Wes-Del Community Schools

Public school district · Delaware County · Indiana · NCES district ID 1804500

Wes-Del Community Schools spent $11,885 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 67% of the other Indiana districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $13,033). Its 3 schools enrolled 875 students in 2024-25; 58.8% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,573 per student, up 22.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% or more (Indiana: 88.1%).

Spending per student among Indiana districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Wes-Del Community Schools in enrollment (835 to 867 students) and Wes-Del Community Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Indiana districts closest in size to Wes-Del Community Schools, FY23Culver Community Schools $17,760; South Newton School Corporation $13,775; Thea Bowman Academy $13,755; Springs Valley Community Schools $13,033; Anderson Preparatory Academy $12,535; Clinton Central School Corporation $12,203; Wes-Del Community Schools $11,885; Caston School Corporation $11,362; Edinburgh Community School Corp $11,185; Bloomfield $11,073; State median, under 1,000 students $13,033.7.5k10k12.5k15k17.5k20kCulver Community Schools$17,760South Newton School Corporation$13,775Thea Bowman Academy$13,755Springs Valley Community Schoo…$13,033Anderson Preparatory Academy$12,535Clinton Central School Corpora…$12,203Wes-Del Community Schools$11,885Caston School Corporation$11,362Edinburgh Community School Corp$11,185Bloomfield$11,073State median, under 1,000 students $13,033
Current spending per student, Indiana districts closest in size to Wes-Del Community Schools, FY23Culver Community Schools $17,760; South Newton School Corporation $13,775; Thea Bowman Academy $13,755; Springs Valley Community Schools $13,033; Anderson Preparatory Academy $12,535; Clinton Central School Corporation $12,203; Wes-Del Community Schools $11,885; Caston School Corporation $11,362; Edinburgh Community School Corp $11,185; Bloomfield $11,073; State median, under 1,000 students $13,033.7.5k10k12.5k15k17.5k20kCulver Community Schools$17,760South Newton School Corporation$13,775Thea Bowman Academy$13,755Springs Valley Community Schools$13,033Anderson Preparatory Academy$12,535Clinton Central School Corporation$12,203Wes-Del Community Schools$11,885Caston School Corporation$11,362Edinburgh Community School Corp$11,185Bloomfield$11,073State median, under 1,000 students $13,033
Current spending per student, Indiana districts closest in size to Wes-Del Community Schools, FY23Culver Community Schools $17,760; South Newton School Corporation $13,775; Thea Bowman Academy $13,755; Springs Valley Community Schools $13,033; Anderson Preparatory Academy $12,535; Clinton Central School Corporation $12,203; Wes-Del Community Schools $11,885; Caston School Corporation $11,362; Edinburgh Community School Corp $11,185; Bloomfield $11,073; State median, under 1,000 students $13,033.7.5k12.5k17.5k20kCulver Community Schools$17,760South Newton School Corporation$13,775Thea Bowman Academy$13,755Springs Valley Community Schools$13,033Anderson Preparatory Academy$12,535Clinton Central School Corporation$12,203Wes-Del Community Schools$11,885Caston School Corporation$11,362Edinburgh Community School Corp$11,185Bloomfield$11,073State median, under 1,000 students $13,033
Current spending per student, Indiana districts closest in size to Wes-Del Community Schools, FY23Culver Community Schools $17,760; South Newton School Corporation $13,775; Thea Bowman Academy $13,755; Springs Valley Community Schools $13,033; Anderson Preparatory Academy $12,535; Clinton Central School Corporation $12,203; Wes-Del Community Schools $11,885; Caston School Corporation $11,362; Edinburgh Community School Corp $11,185; Bloomfield $11,073; State median, under 1,000 students $13,033.7.5k12.5k17.5k20kCulver Community Schools$17,760South Newton School Corporation$13,775Thea Bowman Academy$13,755Springs Valley Community Schools$13,033Anderson Preparatory Academy$12,535Clinton Central School Corporation$12,203Wes-Del Community Schools$11,885Caston School Corporation$11,362Edinburgh Community School Corp$11,185Bloomfield$11,073State median, under 1,000 students $13,033

Where the money came from

$11,881,000 in revenue: 58.8% state, 26.9% local and 14.3% federal. Total spending including $1,628,000 of capital outlay was $12,181,000, or $14,148 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Wes-Del Community Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $6,982,000; Local $3,198,000; Federal $1,701,000; total $11,881,000.
  • State$6,982,000 59%
  • Local$3,198,000 27%
  • Federal$1,701,000 14%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 165 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

