North Gem District

Public school district · Caribou County · Idaho · NCES district ID 1602430

North Gem District spent $17,717 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 83% of the other Idaho districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $11,696). Its 3 schools enrolled 150 students in 2024-25; 66.4% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $22,398 per student, up 26.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 50% or more (Idaho: 81.1%).

Spending per student among Idaho districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to North Gem District in enrollment (124 to 155 students) and North Gem District itself.

Current spending per student, Idaho districts closest in size to North Gem District, FY23Salmon River Joint $25,557; Meadows Valley District $18,817; Chief Tahgee Elementary Academy Inc. $18,710; Bliss Joint District $18,168; North Gem District $17,717; Heritage Academy Inc. $15,800; Cambridge Joint District $15,566; Midvale District $14,067; Idaho College and Career Readiness Academy Inc. $13,099; Monticello Montessori Charter School Inc. $10,257; State median, under 1,000 students $11,696.5k10k15k20k25k30kSalmon River Joint$25,557Meadows Valley District$18,817Chief Tahgee Elementary Academ…$18,710Bliss Joint District$18,168North Gem District$17,717Heritage Academy Inc.$15,800Cambridge Joint District$15,566Midvale District$14,067Idaho College and Career Readi…$13,099Monticello Montessori Charter …$10,257State median, under 1,000 students $11,696
Current spending per student, Idaho districts closest in size to North Gem District, FY23Salmon River Joint $25,557; Meadows Valley District $18,817; Chief Tahgee Elementary Academy Inc. $18,710; Bliss Joint District $18,168; North Gem District $17,717; Heritage Academy Inc. $15,800; Cambridge Joint District $15,566; Midvale District $14,067; Idaho College and Career Readiness Academy Inc. $13,099; Monticello Montessori Charter School Inc. $10,257; State median, under 1,000 students $11,696.5k10k15k20k25k30kSalmon River Joint$25,557Meadows Valley District$18,817Chief Tahgee Elementary Academy Inc.$18,710Bliss Joint District$18,168North Gem District$17,717Heritage Academy Inc.$15,800Cambridge Joint District$15,566Midvale District$14,067Idaho College and Career Readiness …$13,099Monticello Montessori Charter Schoo…$10,257State median, under 1,000 students $11,696
Current spending per student, Idaho districts closest in size to North Gem District, FY23Salmon River Joint $25,557; Meadows Valley District $18,817; Chief Tahgee Elementary Academy Inc. $18,710; Bliss Joint District $18,168; North Gem District $17,717; Heritage Academy Inc. $15,800; Cambridge Joint District $15,566; Midvale District $14,067; Idaho College and Career Readiness Academy Inc. $13,099; Monticello Montessori Charter School Inc. $10,257; State median, under 1,000 students $11,696.5k15k25k30kSalmon River Joint$25,557Meadows Valley District$18,817Chief Tahgee Elementary Academy Inc.$18,710Bliss Joint District$18,168North Gem District$17,717Heritage Academy Inc.$15,800Cambridge Joint District$15,566Midvale District$14,067Idaho College and Career Readiness Academy…$13,099Monticello Montessori Charter School Inc.$10,257State median, under 1,000 students $11,696
Current spending per student, Idaho districts closest in size to North Gem District, FY23Salmon River Joint $25,557; Meadows Valley District $18,817; Chief Tahgee Elementary Academy Inc. $18,710; Bliss Joint District $18,168; North Gem District $17,717; Heritage Academy Inc. $15,800; Cambridge Joint District $15,566; Midvale District $14,067; Idaho College and Career Readiness Academy Inc. $13,099; Monticello Montessori Charter School Inc. $10,257; State median, under 1,000 students $11,696.5k15k25k30kSalmon River Joint$25,557Meadows Valley District$18,817Chief Tahgee Elementary Academy Inc.$18,710Bliss Joint District$18,168North Gem District$17,717Heritage Academy Inc.$15,800Cambridge Joint District$15,566Midvale District$14,067Idaho College and Career Readiness Acad…$13,099Monticello Montessori Charter School In…$10,257State median, under 1,000 students $11,696

Where the money came from

$2,917,000 in revenue: 66.4% state, 20.5% local and 13.1% federal. Total spending including $227,000 of capital outlay was $2,672,000, or $19,362 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

North Gem District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $1,938,000; Local $597,000; Federal $382,000; total $2,917,000.
  • State$1,938,000 66%
  • Local$597,000 20%
  • Federal$382,000 13%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 122 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

