Steelton-Highspire SD

Public school district · Dauphin County · Pennsylvania · NCES district ID 4222800

Steelton-Highspire SD spent $17,210 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 57% of the other Pennsylvania districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $17,594). Its 2 schools enrolled 1,433 students in 2024-25; 60.3% of its revenue came from the state. Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 70-74% (Pennsylvania: 87.5%).

Spending per student among Pennsylvania districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Steelton-Highspire SD in enrollment (1,360 to 1,393 students) and Steelton-Highspire SD itself.

Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Steelton-Highspire SD, FY23Steel Valley SD $24,354; Pequea Valley SD $24,204; East Allegheny SD $21,497; Ligonier Valley SD $20,075; South Allegheny SD $17,557; Steelton-Highspire SD $17,210; Lakeland SD $17,142; Brookville Area SD $17,116; Charleroi Area $16,887; Executive Education Academy CS $14,194; State median, 1,000+ students $17,594.10k15k20k25kSteel Valley SD$24,354Pequea Valley SD$24,204East Allegheny SD$21,497Ligonier Valley SD$20,075South Allegheny SD$17,557Steelton-Highspire SD$17,210Lakeland SD$17,142Brookville Area SD$17,116Charleroi Area$16,887Executive Education Academy CS$14,194State median, 1,000+ students $17,594
Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Steelton-Highspire SD, FY23Steel Valley SD $24,354; Pequea Valley SD $24,204; East Allegheny SD $21,497; Ligonier Valley SD $20,075; South Allegheny SD $17,557; Steelton-Highspire SD $17,210; Lakeland SD $17,142; Brookville Area SD $17,116; Charleroi Area $16,887; Executive Education Academy CS $14,194; State median, 1,000+ students $17,594.10k15k20k25kSteel Valley SD$24,354Pequea Valley SD$24,204East Allegheny SD$21,497Ligonier Valley SD$20,075South Allegheny SD$17,557Steelton-Highspire SD$17,210Lakeland SD$17,142Brookville Area SD$17,116Charleroi Area$16,887Executive Education Academy CS$14,194State median, 1,000+ students $17,594
Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Steelton-Highspire SD, FY23Steel Valley SD $24,354; Pequea Valley SD $24,204; East Allegheny SD $21,497; Ligonier Valley SD $20,075; South Allegheny SD $17,557; Steelton-Highspire SD $17,210; Lakeland SD $17,142; Brookville Area SD $17,116; Charleroi Area $16,887; Executive Education Academy CS $14,194; State median, 1,000+ students $17,594.10k15k20k25kSteel Valley SD$24,354Pequea Valley SD$24,204East Allegheny SD$21,497Ligonier Valley SD$20,075South Allegheny SD$17,557Steelton-Highspire SD$17,210Lakeland SD$17,142Brookville Area SD$17,116Charleroi Area$16,887Executive Education Academy CS$14,194State median, 1,000+ students $17,594
Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Steelton-Highspire SD, FY23Steel Valley SD $24,354; Pequea Valley SD $24,204; East Allegheny SD $21,497; Ligonier Valley SD $20,075; South Allegheny SD $17,557; Steelton-Highspire SD $17,210; Lakeland SD $17,142; Brookville Area SD $17,116; Charleroi Area $16,887; Executive Education Academy CS $14,194; State median, 1,000+ students $17,594.10k15k20k25kSteel Valley SD$24,354Pequea Valley SD$24,204East Allegheny SD$21,497Ligonier Valley SD$20,075South Allegheny SD$17,557Steelton-Highspire SD$17,210Lakeland SD$17,142Brookville Area SD$17,116Charleroi Area$16,887Executive Education Academy CS$14,194State median, 1,000+ students $17,594

Where the money came from

$30,335,000 in revenue: 60.3% state, 25.7% local and 14.0% federal. Total spending including $576,000 of capital outlay was $31,967,000, or $23,215 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Steelton-Highspire SD revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $18,287,000; Local $7,794,000; Federal $4,254,000; total $30,335,000.
  • State$18,287,000 60%
  • Local$7,794,000 26%
  • Federal$4,254,000 14%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 418 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,337 students in 2022-23, 1,374 students in 2023-24, 1,433 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Steelton-Highspire SD enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,337, 2023-24: 1,374, 2024-25: 1,43305001k1.5k2022-231,3372023-241,3742024-251,433
Steelton-Highspire SD enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,337, 2023-24: 1,374, 2024-25: 1,43305001k1.5k2022-231,3372023-241,3742024-251,433
Steelton-Highspire SD enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,337, 2023-24: 1,374, 2024-25: 1,43305001k1.5k2022-231,3372023-241,3742024-251,433
Steelton-Highspire SD enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,337, 2023-24: 1,374, 2024-25: 1,43305001k1.5k2022-231,3372023-241,3742024-251,433

