Plum Borough District

Listed by NCES as Plum Borough SD (district ID 4219350)

Public school district · Allegheny County · Pennsylvania · NCES district ID 4219350

Plum Borough District spent $15,422 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 83% of the other Pennsylvania districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $17,594). Its 5 schools enrolled 3,535 students in 2024-25; 39.2% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,066 per student, up 4.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 97% (Pennsylvania: 87.5%).

Spending per student among Pennsylvania districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Plum Borough District in enrollment (3,474 to 3,678 students) and Plum Borough District itself.

Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Plum Borough District, FY23Radnor Township SD $26,116; Wallingford-Swarthmore SD $22,293; Keystone Central SD $20,393; Insight PA Cyber Charter School $19,062; Elizabethtown Area SD $16,704; Plum Borough District $15,422; Shippensburg Area SD $14,925; Abington Heights SD $14,730; Palmyra Area SD $13,663; Mars Area SD $12,726; State median, 1,000+ students $17,594.10k15k20k25k30kRadnor Township SD$26,116Wallingford-Swarthmore SD$22,293Keystone Central SD$20,393Insight PA Cyber Charter School$19,062Elizabethtown Area SD$16,704Plum Borough District$15,422Shippensburg Area SD$14,925Abington Heights SD$14,730Palmyra Area SD$13,663Mars Area SD$12,726State median, 1,000+ students $17,594
Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Plum Borough District, FY23Radnor Township SD $26,116; Wallingford-Swarthmore SD $22,293; Keystone Central SD $20,393; Insight PA Cyber Charter School $19,062; Elizabethtown Area SD $16,704; Plum Borough District $15,422; Shippensburg Area SD $14,925; Abington Heights SD $14,730; Palmyra Area SD $13,663; Mars Area SD $12,726; State median, 1,000+ students $17,594.10k15k20k25k30kRadnor Township SD$26,116Wallingford-Swarthmore SD$22,293Keystone Central SD$20,393Insight PA Cyber Charter School$19,062Elizabethtown Area SD$16,704Plum Borough District$15,422Shippensburg Area SD$14,925Abington Heights SD$14,730Palmyra Area SD$13,663Mars Area SD$12,726State median, 1,000+ students $17,594
Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Plum Borough District, FY23Radnor Township SD $26,116; Wallingford-Swarthmore SD $22,293; Keystone Central SD $20,393; Insight PA Cyber Charter School $19,062; Elizabethtown Area SD $16,704; Plum Borough District $15,422; Shippensburg Area SD $14,925; Abington Heights SD $14,730; Palmyra Area SD $13,663; Mars Area SD $12,726; State median, 1,000+ students $17,594.10k20k30kRadnor Township SD$26,116Wallingford-Swarthmore SD$22,293Keystone Central SD$20,393Insight PA Cyber Charter School$19,062Elizabethtown Area SD$16,704Plum Borough District$15,422Shippensburg Area SD$14,925Abington Heights SD$14,730Palmyra Area SD$13,663Mars Area SD$12,726State median, 1,000+ students $17,594
Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Plum Borough District, FY23Radnor Township SD $26,116; Wallingford-Swarthmore SD $22,293; Keystone Central SD $20,393; Insight PA Cyber Charter School $19,062; Elizabethtown Area SD $16,704; Plum Borough District $15,422; Shippensburg Area SD $14,925; Abington Heights SD $14,730; Palmyra Area SD $13,663; Mars Area SD $12,726; State median, 1,000+ students $17,594.10k20k30kRadnor Township SD$26,116Wallingford-Swarthmore SD$22,293Keystone Central SD$20,393Insight PA Cyber Charter School$19,062Elizabethtown Area SD$16,704Plum Borough District$15,422Shippensburg Area SD$14,925Abington Heights SD$14,730Palmyra Area SD$13,663Mars Area SD$12,726State median, 1,000+ students $17,594

Where the money came from

$74,183,000 in revenue: 39.2% state, 56.8% local and 3.9% federal. Total spending including $913,000 of capital outlay was $64,340,000, or $17,962 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Plum Borough District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $29,091,000; Local $42,172,000; Federal $2,920,000; total $74,183,000.
  • State$29,091,000 39%
  • Local$42,172,000 57%
  • Federal$2,920,000 4%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 418 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