138 students in 2022-23, 133 students in 2023-24, 150 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

North Gem District enrollment by school year2022-23: 138, 2023-24: 133, 2024-25: 1500501001502022-231382023-241332024-25150
North Gem District enrollment by school year2022-23: 138, 2023-24: 133, 2024-25: 1500501001502022-231382023-241332024-25150
North Gem District enrollment by school year2022-23: 138, 2023-24: 133, 2024-25: 1500501001502022-231382023-241332024-25150
North Gem District enrollment by school year2022-23: 138, 2023-24: 133, 2024-25: 1500501001502022-231382023-241332024-25150

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2313815.29.1
2023-2413315.08.9
2024-2515015.010.0

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$975,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $7,065 per student

North Gem District booked $975,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 15 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $64,145 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 41 in 100 Idaho districts with a figure (state median $65,359, 168 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Idaho teacher salary at $54,232 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$806,00082.7%
Special education$99,00010.2%
Other programs$70,0007.2%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,088 in 2018-19, $5,250 in 2019-20, $6,007 in 2020-21, $7,176 in 2021-22, $7,065 in 2022-23.

North Gem District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,088, 2019-20: $5,250, 2020-21: $6,007, 2021-22: $7,176, 2022-23: $7,06502k4k6k8k2018-19$5,0882019-20$5,2502020-21$6,0072021-22$7,1762022-23$7,065
North Gem District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,088, 2019-20: $5,250, 2020-21: $6,007, 2021-22: $7,176, 2022-23: $7,06502k4k6k8k2018-19$5,0882019-20$5,2502020-21$6,0072021-22$7,1762022-23$7,065
North Gem District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,088, 2019-20: $5,250, 2020-21: $6,007, 2021-22: $7,176, 2022-23: $7,06502k4k6k8k2018-19$5,0882019-20$5,2502020-21$6,0072021-22$7,1762022-23$7,065
North Gem District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,088, 2019-20: $5,250, 2020-21: $6,007, 2021-22: $7,176, 2022-23: $7,06502k4k6k8k2018-19$5,0882019-20$5,2502020-21$6,0072021-22$7,1762022-23$7,065

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in North Gem District scored proficient or above: 60-69% in reading and 40-49% in math, against 54.8% in reading and 41.9% in math across Idaho. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Idaho, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIdahoStudents tested
Reading and language arts60-69%54.8%57
Math40-49%41.9%57

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

50% or more of the 10 students in North Gem District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.1% across Idaho. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtIdaho
Four-year graduation rate50% or more81.1%
Students in the class1025,525

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 82 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
North Gem Elementary8213.424.4%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 26 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
North Gem Middle School267.730.8%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 42 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
North Gem High School427.628.6%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact North Gem District

  • Phone: (208) 648-7848
  • Office: 360 South Main Street, Bancroft, ID 83217

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about North Gem District

  1. Idaho districts by spending per studentNorth Gem District ranks 22 of 122 Idaho districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($17,717).#22 of 122
  2. Every school district in IdahoNorth Gem District is the number 161 by size of 183 Idaho districts, with 138 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#161 of 183
  3. Salmon River Joint School DistrictThe next larger Idaho district: 140 students in fall 2022, $25,557 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$25,557
  4. Bliss Joint DistrictThe next smaller Idaho district: 125 students in fall 2022, $18,168 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,168
  5. Compare North Gem District with Salmon River Joint School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. North Gem High School, its largest high school42 students in 2024-25, 7.6 per teacher.42
  7. Teacher salary spending across IdahoNorth Gem District spent $64,145 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $65,359); spending, not a salary.$64,145
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about North Gem District

  1. How many schools and students are in North Gem District?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 150 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does North Gem District spend per student?
    $17,717 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Idaho median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $11,696 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $22,398 per student, up 26.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does North Gem District's money come from?
    $2,917,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 66.4% state, 20.5% local and 13.1% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in North Gem District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 37 of the 151 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 24.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does North Gem District spend on teacher salaries?
    $975,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $7,065 per student. Divided by the 15 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $64,145 per teacher, more than 41 in 100 Idaho districts (state median $65,359). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Idaho teacher salary at $54,232 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in North Gem District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in North Gem District scored proficient or above: 60-69% in reading and 40-49% in math, against 54.8% in reading and 41.9% in math across Idaho. Idaho's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in North Gem District?
    50% or more of the 10 students in North Gem District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.1% across Idaho. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is North Gem District's NCES district ID?
    1602430. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25