Elbert County School District C-2

Listed by NCES as School District No. C-2 in the county of Elbert and State of (district ID 0805010)

Public school district · Elbert County · Colorado · NCES district ID 0805010

Elbert County School District C-2 spent $14,139 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 83% of the other Colorado districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $17,529). Its 3 schools enrolled 292 students in 2024-25; 51.9% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,664 per student, up 3.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 50% or more (Colorado: 82.7%).

Spending per student among Colorado districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Elbert County School District C-2 in enrollment (289 to 325 students) and Elbert County School District C-2 itself.

Current spending per student, Colorado districts closest in size to Elbert County School District C-2, FY23Cripple Creek-Victor School District No. Re-1 $29,505; Sierra Grande School District R-30 $17,862; Plateau Valley, $17,245; Sargent $16,571; Swink $16,290; Buffalo School District RE-4J $15,096; Springfield $14,503; Elbert County School District C-2 $14,139; Hoehne School District RE-3 $13,006; Deer Trail 26J $12,751; State median, under 1,000 students $17,529.10k15k20k25k30k35kCripple Creek-Victor School Di…$29,505Sierra Grande School District …$17,862Plateau Valley,$17,245Sargent$16,571Swink$16,290Buffalo School District RE-4J$15,096Springfield$14,503Elbert County School District …$14,139Hoehne School District RE-3$13,006Deer Trail 26J$12,751State median, under 1,000 students $17,529
Current spending per student, Colorado districts closest in size to Elbert County School District C-2, FY23Cripple Creek-Victor School District No. Re-1 $29,505; Sierra Grande School District R-30 $17,862; Plateau Valley, $17,245; Sargent $16,571; Swink $16,290; Buffalo School District RE-4J $15,096; Springfield $14,503; Elbert County School District C-2 $14,139; Hoehne School District RE-3 $13,006; Deer Trail 26J $12,751; State median, under 1,000 students $17,529.10k15k20k25k30k35kCripple Creek-Victor School Distric…$29,505Sierra Grande School District R-30$17,862Plateau Valley,$17,245Sargent$16,571Swink$16,290Buffalo School District RE-4J$15,096Springfield$14,503Elbert County School District C-2$14,139Hoehne School District RE-3$13,006Deer Trail 26J$12,751State median, under 1,000 students $17,529
Current spending per student, Colorado districts closest in size to Elbert County School District C-2, FY23Cripple Creek-Victor School District No. Re-1 $29,505; Sierra Grande School District R-30 $17,862; Plateau Valley, $17,245; Sargent $16,571; Swink $16,290; Buffalo School District RE-4J $15,096; Springfield $14,503; Elbert County School District C-2 $14,139; Hoehne School District RE-3 $13,006; Deer Trail 26J $12,751; State median, under 1,000 students $17,529.10k20k30k35kCripple Creek-Victor School District No. Re…$29,505Sierra Grande School District R-30$17,862Plateau Valley,$17,245Sargent$16,571Swink$16,290Buffalo School District RE-4J$15,096Springfield$14,503Elbert County School District C-2$14,139Hoehne School District RE-3$13,006Deer Trail 26J$12,751State median, under 1,000 students $17,529
Current spending per student, Colorado districts closest in size to Elbert County School District C-2, FY23Cripple Creek-Victor School District No. Re-1 $29,505; Sierra Grande School District R-30 $17,862; Plateau Valley, $17,245; Sargent $16,571; Swink $16,290; Buffalo School District RE-4J $15,096; Springfield $14,503; Elbert County School District C-2 $14,139; Hoehne School District RE-3 $13,006; Deer Trail 26J $12,751; State median, under 1,000 students $17,529.10k20k30k35kCripple Creek-Victor School District No…$29,505Sierra Grande School District R-30$17,862Plateau Valley,$17,245Sargent$16,571Swink$16,290Buffalo School District RE-4J$15,096Springfield$14,503Elbert County School District C-2$14,139Hoehne School District RE-3$13,006Deer Trail 26J$12,751State median, under 1,000 students $17,529

Where the money came from

$5,535,000 in revenue: 51.9% state, 38.6% local and 9.5% federal. Total spending including $159,000 of capital outlay was $4,806,000, or $15,553 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Elbert County School District C-2 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $2,870,000; Local $2,138,000; Federal $527,000; total $5,535,000.
  • State$2,870,000 52%
  • Local$2,138,000 39%
  • Federal$527,000 10%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 109 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

