North Platte R-I Schools

Listed by NCES as North Platte Co. R-I (district ID 2922830)

Public school district · Platte County · Missouri · NCES district ID 2922830

North Platte R-I Schools spent $12,368 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 67% of the other Missouri districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $13,479). Its 4 schools enrolled 556 students in 2024-25; 33.2% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,882 per student, up 12.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% or more (Missouri: 89.3%).

Spending per student among Missouri districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to North Platte R-I Schools in enrollment (582 to 610 students) and North Platte R-I Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to North Platte R-I Schools, FY23Westran $14,777; Schuyler R-1 Schools $13,732; Hayti R-ll $13,650; Mansfield R-IV $12,963; North Platte R-I Schools $12,368; Van-Far R1 $11,875; South Pemiscot County R-V $11,858; Fordland R-III $11,649; Tipton R-VI $11,625; Miller R-II $11,434; State median, under 1,000 students $13,479.10k12k14k16kWestran$14,777Schuyler R-1 Schools$13,732Hayti R-ll$13,650Mansfield R-IV$12,963North Platte R-I Schools$12,368Van-Far R1$11,875South Pemiscot County R-V$11,858Fordland R-III$11,649Tipton R-VI$11,625Miller R-II$11,434State median, under 1,000 students $13,479
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to North Platte R-I Schools, FY23Westran $14,777; Schuyler R-1 Schools $13,732; Hayti R-ll $13,650; Mansfield R-IV $12,963; North Platte R-I Schools $12,368; Van-Far R1 $11,875; South Pemiscot County R-V $11,858; Fordland R-III $11,649; Tipton R-VI $11,625; Miller R-II $11,434; State median, under 1,000 students $13,479.10k12k14k16kWestran$14,777Schuyler R-1 Schools$13,732Hayti R-ll$13,650Mansfield R-IV$12,963North Platte R-I Schools$12,368Van-Far R1$11,875South Pemiscot County R-V$11,858Fordland R-III$11,649Tipton R-VI$11,625Miller R-II$11,434State median, under 1,000 students $13,479
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to North Platte R-I Schools, FY23Westran $14,777; Schuyler R-1 Schools $13,732; Hayti R-ll $13,650; Mansfield R-IV $12,963; North Platte R-I Schools $12,368; Van-Far R1 $11,875; South Pemiscot County R-V $11,858; Fordland R-III $11,649; Tipton R-VI $11,625; Miller R-II $11,434; State median, under 1,000 students $13,479.10k12k14k16kWestran$14,777Schuyler R-1 Schools$13,732Hayti R-ll$13,650Mansfield R-IV$12,963North Platte R-I Schools$12,368Van-Far R1$11,875South Pemiscot County R-V$11,858Fordland R-III$11,649Tipton R-VI$11,625Miller R-II$11,434State median, under 1,000 students $13,479
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to North Platte R-I Schools, FY23Westran $14,777; Schuyler R-1 Schools $13,732; Hayti R-ll $13,650; Mansfield R-IV $12,963; North Platte R-I Schools $12,368; Van-Far R1 $11,875; South Pemiscot County R-V $11,858; Fordland R-III $11,649; Tipton R-VI $11,625; Miller R-II $11,434; State median, under 1,000 students $13,479.10k12k14k16kWestran$14,777Schuyler R-1 Schools$13,732Hayti R-ll$13,650Mansfield R-IV$12,963North Platte R-I Schools$12,368Van-Far R1$11,875South Pemiscot County R-V$11,858Fordland R-III$11,649Tipton R-VI$11,625Miller R-II$11,434State median, under 1,000 students $13,479

Where the money came from

$9,231,000 in revenue: 33.2% state, 56.3% local and 10.5% federal. Total spending including $56,000 of capital outlay was $7,873,000, or $13,344 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

North Platte R-I Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $3,061,000; Local $5,201,000; Federal $969,000; total $9,231,000.
  • State$3,061,000 33%
  • Local$5,201,000 56%
  • Federal$969,000 10%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 376 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

590 students in 2022-23, 550 students in 2023-24, 556 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

