Cardinal Academy

Public high school, grades 9 to 12 · Boise, Idaho

Cardinal Academy in Boise, Idaho enrolled 53 students in 2024-25 with 5.8 full-time teachers, 9.2 students per teacher against the Idaho high-school median of 15.8. It ran a targeted Title I program in 2021-22. On the state tests, under 50% of its students tested were proficient in math in 2022-23 (Idaho: 40.6%). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was under 50% (Idaho: 81.1%).

Enrollment rose 71% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 13%

31 students in 2022-23, 46 students in 2023-24, 53 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 5.1 to 5.8.

Students enrolled at Cardinal Academy by school year2022-23: 31, 2023-24: 46, 2024-25: 5302040602022-23312023-24462024-2553
Students enrolled at Cardinal Academy by school year2022-23: 31, 2023-24: 46, 2024-25: 5302040602022-23312023-24462024-2553
Students enrolled at Cardinal Academy by school year2022-23: 31, 2023-24: 46, 2024-25: 5302040602022-23312023-24462024-2553
Students enrolled at Cardinal Academy by school year2022-23: 31, 2023-24: 46, 2024-25: 5302040602022-23312023-24462024-2553
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-23315.16.1
2023-24465.97.8
2024-25535.89.2

9.2 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 92 of every 100 Idaho high schools

Among the 196 Idaho high schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 15.8; the national median for high schools is 14.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Idaho high schools, 2024-25196 values from 4.5 to 53.4; Cardinal Academy 9.2; state median 15.8.2 more above 40.0 →010203040students per full-time teacherCardinal Academy 9.2state median 15.8U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Idaho high schools, 2024-25196 values from 4.5 to 53.4; Cardinal Academy 9.2; state median 15.8.2 more above 40.0 →010203040students per full-time teacherCardinal Academy 9.2state median 15.8U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Idaho high schools, 2024-25196 values from 4.5 to 53.4; Cardinal Academy 9.2; state median 15.8.2 more above 40.0 →010203040students per full-time teacherCardinal Academy 9.2state median 15.8U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Idaho high schools, 2024-25196 values from 4.5 to 53.4; Cardinal Academy 9.2; state median 15.8.2 more above 40.0 →010203040students per full-time teacherCardinal Academy 9.2state median 15.8U.S. 14.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Cardinal Academy reported.

  • Advanced Placement coursesnot reported
  • Gifted and talented programnot reported
  • Counselors (FTE)not reported
  • Out-of-school suspensionsnot reported
  • Chronically absent96.8% (2022-23)

Who attends

67.9% of students were White, 22.6% Hispanic, 5.7% Black in 2024-25.

  1. White67.9%
  2. Hispanic22.6%
  3. Black5.7%
  4. Two or more races3.8%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2022-23

In 2022-23, the students tested at Cardinal Academy scored proficient or above: under 50% in math, against 40.6% in math across Idaho. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Idaho, not across states. No whole-school reading result is shown: ED's files give none for this school for 2021-22 or 2022-23.

Students proficient or above, 2022-23
SubjectThis schoolIts districtIdaho
Mathunder 50%not published40.6%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express; for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

under 50% of the 15 students in Cardinal Academy's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.1% across Idaho. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This schoolIts districtIdaho
Four-year graduation rateunder 50%under 50%81.1%
Students in the class151525,525

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows school and district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

High schools in Boise

14 public high schools in Boise report 2024-25 enrollment.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Centennial High School1,74320.325.3%
Boise Senior High School1,51218.517.0%
Borah Senior High School1,30816.932.4%
Timberline High School1,30717.713.6%
iSUCCEED VIRTUAL HIGH SCHOOL1,29023.9not reported
Capital Senior High School1,17016.029.3%
Frank Church High School3818.979.0%
iSucceed Academy34531.3not reported

All public schools in Boise →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Cardinal Academy

  1. Empower Connections AcademyThe nearest public high school, 0.5 miles away: 163 students, 38.5 per teacher (2024-25).0.5 mi
  2. Ada County Juvenile CenterThe next nearest public high school, 2.0 miles away: 11 students, 11.0 per teacher (2024-25).2.0 mi
  3. Compare Cardinal Academy with Empower Connections AcademyStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Cardinal Academy Incorporated spends per student$26,484 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$26,484
  5. The largest public schools in IdahoCardinal Academy is the number 176 by size of 205 Idaho high schools open in 2024-25.#176 of 205
  6. Idaho schools by students per teacher9.2 students per teacher here against the Idaho median of 15.8 for high schools.9.2:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Cardinal Academy

  1. How many students attend Cardinal Academy?
    53 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 31 in 2022-23. It is a high school in Boise, ID.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Cardinal Academy?
    9.2 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Idaho median for high schools is 15.8. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Cardinal Academy a Title I school?
    Cardinal Academy ran a targeted assistance Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Cardinal Academy do on state tests?
    In 2022-23, the students tested at Cardinal Academy scored proficient or above: under 50% in math, against 40.6% in math across Idaho. Idaho's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What is the graduation rate at Cardinal Academy?
    under 50% of the 15 students in Cardinal Academy's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.1% across Idaho. The rate counts the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and the share of them with a regular diploma by 2023. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23; ED publishes school rates as ranges to protect small groups.
  6. What district is Cardinal Academy in?
    Cardinal Academy Incorporated, NCES district ID 1600200. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 160020001151 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22