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,33798.813.5
2023-241,374105.213.1
2024-251,43399.014.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$7,042,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,114 per student

Steelton-Highspire SD booked $7,042,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 99 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $71,275 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 23 in 100 Pennsylvania districts with a figure (state median $81,309, 647 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Pennsylvania teacher salary at $72,248 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$5,053,00071.8%
Special education$1,470,00020.9%
Other programs$519,0007.4%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,392 in 2018-19, $4,946 in 2019-20, $4,644 in 2020-21, $4,981 in 2021-22, $5,114 in 2022-23.

Steelton-Highspire SD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,392, 2019-20: $4,946, 2020-21: $4,644, 2021-22: $4,981, 2022-23: $5,11402k4k6k2018-19$4,3922019-20$4,9462020-21$4,6442021-22$4,9812022-23$5,114
Steelton-Highspire SD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,392, 2019-20: $4,946, 2020-21: $4,644, 2021-22: $4,981, 2022-23: $5,11402k4k6k2018-19$4,3922019-20$4,9462020-21$4,6442021-22$4,9812022-23$5,114
Steelton-Highspire SD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,392, 2019-20: $4,946, 2020-21: $4,644, 2021-22: $4,981, 2022-23: $5,11402k4k6k2018-19$4,3922019-20$4,9462020-21$4,6442021-22$4,9812022-23$5,114
Steelton-Highspire SD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,392, 2019-20: $4,946, 2020-21: $4,644, 2021-22: $4,981, 2022-23: $5,11402k4k6k2018-19$4,3922019-20$4,9462020-21$4,6442021-22$4,9812022-23$5,114

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Steelton-Highspire SD scored proficient or above: 11-15% in reading and 2-6% in math, against 54% in reading and 34% in math across Pennsylvania. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Pennsylvania, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtPennsylvaniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts11-15%54%620
Math2-6%34%618

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

70-74% of the 93 students in Steelton-Highspire SD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.5% across Pennsylvania. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtPennsylvania
Four-year graduation rate70‑74%87.5%
Students in the class93136,045

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 821 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Steelton-Highspire Elementary School82113.5100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 612 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Steelton-Highspire High School61216.1100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Steelton-Highspire SD

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Steelton-Highspire SD

  1. Pennsylvania districts by spending per studentSteelton-Highspire SD ranks 240 of 418 Pennsylvania districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($17,210).#240 of 418
  2. Every school district in PennsylvaniaSteelton-Highspire SD is the number 354 by size of 775 Pennsylvania districts, with 1,377 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#354 of 775
  3. Ligonier Valley SDThe next larger Pennsylvania district: 1,382 students in fall 2022, $20,075 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$20,075
  4. Executive Education Academy CSThe next smaller Pennsylvania district: 1,368 students in fall 2022, $14,194 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,194
  5. Compare Steelton-Highspire SD with Ligonier Valley SDEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Steelton-Highspire High School, its largest high school612 students in 2024-25, 16.1 per teacher.612
  7. Teacher salary spending across PennsylvaniaSteelton-Highspire SD spent $71,275 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $81,309); spending, not a salary.$71,275
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Steelton-Highspire SD

  1. How many schools and students are in Steelton-Highspire SD?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 1,433 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Steelton-Highspire SD spend per student?
    $17,210 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Pennsylvania median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,594 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.
  3. Where does Steelton-Highspire SD's money come from?
    $30,335,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 60.3% state, 25.7% local and 14.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Steelton-Highspire SD live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 554 of the 1,761 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 31.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Steelton-Highspire SD spend on teacher salaries?
    $7,042,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,114 per student. Divided by the 99 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $71,275 per teacher, more than 23 in 100 Pennsylvania districts (state median $81,309). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Pennsylvania teacher salary at $72,248 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Steelton-Highspire SD do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Steelton-Highspire SD scored proficient or above: 11-15% in reading and 2-6% in math, against 54% in reading and 34% in math across Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Steelton-Highspire SD?
    70-74% of the 93 students in Steelton-Highspire SD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.5% across Pennsylvania. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Steelton-Highspire SD's NCES district ID?
    4222800. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25