North Platte R-I Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 590, 2023-24: 550, 2024-25: 55602004006002022-235902023-245502024-25556
North Platte R-I Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 590, 2023-24: 550, 2024-25: 55602004006002022-235902023-245502024-25556
North Platte R-I Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 590, 2023-24: 550, 2024-25: 55602004006002022-235902023-245502024-25556
North Platte R-I Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 590, 2023-24: 550, 2024-25: 55602004006002022-235902023-245502024-25556

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2359047.712.4
2023-2455047.711.5
2024-2555646.711.9

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$2,655,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,500 per student

North Platte R-I Schools booked $2,655,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 48 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $55,497 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 77 in 100 Missouri districts with a figure (state median $50,410, 484 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$2,017,00076.0%
Special education$313,00011.8%
Vocational$48,0001.8%
Other programs$277,00010.4%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,730 in 2018-19, $3,946 in 2019-20, $3,969 in 2020-21, $4,121 in 2021-22, $4,500 in 2022-23.

North Platte R-I Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,730, 2019-20: $3,946, 2020-21: $3,969, 2021-22: $4,121, 2022-23: $4,50002k4k6k2018-19$3,7302019-20$3,9462020-21$3,9692021-22$4,1212022-23$4,500
North Platte R-I Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,730, 2019-20: $3,946, 2020-21: $3,969, 2021-22: $4,121, 2022-23: $4,50002k4k6k2018-19$3,7302019-20$3,9462020-21$3,9692021-22$4,1212022-23$4,500
North Platte R-I Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,730, 2019-20: $3,946, 2020-21: $3,969, 2021-22: $4,121, 2022-23: $4,50002k4k6k2018-19$3,7302019-20$3,9462020-21$3,9692021-22$4,1212022-23$4,500
North Platte R-I Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,730, 2019-20: $3,946, 2020-21: $3,969, 2021-22: $4,121, 2022-23: $4,50002k4k6k2018-19$3,7302019-20$3,9462020-21$3,9692021-22$4,1212022-23$4,500

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in North Platte R-I Schools scored proficient or above: 52% in reading and 38% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Missouri, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMissouriStudents tested
Reading and language arts52%43.2%314
Math38%39.2%313

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90% or more of the 53 students in North Platte R-I Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMissouri
Four-year graduation rate90% or more89.3%
Students in the class5367,017

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 213 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
North Platte Intermediate10810.523.1%Schoolwide program
North Platte Elementary10511.113.3%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 123 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
North Platte Jr. High12312.117.1%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 220 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
North Platte High22013.121.4%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact North Platte R-I Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about North Platte R-I Schools

  1. Missouri districts by spending per studentNorth Platte R-I Schools ranks 253 of 376 Missouri districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($12,368).#253 of 376
  2. Every school district in MissouriNorth Platte R-I Schools is the number 275 by size of 558 Missouri districts, with 590 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#275 of 558
  3. Mansfield R-IV School DistrictThe next larger Missouri district: 594 students in fall 2022, $12,963 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,963
  4. Miller R-IIThe next smaller Missouri district: 588 students in fall 2022, $11,434 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,434
  5. Compare North Platte R-I Schools with Mansfield R-IV School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. North Platte High, its largest high school220 students in 2024-25, 13.1 per teacher.220
  7. Teacher salary spending across MissouriNorth Platte R-I Schools spent $55,497 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,410); spending, not a salary.$55,497
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about North Platte R-I Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in North Platte R-I Schools?
    4 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 556 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does North Platte R-I Schools spend per student?
    $12,368 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Missouri median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,479 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,882 per student, up 12.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does North Platte R-I Schools' money come from?
    $9,231,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 33.2% state, 56.3% local and 10.5% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in North Platte R-I Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 39 of the 701 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 5.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does North Platte R-I Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $2,655,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,500 per student. Divided by the 48 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $55,497 per teacher, more than 77 in 100 Missouri districts (state median $50,410). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in North Platte R-I Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in North Platte R-I Schools scored proficient or above: 52% in reading and 38% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Missouri's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in North Platte R-I Schools?
    90% or more of the 53 students in North Platte R-I Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is North Platte R-I Schools' NCES district ID?
    2922830. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25