Nodaway-Holt R-Vii

Public school district · Nodaway County · Missouri · NCES district ID 2922560

Nodaway-Holt R-Vii spent $15,327 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 70% of the other Missouri districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $13,479). Its 2 schools enrolled 205 students in 2024-25; 21.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,668 per student, up 8.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80% or more (Missouri: 89.3%).

Spending per student among Missouri districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Nodaway-Holt R-Vii in enrollment (199 to 211 students) and Nodaway-Holt R-Vii itself.

Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Nodaway-Holt R-Vii, FY23Bell City R-II $18,357; Atlas Public Schools $17,161; Nodaway-Holt R-Vii $15,327; North Nodaway Co. R-Vi $15,214; Higbee R-VIII $13,379; Jamestown C-1 $13,309; Atlanta C-3 $13,025; Marion Co. R-II $12,967; Junction Hill C-12 $12,818; Cooter R-IV $12,722; State median, under 1,000 students $13,479.10k12k14k16k18k20kBell City R-II$18,357Atlas Public Schools$17,161Nodaway-Holt R-Vii$15,327North Nodaway Co. R-Vi$15,214Higbee R-VIII$13,379Jamestown C-1$13,309Atlanta C-3$13,025Marion Co. R-II$12,967Junction Hill C-12$12,818Cooter R-IV$12,722State median, under 1,000 students $13,479
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Nodaway-Holt R-Vii, FY23Bell City R-II $18,357; Atlas Public Schools $17,161; Nodaway-Holt R-Vii $15,327; North Nodaway Co. R-Vi $15,214; Higbee R-VIII $13,379; Jamestown C-1 $13,309; Atlanta C-3 $13,025; Marion Co. R-II $12,967; Junction Hill C-12 $12,818; Cooter R-IV $12,722; State median, under 1,000 students $13,479.10k12k14k16k18k20kBell City R-II$18,357Atlas Public Schools$17,161Nodaway-Holt R-Vii$15,327North Nodaway Co. R-Vi$15,214Higbee R-VIII$13,379Jamestown C-1$13,309Atlanta C-3$13,025Marion Co. R-II$12,967Junction Hill C-12$12,818Cooter R-IV$12,722State median, under 1,000 students $13,479
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Nodaway-Holt R-Vii, FY23Bell City R-II $18,357; Atlas Public Schools $17,161; Nodaway-Holt R-Vii $15,327; North Nodaway Co. R-Vi $15,214; Higbee R-VIII $13,379; Jamestown C-1 $13,309; Atlanta C-3 $13,025; Marion Co. R-II $12,967; Junction Hill C-12 $12,818; Cooter R-IV $12,722; State median, under 1,000 students $13,479.10k14k18k20kBell City R-II$18,357Atlas Public Schools$17,161Nodaway-Holt R-Vii$15,327North Nodaway Co. R-Vi$15,214Higbee R-VIII$13,379Jamestown C-1$13,309Atlanta C-3$13,025Marion Co. R-II$12,967Junction Hill C-12$12,818Cooter R-IV$12,722State median, under 1,000 students $13,479
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Nodaway-Holt R-Vii, FY23Bell City R-II $18,357; Atlas Public Schools $17,161; Nodaway-Holt R-Vii $15,327; North Nodaway Co. R-Vi $15,214; Higbee R-VIII $13,379; Jamestown C-1 $13,309; Atlanta C-3 $13,025; Marion Co. R-II $12,967; Junction Hill C-12 $12,818; Cooter R-IV $12,722; State median, under 1,000 students $13,479.10k14k18k20kBell City R-II$18,357Atlas Public Schools$17,161Nodaway-Holt R-Vii$15,327North Nodaway Co. R-Vi$15,214Higbee R-VIII$13,379Jamestown C-1$13,309Atlanta C-3$13,025Marion Co. R-II$12,967Junction Hill C-12$12,818Cooter R-IV$12,722State median, under 1,000 students $13,479

Where the money came from

$4,747,000 in revenue: 21.7% state, 66.3% local and 12.0% federal. Total spending including $177,000 of capital outlay was $3,371,000, or $16,444 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Nodaway-Holt R-Vii revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $1,030,000; Local $3,145,000; Federal $572,000; total $4,747,000.
  • State$1,030,000 22%
  • Local$3,145,000 66%
  • Federal$572,000 12%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 376 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