3,577 students in 2022-23, 3,552 students in 2023-24, 3,535 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Plum Borough District enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,577, 2023-24: 3,552, 2024-25: 3,53501k2k3k4k2022-233,5772023-243,5522024-253,535
Plum Borough District enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,577, 2023-24: 3,552, 2024-25: 3,53501k2k3k4k2022-233,5772023-243,5522024-253,535
Plum Borough District enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,577, 2023-24: 3,552, 2024-25: 3,53501k2k3k4k2022-233,5772023-243,5522024-253,535
Plum Borough District enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,577, 2023-24: 3,552, 2024-25: 3,53501k2k3k4k2022-233,5772023-243,5522024-253,535

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-233,577209.517.1
2023-243,552213.516.6
2024-253,535211.516.7

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$20,622,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,757 per student

Plum Borough District booked $20,622,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 209 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $98,439 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 87 in 100 Pennsylvania districts with a figure (state median $81,309, 647 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Pennsylvania teacher salary at $72,248 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$16,852,00081.7%
Special education$3,073,00014.9%
Other programs$697,0003.4%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,451 in 2018-19, $5,508 in 2019-20, $5,540 in 2020-21, $5,570 in 2021-22, $5,757 in 2022-23.

Plum Borough District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,451, 2019-20: $5,508, 2020-21: $5,540, 2021-22: $5,570, 2022-23: $5,75702k4k6k2018-19$5,4512019-20$5,5082020-21$5,5402021-22$5,5702022-23$5,757
Plum Borough District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,451, 2019-20: $5,508, 2020-21: $5,540, 2021-22: $5,570, 2022-23: $5,75702k4k6k2018-19$5,4512019-20$5,5082020-21$5,5402021-22$5,5702022-23$5,757
Plum Borough District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,451, 2019-20: $5,508, 2020-21: $5,540, 2021-22: $5,570, 2022-23: $5,75702k4k6k2018-19$5,4512019-20$5,5082020-21$5,5402021-22$5,5702022-23$5,757
Plum Borough District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,451, 2019-20: $5,508, 2020-21: $5,540, 2021-22: $5,570, 2022-23: $5,75702k4k6k2018-19$5,4512019-20$5,5082020-21$5,5402021-22$5,5702022-23$5,757

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Plum Borough District scored proficient or above: 62-66% in reading and 47-51% in math, against 54% in reading and 34% in math across Pennsylvania. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Pennsylvania, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtPennsylvaniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts62-66%54%1,544
Math47-51%34%1,536

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

97% of the 270 students in Plum Borough District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.5% across Pennsylvania. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtPennsylvania
Four-year graduation rate97%87.5%
Students in the class270136,045

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 1,252 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Pivik Elementary School74018.029.6%Targeted program
O'Block Elementary School51214.536.1%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 middle schools, 1,063 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Plum Middle School55016.628.7%Not Title I
Holiday Park Intermediate School51315.931.2%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 1,220 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Plum SHS1,22017.528.4%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Plum Borough District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Plum Borough District

  1. Pennsylvania districts by spending per studentPlum Borough District ranks 349 of 418 Pennsylvania districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($15,422).#349 of 418
  2. Every school district in PennsylvaniaPlum Borough District is the number 127 by size of 775 Pennsylvania districts, with 3,582 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#127 of 775
  3. Insight PA Cyber Charter SchoolThe next larger Pennsylvania district: 3,638 students in fall 2022, $19,062 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$19,062
  4. Radnor Township SDThe next smaller Pennsylvania district: 3,564 students in fall 2022, $26,116 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$26,116
  5. Compare Plum Borough District with Insight PA Cyber Charter SchoolEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Plum SHS, its largest high school1,220 students in 2024-25, 17.5 per teacher.1,220
  7. Teacher salary spending across PennsylvaniaPlum Borough District spent $98,439 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $81,309); spending, not a salary.$98,439
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Plum Borough District

  1. How many schools and students are in Plum Borough District?
    5 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 2 middle, 1 high), enrolling 3,535 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Plum Borough District spend per student?
    $15,422 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Pennsylvania median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,594 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,066 per student, up 4.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Plum Borough District's money come from?
    $74,183,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 39.2% state, 56.8% local and 3.9% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Plum Borough District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 258 of the 3,990 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 6.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Plum Borough District spend on teacher salaries?
    $20,622,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,757 per student. Divided by the 209 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $98,439 per teacher, more than 87 in 100 Pennsylvania districts (state median $81,309). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Pennsylvania teacher salary at $72,248 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Plum Borough District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Plum Borough District scored proficient or above: 62-66% in reading and 47-51% in math, against 54% in reading and 34% in math across Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Plum Borough District?
    97% of the 270 students in Plum Borough District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.5% across Pennsylvania. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Plum Borough District's NCES district ID?
    4219350. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25