861 students in 2022-23, 882 students in 2023-24, 862 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Wes-Del Community Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 861, 2023-24: 882, 2024-25: 86202505007501k2022-238612023-248822024-25862
Wes-Del Community Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 861, 2023-24: 882, 2024-25: 86202505007501k2022-238612023-248822024-25862
Wes-Del Community Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 861, 2023-24: 882, 2024-25: 86202505007501k2022-238612023-248822024-25862
Wes-Del Community Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 861, 2023-24: 882, 2024-25: 86202505007501k2022-238612023-248822024-25862

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2386163.013.7
2023-2488269.012.8
2024-2586259.014.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$3,093,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,592 per student

Wes-Del Community Schools booked $3,093,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 63 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $49,095 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 36 in 100 Indiana districts with a figure (state median $51,375, 357 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Indiana teacher salary at $54,126 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$2,842,00091.9%
Special education$227,0007.3%
Vocational$24,0000.8%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,979 in 2018-19, $3,138 in 2019-20, $3,328 in 2020-21, $3,620 in 2021-22, $3,592 in 2022-23.

Wes-Del Community Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,979, 2019-20: $3,138, 2020-21: $3,328, 2021-22: $3,620, 2022-23: $3,59201k2k3k4k2018-19$2,9792019-20$3,1382020-21$3,3282021-22$3,6202022-23$3,592
Wes-Del Community Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,979, 2019-20: $3,138, 2020-21: $3,328, 2021-22: $3,620, 2022-23: $3,59201k2k3k4k2018-19$2,9792019-20$3,1382020-21$3,3282021-22$3,6202022-23$3,592
Wes-Del Community Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,979, 2019-20: $3,138, 2020-21: $3,328, 2021-22: $3,620, 2022-23: $3,59201k2k3k4k2018-19$2,9792019-20$3,1382020-21$3,3282021-22$3,6202022-23$3,592
Wes-Del Community Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,979, 2019-20: $3,138, 2020-21: $3,328, 2021-22: $3,620, 2022-23: $3,59201k2k3k4k2018-19$2,9792019-20$3,1382020-21$3,3282021-22$3,6202022-23$3,592

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Wes-Del Community Schools scored proficient or above: 37% in math, against 41.3% in reading and 37.5% in math across Indiana. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Indiana, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIndianaStudents tested
Math37%37.5%452

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90% or more of the 54 students in Wes-Del Community Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.1% across Indiana. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtIndiana
Four-year graduation rate90% or more88.1%
Students in the class5477,216

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 427 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Wes-Del Elementary School42715.852.7%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 435 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Wes-Del Middle/Senior High School43513.649.7%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 other school, 13 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Wes-Del Preschool1313.046.2%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Wes-Del Community Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Wes-Del Community Schools

  1. Indiana districts by spending per studentWes-Del Community Schools ranks 111 of 165 Indiana districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($11,885).#111 of 165
  2. Every school district in IndianaWes-Del Community Schools is the number 263 by size of 414 Indiana districts, with 861 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#263 of 414
  3. South Newton School CorporationThe next larger Indiana district: 862 students in fall 2022, $13,775 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,775
  4. Bloomfield School DistrictThe next smaller Indiana district: 858 students in fall 2022, $11,073 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,073
  5. Compare Wes-Del Community Schools with South Newton School CorporationEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Wes-Del Middle/Senior High School, its largest high school435 students in 2024-25, 13.6 per teacher.435
  7. Teacher salary spending across IndianaWes-Del Community Schools spent $49,095 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $51,375); spending, not a salary.$49,095
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Wes-Del Community Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Wes-Del Community Schools?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high, 1 other), enrolling 875 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Wes-Del Community Schools spend per student?
    $11,885 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Indiana median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,033 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,573 per student, up 22.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Wes-Del Community Schools' money come from?
    $11,881,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 58.8% state, 26.9% local and 14.3% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Wes-Del Community Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 105 of the 783 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 13.4%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Wes-Del Community Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $3,093,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,592 per student. Divided by the 63 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $49,095 per teacher, more than 36 in 100 Indiana districts (state median $51,375). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Indiana teacher salary at $54,126 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Wes-Del Community Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Wes-Del Community Schools scored proficient or above: 37% in math, against 41.3% in reading and 37.5% in math across Indiana. Indiana's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Wes-Del Community Schools?
    90% or more of the 54 students in Wes-Del Community Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.1% across Indiana. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Wes-Del Community Schools' NCES district ID?
    1804500. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25