Rsu 21

Public school district · York County · Maine · NCES district ID 2314773

Rsu 21 spent $20,211 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 76% of the other Maine districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $17,843). Its 6 schools enrolled 2,262 students in 2024-25; 15.9% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $21,067 per student, up 4.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (Maine: 87.3%).

Spending per student among Maine districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Rsu 21 in enrollment (2,153 to 2,380 students) and Rsu 21 itself.

Current spending per student, Maine districts closest in size to Rsu 21, FY23Rsu 54/Msad 54 $22,180; Westbrook Public Schools $21,627; Rsu 51/Msad 51 $21,107; Brunswick Public Schools $21,082; Rsu 21 $20,211; Biddeford Schools $19,349; Rsu 75/Msad 75 $18,828; Rsu 09 $17,764; Augusta Public Schools $16,789; Rsu 22 $16,072; State median, 1,000+ students $17,843.12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5k25kRsu 54/Msad 54$22,180Westbrook Public Schools$21,627Rsu 51/Msad 51$21,107Brunswick Public Schools$21,082Rsu 21$20,211Biddeford Schools$19,349Rsu 75/Msad 75$18,828Rsu 09$17,764Augusta Public Schools$16,789Rsu 22$16,072State median, 1,000+ students $17,843
Current spending per student, Maine districts closest in size to Rsu 21, FY23Rsu 54/Msad 54 $22,180; Westbrook Public Schools $21,627; Rsu 51/Msad 51 $21,107; Brunswick Public Schools $21,082; Rsu 21 $20,211; Biddeford Schools $19,349; Rsu 75/Msad 75 $18,828; Rsu 09 $17,764; Augusta Public Schools $16,789; Rsu 22 $16,072; State median, 1,000+ students $17,843.12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5k25kRsu 54/Msad 54$22,180Westbrook Public Schools$21,627Rsu 51/Msad 51$21,107Brunswick Public Schools$21,082Rsu 21$20,211Biddeford Schools$19,349Rsu 75/Msad 75$18,828Rsu 09$17,764Augusta Public Schools$16,789Rsu 22$16,072State median, 1,000+ students $17,843
Current spending per student, Maine districts closest in size to Rsu 21, FY23Rsu 54/Msad 54 $22,180; Westbrook Public Schools $21,627; Rsu 51/Msad 51 $21,107; Brunswick Public Schools $21,082; Rsu 21 $20,211; Biddeford Schools $19,349; Rsu 75/Msad 75 $18,828; Rsu 09 $17,764; Augusta Public Schools $16,789; Rsu 22 $16,072; State median, 1,000+ students $17,843.12.5k17.5k22.5k25kRsu 54/Msad 54$22,180Westbrook Public Schools$21,627Rsu 51/Msad 51$21,107Brunswick Public Schools$21,082Rsu 21$20,211Biddeford Schools$19,349Rsu 75/Msad 75$18,828Rsu 09$17,764Augusta Public Schools$16,789Rsu 22$16,072State median, 1,000+ students $17,843
Current spending per student, Maine districts closest in size to Rsu 21, FY23Rsu 54/Msad 54 $22,180; Westbrook Public Schools $21,627; Rsu 51/Msad 51 $21,107; Brunswick Public Schools $21,082; Rsu 21 $20,211; Biddeford Schools $19,349; Rsu 75/Msad 75 $18,828; Rsu 09 $17,764; Augusta Public Schools $16,789; Rsu 22 $16,072; State median, 1,000+ students $17,843.12.5k17.5k22.5k25kRsu 54/Msad 54$22,180Westbrook Public Schools$21,627Rsu 51/Msad 51$21,107Brunswick Public Schools$21,082Rsu 21$20,211Biddeford Schools$19,349Rsu 75/Msad 75$18,828Rsu 09$17,764Augusta Public Schools$16,789Rsu 22$16,072State median, 1,000+ students $17,843

Where the money came from

$58,490,000 in revenue: 15.9% state, 77.1% local and 7.0% federal. Total spending including $8,202,000 of capital outlay was $60,953,000, or $25,135 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Rsu 21 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $9,309,000; Local $45,091,000; Federal $4,090,000; total $58,490,000.
  • State$9,309,000 16%
  • Local$45,091,000 77%
  • Federal$4,090,000 7%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 63 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

