Lorena ISD

Public school district · McLennan County · Texas · NCES district ID 4828200

Lorena ISD spent $10,973 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 77% of the other Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $12,244). Its 5 schools enrolled 1,818 students in 2024-25; 44.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $11,590 per student, up 5.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (Texas: 90.3%).

Spending per student among Texas districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Lorena ISD in enrollment (1,790 to 1,841 students) and Lorena ISD itself.

Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Lorena ISD, FY23Crystal City ISD $16,196; Hitchcock ISD $14,304; Vernon ISD $13,225; Bakerripley Community Schools $12,638; Lytle ISD $12,096; Kemp ISD $11,839; Poteet ISD $11,421; Lago Vista ISD $11,123; Lorena ISD $10,973; Academy ISD $9,690; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.7.5k10k12.5k15k17.5kCrystal City ISD$16,196Hitchcock ISD$14,304Vernon ISD$13,225Bakerripley Community Schools$12,638Lytle ISD$12,096Kemp ISD$11,839Poteet ISD$11,421Lago Vista ISD$11,123Lorena ISD$10,973Academy ISD$9,690State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Lorena ISD, FY23Crystal City ISD $16,196; Hitchcock ISD $14,304; Vernon ISD $13,225; Bakerripley Community Schools $12,638; Lytle ISD $12,096; Kemp ISD $11,839; Poteet ISD $11,421; Lago Vista ISD $11,123; Lorena ISD $10,973; Academy ISD $9,690; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.7.5k10k12.5k15k17.5kCrystal City ISD$16,196Hitchcock ISD$14,304Vernon ISD$13,225Bakerripley Community Schools$12,638Lytle ISD$12,096Kemp ISD$11,839Poteet ISD$11,421Lago Vista ISD$11,123Lorena ISD$10,973Academy ISD$9,690State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Lorena ISD, FY23Crystal City ISD $16,196; Hitchcock ISD $14,304; Vernon ISD $13,225; Bakerripley Community Schools $12,638; Lytle ISD $12,096; Kemp ISD $11,839; Poteet ISD $11,421; Lago Vista ISD $11,123; Lorena ISD $10,973; Academy ISD $9,690; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.7.5k12.5k17.5kCrystal City ISD$16,196Hitchcock ISD$14,304Vernon ISD$13,225Bakerripley Community Schools$12,638Lytle ISD$12,096Kemp ISD$11,839Poteet ISD$11,421Lago Vista ISD$11,123Lorena ISD$10,973Academy ISD$9,690State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Lorena ISD, FY23Crystal City ISD $16,196; Hitchcock ISD $14,304; Vernon ISD $13,225; Bakerripley Community Schools $12,638; Lytle ISD $12,096; Kemp ISD $11,839; Poteet ISD $11,421; Lago Vista ISD $11,123; Lorena ISD $10,973; Academy ISD $9,690; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.7.5k12.5k17.5kCrystal City ISD$16,196Hitchcock ISD$14,304Vernon ISD$13,225Bakerripley Community Schools$12,638Lytle ISD$12,096Kemp ISD$11,839Poteet ISD$11,421Lago Vista ISD$11,123Lorena ISD$10,973Academy ISD$9,690State median, 1,000+ students $12,244

Where the money came from

$23,866,000 in revenue: 44.0% state, 48.1% local and 7.9% federal. Total spending including $802,000 of capital outlay was $21,219,000, or $11,743 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Lorena ISD revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $10,510,000; Local $11,481,000; Federal $1,875,000; total $23,866,000.
  • State$10,510,000 44%
  • Local$11,481,000 48%
  • Federal$1,875,000 8%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 577 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,807 students in 2022-23, 1,858 students in 2023-24, 1,817 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Lorena ISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,807, 2023-24: 1,858, 2024-25: 1,81705001k1.5k2k2022-231,8072023-241,8582024-251,817
Lorena ISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,807, 2023-24: 1,858, 2024-25: 1,81705001k1.5k2k2022-231,8072023-241,8582024-251,817
Lorena ISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,807, 2023-24: 1,858, 2024-25: 1,81705001k1.5k2k2022-231,8072023-241,8582024-251,817
Lorena ISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,807, 2023-24: 1,858, 2024-25: 1,81705001k1.5k2k2022-231,8072023-241,8582024-251,817