205 students in 2022-23, 196 students in 2023-24, 205 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Nodaway-Holt R-Vii enrollment by school year2022-23: 205, 2023-24: 196, 2024-25: 20501002003002022-232052023-241962024-25205
Nodaway-Holt R-Vii enrollment by school year2022-23: 205, 2023-24: 196, 2024-25: 20501002003002022-232052023-241962024-25205
Nodaway-Holt R-Vii enrollment by school year2022-23: 205, 2023-24: 196, 2024-25: 20501002003002022-232052023-241962024-25205
Nodaway-Holt R-Vii enrollment by school year2022-23: 205, 2023-24: 196, 2024-25: 20501002003002022-232052023-241962024-25205

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2320520.110.2
2023-2419620.19.8
2024-2520521.49.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$1,015,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,951 per student

Nodaway-Holt R-Vii booked $1,015,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 20 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $50,498 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 51 in 100 Missouri districts with a figure (state median $50,410, 484 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$647,00063.7%
Special education$120,00011.8%
Vocational$132,00013.0%
Other programs$116,00011.4%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,184 in 2018-19, $3,871 in 2019-20, $3,907 in 2020-21, $4,248 in 2021-22, $4,951 in 2022-23.

Nodaway-Holt R-Vii teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,184, 2019-20: $3,871, 2020-21: $3,907, 2021-22: $4,248, 2022-23: $4,95102k4k6k2018-19$4,1842019-20$3,8712020-21$3,9072021-22$4,2482022-23$4,951
Nodaway-Holt R-Vii teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,184, 2019-20: $3,871, 2020-21: $3,907, 2021-22: $4,248, 2022-23: $4,95102k4k6k2018-19$4,1842019-20$3,8712020-21$3,9072021-22$4,2482022-23$4,951
Nodaway-Holt R-Vii teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,184, 2019-20: $3,871, 2020-21: $3,907, 2021-22: $4,248, 2022-23: $4,95102k4k6k2018-19$4,1842019-20$3,8712020-21$3,9072021-22$4,2482022-23$4,951
Nodaway-Holt R-Vii teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,184, 2019-20: $3,871, 2020-21: $3,907, 2021-22: $4,248, 2022-23: $4,95102k4k6k2018-19$4,1842019-20$3,8712020-21$3,9072021-22$4,2482022-23$4,951

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Nodaway-Holt R-Vii scored proficient or above: 30-34% in reading and 35-39% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Missouri, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMissouriStudents tested
Reading and language arts30-34%43.2%111
Math35-39%39.2%106

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80% or more of the 21 students in Nodaway-Holt R-Vii's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMissouri
Four-year graduation rate80% or more89.3%
Students in the class2167,017

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 116 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Nodaway-Holt Elementary1169.833.6%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 89 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Nodaway-Holt MS/HS899.339.3%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Nodaway-Holt R-Vii

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Nodaway-Holt R-Vii

  1. Missouri districts by spending per studentNodaway-Holt R-Vii ranks 113 of 376 Missouri districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($15,327).#113 of 376
  2. Every school district in MissouriNodaway-Holt R-Vii is the number 433 by size of 558 Missouri districts, with 205 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#433 of 558
  3. Cooter R-IVThe next larger Missouri district: 209 students in fall 2022, $12,722 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,722
  4. Jamestown C-1 School DistrictThe next smaller Missouri district: 204 students in fall 2022, $13,309 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,309
  5. Compare Nodaway-Holt R-Vii with Cooter R-IVEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Nodaway-Holt MS/HS, its largest high school89 students in 2024-25, 9.3 per teacher.89
  7. Teacher salary spending across MissouriNodaway-Holt R-Vii spent $50,498 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,410); spending, not a salary.$50,498
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Nodaway-Holt R-Vii

  1. How many schools and students are in Nodaway-Holt R-Vii?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 205 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Nodaway-Holt R-Vii spend per student?
    $15,327 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Missouri median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,479 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,668 per student, up 8.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Nodaway-Holt R-Vii's money come from?
    $4,747,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 21.7% state, 66.3% local and 12.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Nodaway-Holt R-Vii live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 25 of the 205 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 12.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Nodaway-Holt R-Vii spend on teacher salaries?
    $1,015,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,951 per student. Divided by the 20 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $50,498 per teacher, more than 51 in 100 Missouri districts (state median $50,410). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Nodaway-Holt R-Vii do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Nodaway-Holt R-Vii scored proficient or above: 30-34% in reading and 35-39% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Missouri's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Nodaway-Holt R-Vii?
    80% or more of the 21 students in Nodaway-Holt R-Vii's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Nodaway-Holt R-Vii's NCES district ID?
    2922560. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25