Boston Collegiate Charter School
Public high school, 5 to ungraded · Dorchester, Massachusetts
Boston Collegiate Charter School in Dorchester, Massachusetts enrolled 708 students in 2024-25 with 73.0 full-time teachers, 9.7 students per teacher against the Massachusetts high-school median of 11.2. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 41% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 45% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Massachusetts: 43.7% and 42%). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (Massachusetts: 89.2%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment rose 1% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 3%
698 students in 2022-23, 688 students in 2023-24, 708 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 75.6 to 73.0.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 698 | 75.6 | 9.2 |
| 2023-24 | 688 | 81.8 | 8.4 |
| 2024-25 | 708 | 73.0 | 9.7 |
9.7 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 78 of every 100 Massachusetts high schools
Among the 373 Massachusetts high schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 11.2; the national median for high schools is 14.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
12 AP courses and one counselor per 132 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Boston Collegiate Charter School enrolled 701 students and had 5.3 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 58 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement courses12
- Gifted and talented programNo
- Counselors (FTE)5.3, one per 132 of the 701 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions58
- Chronically absent24.2% (2022-23)
Who attends
42.7% of students were White, 25.3% Hispanic, 24.9% Black in 2024-25.
- White42.7%
- Hispanic25.3%
- Black24.9%
- Two or more races4.0%
- Asian3.1%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at Boston Collegiate Charter School scored proficient or above: 41% in reading in 2021-22 and 45% in math in 2022-23, against 43.7% in reading in 2021-22 and 42% in math in 2022-23 across Massachusetts. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Massachusetts, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | Massachusetts |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 41% | 41% | 43.7% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 45% | 39% (2021-22) | 42% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
90-94% of the 75 students in Boston Collegiate Charter School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.2% across Massachusetts. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This school | Its district | Massachusetts | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 90‑94% | 90‑94% | 89.2% |
| Students in the class | 75 | 75 | 72,602 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows school and district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
High schools in Dorchester
7 public high schools in Dorchester report 2024-25 enrollment; Boston Collegiate Charter School is number 3 by size.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Boston Latin Academy | 1,693 | 17.9 | not reported |
| TechBoston Academy | 850 | 12.2 | not reported |
| Boston Collegiate Charter School | 708 | 9.7 | not reported |
| Boston International High School & Newcomers Academy | 490 | 8.8 | not reported |
| Burke High School | 399 | 9.8 | not reported |
| Community Academy of Science and Health | 398 | 12.6 | not reported |
| Carter School | 28 | 28.0 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Boston Collegiate Charter School
- Boston Collaborative High SchoolThe nearest public high school, 1.0 miles away: 210 students, 10.2 per teacher (2024-25).1.0 mi
- Dearborn 6-12 STEM AcademyThe next nearest public high school, 1.1 miles away: 565 students, 10.9 per teacher (2024-25).1.1 mi
- Compare Boston Collegiate Charter School with Boston Collaborative High SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Boston Collegiate Charter (District) spends per student$28,499 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$28,499
- The largest public schools in MassachusettsBoston Collegiate Charter School is the number 178 by size of 378 Massachusetts high schools open in 2024-25.#178 of 378
- Massachusetts schools by students per teacher9.7 students per teacher here against the Massachusetts median of 11.2 for high schools.9.7:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Boston Collegiate Charter School
How many students attend Boston Collegiate Charter School?
708 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 698 in 2022-23. It is a high school in Dorchester, MA.What is the student-teacher ratio at Boston Collegiate Charter School?
9.7 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Massachusetts median for high schools is 11.2. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Boston Collegiate Charter School a Title I school?
Boston Collegiate Charter School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Boston Collegiate Charter School do on state tests?
The students tested at Boston Collegiate Charter School scored proficient or above: 41% in reading in 2021-22 and 45% in math in 2022-23, against 43.7% in reading in 2021-22 and 42% in math in 2022-23 across Massachusetts. Massachusetts's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What is the graduation rate at Boston Collegiate Charter School?
90-94% of the 75 students in Boston Collegiate Charter School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.2% across Massachusetts. The rate counts the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and the share of them with a regular diploma by 2023. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23; ED publishes school rates as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Boston Collegiate Charter School in?
Boston Collegiate Charter (District), NCES district ID 2500053. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 250005301256 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.