Carter School
Public high school, grades 8 to 12 · Dorchester, Massachusetts
Carter School in Dorchester, Massachusetts enrolled 28 students in 2024-25 with 1.0 full-time teachers, 28.0 students per teacher against the Massachusetts high-school median of 11.2. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, under 50% of its students tested were proficient in math in 2022-23 (Massachusetts: 42%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment rose 8% from 2022-23 to 2024-25
26 students in 2022-23, 31 students in 2023-24, 28 students in 2024-25.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 26 | 0.0 | not reported |
| 2023-24 | 31 | 0.0 | 3100.0 |
| 2024-25 | 28 | 1.0 | 28.0 |
28.0 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 99 of every 100 Massachusetts high schools
Among the 373 Massachusetts high schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 11.2; the national median for high schools is 14.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
Programs and staff in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Carter School enrolled 24 students and reported no counselor; it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programNo
- Counselors (FTE)0.0
- Out-of-school suspensions0
- Chronically absent69.2% (2022-23)
Who attends
50.0% of students were Black, 39.3% Hispanic, 10.7% White in 2024-25.
- Black50.0%
- Hispanic39.3%
- White10.7%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2022-23
In 2022-23, the students tested at Carter School scored proficient or above: under 50% in math, against 42% in math across Massachusetts. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Massachusetts, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. No whole-school reading result is shown: ED's files give none for this school for 2021-22 or 2022-23.
| Subject | This school | Its district | Massachusetts |
|---|---|---|---|
| Math | under 50% | 27% (2021-22) | 42% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
High schools in Dorchester
7 public high schools in Dorchester report 2024-25 enrollment; Carter School is number 7 by size.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Boston Latin Academy | 1,693 | 17.9 | not reported |
| TechBoston Academy | 850 | 12.2 | not reported |
| Boston Collegiate Charter School | 708 | 9.7 | not reported |
| Boston International High School & Newcomers Academy | 490 | 8.8 | not reported |
| Burke High School | 399 | 9.8 | not reported |
| Community Academy of Science and Health | 398 | 12.6 | not reported |
| Carter School | 28 | 28.0 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Carter School
- O'Bryant School of Math & ScienceThe nearest public high school, 0.7 miles away: 1,509 students, 15.2 per teacher (2024-25).0.7 mi
- Madison Park Technical Vocational High SchoolThe next nearest public high school, 0.7 miles away: 1,121 students, 9.4 per teacher (2024-25).0.7 mi
- Compare Carter School with O'Bryant School of Math & ScienceStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Boston Public Schools spends per student$36,906 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$36,906
- The largest public schools in MassachusettsCarter School is the number 369 by size of 378 Massachusetts high schools open in 2024-25.#369 of 378
- Massachusetts schools by students per teacher28.0 students per teacher here against the Massachusetts median of 11.2 for high schools.28.0:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Carter School
How many students attend Carter School?
28 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 26 in 2022-23. It is a high school in Dorchester, MA.What is the student-teacher ratio at Carter School?
28.0 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Massachusetts median for high schools is 11.2. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Carter School a Title I school?
Carter School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Carter School do on state tests?
In 2022-23, the students tested at Carter School scored proficient or above: under 50% in math, against 42% in math across Massachusetts. Massachusetts's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Carter School in?
Boston Public Schools, NCES district ID 2502790. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 250279000210 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.