Preston L Williams Jr Elementary School is number 2 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Yankee Ridge Elementary School40412.1not reported
Dr Preston L Williams Jr Elementary School39912.7not reported
Leal Elementary School37313.3not reported
Thomas Paine Elementary School3249.3not reported
M L King Jr Elementary School32212.9not reported
Wiley Elementary School23413.9not reported

All public schools in Urbana →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Dr Preston L Williams Jr Elementary School

  1. Thomas Paine Elementary SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 0.7 miles away: 324 students, 9.3 per teacher (2024-25).0.7 mi
  2. Leal Elementary SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 1.6 miles away: 373 students, 13.3 per teacher (2024-25).1.6 mi
  3. Compare Dr Preston L Williams Jr Elementary School with Thomas Paine Elementary SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Urbana SD 116 spends per student$20,461 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$20,461
  5. The largest public schools in IllinoisDr Preston L Williams Jr Elementary School is the number 990 by size of 2,314 Illinois elementary schools open in 2024-25.#990 of 2,314
  6. Illinois schools by students per teacher12.7 students per teacher here against the Illinois median of 13.1 for elementary schools.12.7:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Dr Preston L Williams Jr Elementary School

  1. How many students attend Dr Preston L Williams Jr Elementary School?
    399 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 446 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Urbana, IL.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Dr Preston L Williams Jr Elementary School?
    12.7 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Illinois median for elementary schools is 13.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Dr Preston L Williams Jr Elementary School a Title I school?
    Dr Preston L Williams Jr Elementary School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Dr Preston L Williams Jr Elementary School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Dr Preston L Williams Jr Elementary School scored proficient or above: 5% in reading in 2021-22 and 1% or less in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Dr Preston L Williams Jr Elementary School in?
    Urbana SD 116, NCES district ID 1739960. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 173996004013 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22