Waverly CUSD 6

Public school district · Morgan County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1741280

Waverly CUSD 6 spent $16,147 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 54% of the other Illinois districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $16,409). Its 2 schools enrolled 329 students in 2024-25; 28.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,686 per student, up 9.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80% or more (Illinois: 87.6%).

Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Waverly CUSD 6 in enrollment (344 to 364 students) and Waverly CUSD 6 itself.

Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Waverly CUSD 6, FY23E. F. Lindop School District 92 $26,951; AlWood Community District #225 $20,377; V I T CUSD 2 $17,831; Waverly CUSD 6 $16,147; A-C Central CUSD 262 $15,765; Annawan CUSD 226 $15,645; Mulberry Grove CUSD 1 $14,621; Beecher City CUSD 20 $13,899; Valmeyer CUSD 3 $13,651; Rossville-Alvin CUSD 7 $10,920; State median, under 1,000 students $16,409.5k10k15k20k25k30kE. F. Lindop School District 92$26,951AlWood Community District #225$20,377V I T CUSD 2$17,831Waverly CUSD 6$16,147A-C Central CUSD 262$15,765Annawan CUSD 226$15,645Mulberry Grove CUSD 1$14,621Beecher City CUSD 20$13,899Valmeyer CUSD 3$13,651Rossville-Alvin CUSD 7$10,920State median, under 1,000 students $16,409
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Waverly CUSD 6, FY23E. F. Lindop School District 92 $26,951; AlWood Community District #225 $20,377; V I T CUSD 2 $17,831; Waverly CUSD 6 $16,147; A-C Central CUSD 262 $15,765; Annawan CUSD 226 $15,645; Mulberry Grove CUSD 1 $14,621; Beecher City CUSD 20 $13,899; Valmeyer CUSD 3 $13,651; Rossville-Alvin CUSD 7 $10,920; State median, under 1,000 students $16,409.5k10k15k20k25k30kE. F. Lindop School District 92$26,951AlWood Community District #225$20,377V I T CUSD 2$17,831Waverly CUSD 6$16,147A-C Central CUSD 262$15,765Annawan CUSD 226$15,645Mulberry Grove CUSD 1$14,621Beecher City CUSD 20$13,899Valmeyer CUSD 3$13,651Rossville-Alvin CUSD 7$10,920State median, under 1,000 students $16,409
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Waverly CUSD 6, FY23E. F. Lindop School District 92 $26,951; AlWood Community District #225 $20,377; V I T CUSD 2 $17,831; Waverly CUSD 6 $16,147; A-C Central CUSD 262 $15,765; Annawan CUSD 226 $15,645; Mulberry Grove CUSD 1 $14,621; Beecher City CUSD 20 $13,899; Valmeyer CUSD 3 $13,651; Rossville-Alvin CUSD 7 $10,920; State median, under 1,000 students $16,409.5k15k25k30kE. F. Lindop School District 92$26,951AlWood Community District #225$20,377V I T CUSD 2$17,831Waverly CUSD 6$16,147A-C Central CUSD 262$15,765Annawan CUSD 226$15,645Mulberry Grove CUSD 1$14,621Beecher City CUSD 20$13,899Valmeyer CUSD 3$13,651Rossville-Alvin CUSD 7$10,920State median, under 1,000 students $16,409
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Waverly CUSD 6, FY23E. F. Lindop School District 92 $26,951; AlWood Community District #225 $20,377; V I T CUSD 2 $17,831; Waverly CUSD 6 $16,147; A-C Central CUSD 262 $15,765; Annawan CUSD 226 $15,645; Mulberry Grove CUSD 1 $14,621; Beecher City CUSD 20 $13,899; Valmeyer CUSD 3 $13,651; Rossville-Alvin CUSD 7 $10,920; State median, under 1,000 students $16,409.5k15k25k30kE. F. Lindop School District 92$26,951AlWood Community District #225$20,377V I T CUSD 2$17,831Waverly CUSD 6$16,147A-C Central CUSD 262$15,765Annawan CUSD 226$15,645Mulberry Grove CUSD 1$14,621Beecher City CUSD 20$13,899Valmeyer CUSD 3$13,651Rossville-Alvin CUSD 7$10,920State median, under 1,000 students $16,409

Where the money came from

$6,725,000 in revenue: 28.6% state, 58.0% local and 13.4% federal. Total spending including $594,000 of capital outlay was $6,605,000, or $18,658 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Waverly CUSD 6 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $1,925,000; Local $3,902,000; Federal $898,000; total $6,725,000.
  • State$1,925,000 29%
  • Local$3,902,000 58%
  • Federal$898,000 13%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 468 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

354 students in 2022-23, 350 students in 2023-24, 329 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Waverly CUSD 6 enrollment by school year2022-23: 354, 2023-24: 350, 2024-25: 32901002003004002022-233542023-243502024-25329
Waverly CUSD 6 enrollment by school year2022-23: 354, 2023-24: 350, 2024-25: 32901002003004002022-233542023-243502024-25329
Waverly CUSD 6 enrollment by school year2022-23: 354, 2023-24: 350, 2024-25: 32901002003004002022-233542023-243502024-25329
Waverly CUSD 6 enrollment by school year2022-23: 354, 2023-24: 350, 2024-25: 32901002003004002022-233542023-243502024-25329

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2335428.212.5
2023-2435026.413.2
2024-2532923.414.1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Waverly CUSD 6 scored proficient or above: 20-24% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIllinoisStudents tested
Reading and language arts20-24%29.9%168

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80% or more of the 21 students in Waverly CUSD 6's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtIllinois
Four-year graduation rate80% or more87.6%
Students in the class21149,998

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 182 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Waverly Elementary School18212.1All free (CEP)Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 147 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Waverly Jr/Sr High School14717.5All free (CEP)Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Waverly CUSD 6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Waverly CUSD 6

  1. Illinois districts by spending per studentWaverly CUSD 6 ranks 251 of 468 Illinois districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($16,147).#251 of 468
  2. Every school district in IllinoisWaverly CUSD 6 is the number 681 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 354 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#681 of 865
  3. Valmeyer CUSD 3The next larger Illinois district: 355 students in fall 2022, $13,651 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,651
  4. Annawan CUSD 226The next smaller Illinois district: 352 students in fall 2022, $15,645 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,645
  5. Compare Waverly CUSD 6 with Valmeyer CUSD 3Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Waverly Jr/Sr High School, its largest high school147 students in 2024-25, 17.5 per teacher.147
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Waverly CUSD 6

  1. How many schools and students are in Waverly CUSD 6?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 329 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Waverly CUSD 6 spend per student?
    $16,147 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,409 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,686 per student, up 9.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Waverly CUSD 6's money come from?
    $6,725,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 28.6% state, 58.0% local and 13.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Waverly CUSD 6 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 37 of the 363 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 10.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How do students in Waverly CUSD 6 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Waverly CUSD 6 scored proficient or above: 20-24% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is the graduation rate in Waverly CUSD 6?
    80% or more of the 21 students in Waverly CUSD 6's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Waverly CUSD 6's NCES district ID?
    1741280. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25