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,807135.213.4
2023-241,858138.213.4
2024-251,817135.513.4

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$7,134,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,948 per student

Lorena ISD booked $7,134,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 135 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $52,766 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 63 in 100 Texas districts with a figure (state median $50,660, 1,054 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$5,196,00072.8%
Special education$490,0006.9%
Vocational$509,0007.1%
Other programs$939,00013.2%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,318 in 2018-19, $3,707 in 2019-20, $3,652 in 2020-21, $3,999 in 2021-22, $3,948 in 2022-23.

Lorena ISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,318, 2019-20: $3,707, 2020-21: $3,652, 2021-22: $3,999, 2022-23: $3,94801k2k3k4k2018-19$3,3182019-20$3,7072020-21$3,6522021-22$3,9992022-23$3,948
Lorena ISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,318, 2019-20: $3,707, 2020-21: $3,652, 2021-22: $3,999, 2022-23: $3,94801k2k3k4k2018-19$3,3182019-20$3,7072020-21$3,6522021-22$3,9992022-23$3,948
Lorena ISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,318, 2019-20: $3,707, 2020-21: $3,652, 2021-22: $3,999, 2022-23: $3,94801k2k3k4k2018-19$3,3182019-20$3,7072020-21$3,6522021-22$3,9992022-23$3,948
Lorena ISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,318, 2019-20: $3,707, 2020-21: $3,652, 2021-22: $3,999, 2022-23: $3,94801k2k3k4k2018-19$3,3182019-20$3,7072020-21$3,6522021-22$3,9992022-23$3,948

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Lorena ISD scored proficient or above: 66-70% in reading and 55-59% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Texas, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtTexasStudents tested
Reading and language arts66-70%52%837
Math55-59%42%721

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

95% or more of the 100 students in Lorena ISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtTexas
Four-year graduation rate95% or more90.3%
Students in the class100403,301

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 799 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Lorena Elementary40914.723.7%Schoolwide program
Lorena Primary39013.530.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 438 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Lorena Middle43813.225.3%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 high schools, 581 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Lorena High58012.722.6%Not Title I
Challenge Academy1not reportednot reportedNot Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

One more school on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory

These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.

Challenge Academy

High school in Waco; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (inactive); 1 student.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.

Contact Lorena ISD

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Lorena ISD

  1. Texas districts by spending per studentLorena ISD ranks 443 of 577 Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($10,973).#443 of 577
  2. Every school district in TexasLorena ISD is the number 396 by size of 1,212 Texas districts, with 1,807 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#396 of 1,212
  3. Lytle ISDThe next larger Texas district: 1,810 students in fall 2022, $12,096 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,096
  4. Crystal City ISDThe next smaller Texas district: 1,799 students in fall 2022, $16,196 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,196
  5. Compare Lorena ISD with Lytle ISDEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Lorena High, its largest high school580 students in 2024-25, 12.7 per teacher.580
  7. Teacher salary spending across TexasLorena ISD spent $52,766 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,660); spending, not a salary.$52,766
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Lorena ISD

  1. How many schools and students are in Lorena ISD?
    5 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle, 2 high), enrolling 1,818 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Lorena ISD spend per student?
    $10,973 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Texas median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,244 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $11,590 per student, up 5.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Lorena ISD's money come from?
    $23,866,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 44.0% state, 48.1% local and 7.9% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Lorena ISD live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 135 of the 1,743 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 7.7%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Lorena ISD spend on teacher salaries?
    $7,134,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,948 per student. Divided by the 135 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $52,766 per teacher, more than 63 in 100 Texas districts (state median $50,660). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Lorena ISD do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Lorena ISD scored proficient or above: 66-70% in reading and 55-59% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Texas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Lorena ISD?
    95% or more of the 100 students in Lorena ISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Lorena ISD's NCES district ID?
    4828200. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25