Scio SD 95
Public school district · Linn County · Oregon · NCES district ID 4111040
Scio SD 95 spent $5,809 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 99% of the other Oregon districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $15,368). Its 5 schools enrolled 1,998 students in 2024-25; 85.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $5,780 per student, down 0.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 75-79% (Oregon: 81.3%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Oregon districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Scio SD 95 in enrollment (1,473 to 1,799 students) and Scio SD 95 itself.
Where the money came from
$25,863,000 in revenue: 85.6% state, 9.8% local and 4.6% federal. Total spending including $3,198,000 of capital outlay was $25,657,000, or $15,200 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$22,144,000 86%
- Local$2,523,000 10%
- Federal$1,196,000 5%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 93 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25
1,688 students in 2022-23, 1,719 students in 2023-24, 1,998 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 1,688 | 83.0 | 20.3 |
| 2023-24 | 1,719 | 85.5 | 20.1 |
| 2024-25 | 1,998 | 83.1 | 24.0 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Scio SD 95 scored proficient or above: 54% in reading and 36% in math, against 44% in reading and 30.6% in math across Oregon. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Oregon, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Oregon | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 54% | 44% | 958 |
| Math | 36% | 30.6% | 957 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
75-79% of the 186 students in Scio SD 95's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.3% across Oregon. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Oregon | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 75‑79% | 81.3% |
| Students in the class | 186 | 46,371 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
2 elementary schools, 327 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Centennial Elementary School | 291 | 19.6 | 63.6% | Schoolwide program |
| Lourdes School | 36 | 15.1 | not reported | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 162 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Scio Middle School | 162 | 16.2 | 62.3% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 227 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Scio High School | 227 | 14.8 | 63.0% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 other school, 1,282 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Willamette Connections Academy | 1,282 | 31.6 | not reported | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Scio SD 95
- Website: scio.k12.or.us
- Phone: (503) 394-3261
- Office: 38700 NW Alder, Scio, OR 97374
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Scio SD 95
- Oregon districts by spending per studentScio SD 95 ranks 92 of 93 Oregon districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($5,809).#92 of 93
- Every school district in OregonScio SD 95 is the number 68 by size of 207 Oregon districts, with 1,688 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#68 of 207
- Fossil SD 21JThe next larger Oregon district: 1,778 students in fall 2022, $9,457 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$9,457
- Junction City SD 69The next smaller Oregon district: 1,681 students in fall 2022, $15,460 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,460
- Compare Scio SD 95 with Fossil SD 21JEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Scio High School, its largest high school227 students in 2024-25, 14.8 per teacher.227
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Scio SD 95
How many schools and students are in Scio SD 95?
5 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high, 1 other), enrolling 1,998 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Scio SD 95 spend per student?
$5,809 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Oregon median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,368 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $5,780 per student, down 0.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Scio SD 95's money come from?
$25,863,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 85.6% state, 9.8% local and 4.6% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Scio SD 95 live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 59 of the 751 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 7.9%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How do students in Scio SD 95 do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Scio SD 95 scored proficient or above: 54% in reading and 36% in math, against 44% in reading and 30.6% in math across Oregon. Oregon's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Scio SD 95?
75-79% of the 186 students in Scio SD 95's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.3% across Oregon. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Scio SD 95's NCES district ID?
4111040. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25