2,301 students in 2022-23, 2,280 students in 2023-24, 2,262 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Rsu 21 enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,301, 2023-24: 2,280, 2024-25: 2,26201k2k3k2022-232,3012023-242,2802024-252,262
Rsu 21 enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,301, 2023-24: 2,280, 2024-25: 2,26201k2k3k2022-232,3012023-242,2802024-252,262
Rsu 21 enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,301, 2023-24: 2,280, 2024-25: 2,26201k2k3k2022-232,3012023-242,2802024-252,262
Rsu 21 enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,301, 2023-24: 2,280, 2024-25: 2,26201k2k3k2022-232,3012023-242,2802024-252,262

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-232,301205.011.2
2023-242,280202.511.3
2024-252,262201.611.2

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$15,048,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $6,205 per student

Rsu 21 booked $15,048,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 205 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $73,405 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 88 in 100 Maine districts with a figure (state median $60,073, 173 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Maine teacher salary at $58,757 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$11,988,00079.7%
Special education$2,218,00014.7%
Vocational$38,0000.3%
Other programs$804,0005.3%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,895 in 2018-19, $5,022 in 2019-20, $5,493 in 2020-21, $6,145 in 2021-22, $6,205 in 2022-23.

Rsu 21 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,895, 2019-20: $5,022, 2020-21: $5,493, 2021-22: $6,145, 2022-23: $6,20502k4k6k8k2018-19$4,8952019-20$5,0222020-21$5,4932021-22$6,1452022-23$6,205
Rsu 21 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,895, 2019-20: $5,022, 2020-21: $5,493, 2021-22: $6,145, 2022-23: $6,20502k4k6k8k2018-19$4,8952019-20$5,0222020-21$5,4932021-22$6,1452022-23$6,205
Rsu 21 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,895, 2019-20: $5,022, 2020-21: $5,493, 2021-22: $6,145, 2022-23: $6,20502k4k6k8k2018-19$4,8952019-20$5,0222020-21$5,4932021-22$6,1452022-23$6,205
Rsu 21 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,895, 2019-20: $5,022, 2020-21: $5,493, 2021-22: $6,145, 2022-23: $6,20502k4k6k8k2018-19$4,8952019-20$5,0222020-21$5,4932021-22$6,1452022-23$6,205

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Rsu 21 scored proficient or above: 92% in reading and 91% in math, against 84.1% in reading and 81.5% in math across Maine. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Maine, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMaineStudents tested
Reading and language arts92%84.1%1,144
Math91%81.5%1,149

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90-94% of the 189 students in Rsu 21's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Maine. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMaine
Four-year graduation rate90‑94%87.3%
Students in the class18913,941

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

4 elementary schools, 1,109 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Kennebunk Elementary School37812.015.3%Not Title I
Sea Road School30812.614.9%Not Title I
Mildred L Day School22411.421.0%Targeted program
Kennebunkport Consolidated Sch19910.012.6%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 470 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Middle School of the Kennebunks4709.916.2%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 683 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Kennebunk High School68311.617.0%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Rsu 21

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Rsu 21

  1. Maine districts by spending per studentRsu 21 ranks 16 of 63 Maine districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($20,211).#16 of 63
  2. Every school district in MaineRsu 21 is the number 16 by size of 234 Maine districts, with 2,425 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#16 of 234
  3. Gorham School DistrictThe next larger Maine district: 2,737 students in fall 2022, $17,843 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,843
  4. Rsu 75/Msad 75The next smaller Maine district: 2,380 students in fall 2022, $18,828 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,828
  5. Compare Rsu 21 with Gorham School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Kennebunk High School, its largest high school683 students in 2024-25, 11.6 per teacher.683
  7. Teacher salary spending across MaineRsu 21 spent $73,405 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $60,073); spending, not a salary.$73,405
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Rsu 21

  1. How many schools and students are in Rsu 21?
    6 schools were open in 2024-25 (4 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 2,262 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Rsu 21 spend per student?
    $20,211 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Maine median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,843 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $21,067 per student, up 4.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Rsu 21's money come from?
    $58,490,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 15.9% state, 77.1% local and 7.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Rsu 21 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 110 of the 2,627 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 4.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Rsu 21 spend on teacher salaries?
    $15,048,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $6,205 per student. Divided by the 205 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $73,405 per teacher, more than 88 in 100 Maine districts (state median $60,073). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Maine teacher salary at $58,757 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Rsu 21 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Rsu 21 scored proficient or above: 92% in reading and 91% in math, against 84.1% in reading and 81.5% in math across Maine. Maine's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Rsu 21?
    90-94% of the 189 students in Rsu 21's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Maine. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Rsu 21's NCES district ID?
    2314773. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25