North Palos SD 117
Public school district · Cook County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1728890
North Palos SD 117 spent $17,694 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 54% of the other Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $18,127). Its 5 schools enrolled 3,350 students in 2024-25; 42.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $18,641 per student, up 5.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to North Palos SD 117 in enrollment (3,316 to 3,474 students) and North Palos SD 117 itself.
Where the money came from
$77,704,000 in revenue: 42.0% state, 48.2% local and 9.9% federal. Total spending including $18,506,000 of capital outlay was $81,941,000, or $24,122 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$32,597,000 42%
- Local$37,421,000 48%
- Federal$7,686,000 10%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 377 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
3,397 students in 2022-23, 3,325 students in 2023-24, 3,350 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 3,397 | 230.0 | 14.8 |
| 2023-24 | 3,325 | 232.0 | 14.3 |
| 2024-25 | 3,350 | 229.0 | 14.6 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in North Palos SD 117 scored proficient or above: 65% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Illinois | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 65% | 29.9% | 2,150 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
4 elementary schools, 2,303 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oak Ridge Elementary School | 774 | 13.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Glen Oaks Elementary School | 649 | 12.7 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Dr Kenneth M Sorrick School | 449 | 18.0 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Dorn Elementary School | 431 | 16.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 1,047 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| H H Conrady Jr High School | 1,047 | 14.7 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact North Palos SD 117
- Website: npd117.net
- Phone: (708) 598-5500
- Office: 7825 W 103rd St, Palos Hills, IL 60465
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about North Palos SD 117
- Illinois districts by spending per studentNorth Palos SD 117 ranks 204 of 377 Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($17,694).#204 of 377
- Every school district in IllinoisNorth Palos SD 117 is the number 116 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 3,397 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#116 of 865
- Mahomet-Seymour CUSD 3The next larger Illinois district: 3,423 students in fall 2022, $9,950 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$9,950
- Belleville SD 118The next smaller Illinois district: 3,390 students in fall 2022, $19,365 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$19,365
- Compare North Palos SD 117 with Mahomet-Seymour CUSD 3Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about North Palos SD 117
How many schools and students are in North Palos SD 117?
5 schools were open in 2024-25 (4 elementary, 1 middle), enrolling 3,350 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does North Palos SD 117 spend per student?
$17,694 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $18,127 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $18,641 per student, up 5.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does North Palos SD 117's money come from?
$77,704,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 42.0% state, 48.2% local and 9.9% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in North Palos SD 117 live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 809 of the 3,242 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 25.0%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How do students in North Palos SD 117 do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in North Palos SD 117 scored proficient or above: 65% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is North Palos SD 117's NCES district ID?
1728890. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25