309 students in 2022-23, 342 students in 2023-24, 292 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Elbert County School District C-2 enrollment by school year2022-23: 309, 2023-24: 342, 2024-25: 29201002003004002022-233092023-243422024-25292
Elbert County School District C-2 enrollment by school year2022-23: 309, 2023-24: 342, 2024-25: 29201002003004002022-233092023-243422024-25292
Elbert County School District C-2 enrollment by school year2022-23: 309, 2023-24: 342, 2024-25: 29201002003004002022-233092023-243422024-25292
Elbert County School District C-2 enrollment by school year2022-23: 309, 2023-24: 342, 2024-25: 29201002003004002022-233092023-243422024-25292

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2330917.118.0
2023-2434219.917.2
2024-2529225.911.3

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$951,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,078 per student

Elbert County School District C-2 booked $951,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 17 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $55,484 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 28 in 100 Colorado districts with a figure (state median $62,708, 161 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Colorado teacher salary at $58,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$741,00077.9%
Special education$89,0009.4%
Vocational$50,0005.3%
Other programs$71,0007.5%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,938 in 2018-19, $3,579 in 2019-20, $3,642 in 2020-21, $3,101 in 2021-22, $3,078 in 2022-23.

Elbert County School District C-2 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,938, 2019-20: $3,579, 2020-21: $3,642, 2021-22: $3,101, 2022-23: $3,07801k2k3k4k2018-19$3,9382019-20$3,5792020-21$3,6422021-22$3,1012022-23$3,078
Elbert County School District C-2 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,938, 2019-20: $3,579, 2020-21: $3,642, 2021-22: $3,101, 2022-23: $3,07801k2k3k4k2018-19$3,9382019-20$3,5792020-21$3,6422021-22$3,1012022-23$3,078
Elbert County School District C-2 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,938, 2019-20: $3,579, 2020-21: $3,642, 2021-22: $3,101, 2022-23: $3,07801k2k3k4k2018-19$3,9382019-20$3,5792020-21$3,6422021-22$3,1012022-23$3,078
Elbert County School District C-2 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,938, 2019-20: $3,579, 2020-21: $3,642, 2021-22: $3,101, 2022-23: $3,07801k2k3k4k2018-19$3,9382019-20$3,5792020-21$3,6422021-22$3,1012022-23$3,078

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Elbert County School District C-2 scored proficient or above: 40-44% in reading and 25-29% in math, against 44.9% in reading and 31.8% in math across Colorado. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Colorado, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtColoradoStudents tested
Reading and language arts40-44%44.9%129
Math25-29%31.8%128

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

50% or more of the 15 students in Elbert County School District C-2's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 82.7% across Colorado. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtColorado
Four-year graduation rate50% or more82.7%
Students in the class1568,390

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 159 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Kiowa Elementary School15911.230.2%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 66 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Kiowa Middle School6610.642.4%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 67 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Kiowa High School6712.137.3%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Elbert County School District C-2

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Elbert County School District C-2

  1. Colorado districts by spending per studentElbert County School District C-2 ranks 91 of 109 Colorado districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,139).#91 of 109
  2. Every school district in ColoradoElbert County School District C-2 is the number 123 by size of 185 Colorado districts, with 309 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#123 of 185
  3. Cripple Creek-Victor School District No. Re-1The next larger Colorado district: 313 students in fall 2022, $29,505 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$29,505
  4. Springfield School DistrictThe next smaller Colorado district: 304 students in fall 2022, $14,503 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,503
  5. Compare Elbert County School District C-2 with Cripple Creek-Victor School District No. Re-1Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Kiowa High School, its largest high school67 students in 2024-25, 12.1 per teacher.67
  7. Teacher salary spending across ColoradoElbert County School District C-2 spent $55,484 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,708); spending, not a salary.$55,484
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Elbert County School District C-2

  1. How many schools and students are in Elbert County School District C-2?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 292 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Elbert County School District C-2 spend per student?
    $14,139 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Colorado median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,529 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,664 per student, up 3.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Elbert County School District C-2's money come from?
    $5,535,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 51.9% state, 38.6% local and 9.5% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Elbert County School District C-2 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 42 of the 539 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 7.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Elbert County School District C-2 spend on teacher salaries?
    $951,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,078 per student. Divided by the 17 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $55,484 per teacher, more than 28 in 100 Colorado districts (state median $62,708). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Colorado teacher salary at $58,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Elbert County School District C-2 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Elbert County School District C-2 scored proficient or above: 40-44% in reading and 25-29% in math, against 44.9% in reading and 31.8% in math across Colorado. Colorado's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Elbert County School District C-2?
    50% or more of the 15 students in Elbert County School District C-2's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 82.7% across Colorado. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Elbert County School District C-2's NCES district ID?
    0805010. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25