Community ISD
Public school district · Collin County · Texas · NCES district ID 4814850
Community ISD spent $11,716 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 61% of the other Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $12,244). Its 6 schools enrolled 3,721 students in 2024-25; 35.5% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $11,900 per student, up 1.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 94% (Texas: 90.3%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Texas districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Community ISD in enrollment (4,042 to 4,198 students) and Community ISD itself.
Where the money came from
$62,774,000 in revenue: 35.5% state, 57.5% local and 7.0% federal. Total spending including $100,980,000 of capital outlay was $157,916,000, or $38,116 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$22,274,000 35%
- Local$36,078,000 57%
- Federal$4,422,000 7%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 577 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
4,143 students in 2022-23, 4,057 students in 2023-24, 3,712 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 4,143 | 268.0 | 15.5 |
| 2023-24 | 4,057 | 249.4 | 16.3 |
| 2024-25 | 3,712 | 194.7 | 19.1 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$15,345,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,704 per student
Community ISD booked $15,345,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 268 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $57,266 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 81 in 100 Texas districts with a figure (state median $50,660, 1,054 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $11,304,000 | 73.7% |
| Special education | $2,317,000 | 15.1% |
| Vocational | $859,000 | 5.6% |
| Other programs | $865,000 | 5.6% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,446 in 2018-19, $3,595 in 2019-20, $3,494 in 2020-21, $3,227 in 2021-22, $3,704 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Community ISD scored proficient or above: 43-47% in reading and 28-32% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Texas, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | Texas | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 43-47% | 52% | 1,586 |
| Math | 28-32% | 42% | 1,590 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
94% of the 227 students in Community ISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Texas | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 94% | 90.3% |
| Students in the class | 227 | 403,301 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
3 elementary schools, 1,722 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| John & Barbara Roderick Elementary | 663 | 19.2 | 41.9% | Not reported |
| Mcclendon Elementary | 548 | 18.4 | 53.1% | Schoolwide program |
| Nesmith Elementary | 511 | 15.4 | 42.5% | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 662 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Leland E Edge Middle | 662 | 21.0 | 45.2% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
2 high schools, 1,337 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Community High School | 1,328 | 20.2 | 44.1% | Eligible, no program |
| Collin Co J J a E P | 9 | not reported | 44.4% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
One more school on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory
These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.
Collin Co J J a E P
High school in Nevada; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (inactive); 9 students.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.
Contact Community ISD
- Website: communityisd.org
- Phone: (972) 843-6000
- Office: 611 N Fm 1138, Nevada, TX 75173
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Community ISD
- Texas districts by spending per studentCommunity ISD ranks 355 of 577 Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($11,716).#355 of 577
- Every school district in TexasCommunity ISD is the number 235 by size of 1,212 Texas districts, with 4,143 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#235 of 1,212
- Somerset ISDThe next larger Texas district: 4,147 students in fall 2022, $12,583 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,583
- Springtown ISDThe next smaller Texas district: 4,120 students in fall 2022, $11,196 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,196
- Compare Community ISD with Somerset ISDEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Community High School, its largest high school1,328 students in 2024-25, 20.2 per teacher.1,328
- Teacher salary spending across TexasCommunity ISD spent $57,266 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,660); spending, not a salary.$57,266
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Community ISD
How many schools and students are in Community ISD?
6 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 1 middle, 2 high), enrolling 3,721 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Community ISD spend per student?
$11,716 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Texas median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,244 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $11,900 per student, up 1.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Community ISD's money come from?
$62,774,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 35.5% state, 57.5% local and 7.0% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Community ISD live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 313 of the 3,530 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 8.9%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Community ISD spend on teacher salaries?
$15,345,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,704 per student. Divided by the 268 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $57,266 per teacher, more than 81 in 100 Texas districts (state median $50,660). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Community ISD do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Community ISD scored proficient or above: 43-47% in reading and 28-32% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Texas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Community ISD?
94% of the 227 students in Community ISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Community ISD's NCES district ID?
4814850. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25