Canton Middle School
Public middle school, grades 7 to 8 · Streamwood, Illinois
Canton Middle School in Streamwood, Illinois enrolled 531 students in 2024-25 with 32.9 full-time teachers, 16.1 students per teacher against the Illinois middle-school median of 12.7. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 18% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 15% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Illinois: 29.9% and 26.6%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment fell 3% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 8%
548 students in 2022-23, 532 students in 2023-24, 531 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 30.4 to 32.9.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 548 | 30.4 | 18.0 |
| 2023-24 | 532 | 32.7 | 16.3 |
| 2024-25 | 531 | 32.9 | 16.1 |
16.1 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 90 of every 100 Illinois middle schools
Among the 684 Illinois middle schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 12.7; the national median for middle schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
One counselor per 424 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Canton Middle School enrolled 424 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 43 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programYes
- Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 424 of the 424 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions43
- Chronically absent33.9% (2022-23)
Who attends
61.2% of students were Hispanic, 20.9% White, 7.9% Asian in 2024-25.
- Hispanic61.2%
- White20.9%
- Asian7.9%
- Black7.2%
- Two or more races2.4%
- Pacific Islander0.4%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at Canton Middle School scored proficient or above: 18% in reading in 2021-22 and 15% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | Illinois |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 18% | 19% | 29.9% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 15% | not published | 26.6% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Middle schools in Streamwood
2 public middle schools in Streamwood report 2024-25 enrollment; Canton Middle School is number 2 by size.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tefft Middle School | 606 | 9.7 | not reported |
| Canton Middle School | 531 | 16.1 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Canton Middle School
- Tefft Middle SchoolThe nearest public middle school, 1.2 miles away: 606 students, 9.7 per teacher (2024-25).1.2 mi
- Jane Addams Junior High SchoolThe next nearest public middle school, 2.1 miles away: 695 students, 11.9 per teacher (2024-25).2.1 mi
- Compare Canton Middle School with Tefft Middle SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much School District U-46 spends per student$19,216 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$19,216
- The largest public schools in IllinoisCanton Middle School is the number 260 by size of 686 Illinois middle schools open in 2024-25.#260 of 686
- Illinois schools by students per teacher16.1 students per teacher here against the Illinois median of 12.7 for middle schools.16.1:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Canton Middle School
How many students attend Canton Middle School?
531 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 548 in 2022-23. It is a middle school in Streamwood, IL.What is the student-teacher ratio at Canton Middle School?
16.1 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Illinois median for middle schools is 12.7. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Canton Middle School a Title I school?
Canton Middle School was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Canton Middle School do on state tests?
The students tested at Canton Middle School scored proficient or above: 18% in reading in 2021-22 and 15% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Canton Middle School in?
School District U-46, NCES district ID 1713710. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 171371001705 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.