McIntosh County

Public school district · McIntosh County · Georgia · NCES district ID 1303600

McIntosh County spent $16,059 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 87% of the other Georgia districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $13,981). Its 3 schools enrolled 1,394 students in 2024-25; 32.5% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,581 per student, up 3.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (Georgia: 84.4%).

Spending per student among Georgia districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to McIntosh County in enrollment (1,265 to 1,387 students) and McIntosh County itself.

Current spending per student, Georgia districts closest in size to McIntosh County, FY23Mitchell County $20,008; Wilkes County $16,070; McIntosh County $16,059; Seminole County Schools $15,125; Pulaski County $14,883; State Charter Schools- Dubois Integrity Academy $14,231; Marion County Schools $13,781; Pelham City Schools Charter System $13,718; Trion City $12,693; Chickamauga City $11,637; State median, 1,000+ students $13,981.10k15k20k25kMitchell County$20,008Wilkes County$16,070McIntosh County$16,059Seminole County Schools$15,125Pulaski County$14,883State Charter Schools- Dubois …$14,231Marion County Schools$13,781Pelham City Schools Charter Sy…$13,718Trion City$12,693Chickamauga City$11,637State median, 1,000+ students $13,981
Current spending per student, Georgia districts closest in size to McIntosh County, FY23Mitchell County $20,008; Wilkes County $16,070; McIntosh County $16,059; Seminole County Schools $15,125; Pulaski County $14,883; State Charter Schools- Dubois Integrity Academy $14,231; Marion County Schools $13,781; Pelham City Schools Charter System $13,718; Trion City $12,693; Chickamauga City $11,637; State median, 1,000+ students $13,981.10k15k20k25kMitchell County$20,008Wilkes County$16,070McIntosh County$16,059Seminole County Schools$15,125Pulaski County$14,883State Charter Schools- Dubois Integ…$14,231Marion County Schools$13,781Pelham City Schools Charter System$13,718Trion City$12,693Chickamauga City$11,637State median, 1,000+ students $13,981
Current spending per student, Georgia districts closest in size to McIntosh County, FY23Mitchell County $20,008; Wilkes County $16,070; McIntosh County $16,059; Seminole County Schools $15,125; Pulaski County $14,883; State Charter Schools- Dubois Integrity Academy $14,231; Marion County Schools $13,781; Pelham City Schools Charter System $13,718; Trion City $12,693; Chickamauga City $11,637; State median, 1,000+ students $13,981.10k15k20k25kMitchell County$20,008Wilkes County$16,070McIntosh County$16,059Seminole County Schools$15,125Pulaski County$14,883State Charter Schools- Dubois Integrity Aca…$14,231Marion County Schools$13,781Pelham City Schools Charter System$13,718Trion City$12,693Chickamauga City$11,637State median, 1,000+ students $13,981
Current spending per student, Georgia districts closest in size to McIntosh County, FY23Mitchell County $20,008; Wilkes County $16,070; McIntosh County $16,059; Seminole County Schools $15,125; Pulaski County $14,883; State Charter Schools- Dubois Integrity Academy $14,231; Marion County Schools $13,781; Pelham City Schools Charter System $13,718; Trion City $12,693; Chickamauga City $11,637; State median, 1,000+ students $13,981.10k15k20k25kMitchell County$20,008Wilkes County$16,070McIntosh County$16,059Seminole County Schools$15,125Pulaski County$14,883State Charter Schools- Dubois Integrity…$14,231Marion County Schools$13,781Pelham City Schools Charter System$13,718Trion City$12,693Chickamauga City$11,637State median, 1,000+ students $13,981

Where the money came from

$26,083,000 in revenue: 32.5% state, 47.5% local and 20.1% federal. Total spending including $1,791,000 of capital outlay was $23,743,000, or $17,812 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

McIntosh County revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $8,464,000; Local $12,383,000; Federal $5,236,000; total $26,083,000.
  • State$8,464,000 32%
  • Local$12,383,000 47%
  • Federal$5,236,000 20%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 169 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,333 students in 2022-23, 1,325 students in 2023-24, 1,394 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

McIntosh County enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,333, 2023-24: 1,325, 2024-25: 1,39405001k1.5k2022-231,3332023-241,3252024-251,394
McIntosh County enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,333, 2023-24: 1,325, 2024-25: 1,39405001k1.5k2022-231,3332023-241,3252024-251,394
McIntosh County enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,333, 2023-24: 1,325, 2024-25: 1,39405001k1.5k2022-231,3332023-241,3252024-251,394
McIntosh County enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,333, 2023-24: 1,325, 2024-25: 1,39405001k1.5k2022-231,3332023-241,3252024-251,394

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,33398.313.6
2023-241,32598.913.4
2024-251,394101.313.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$5,634,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,227 per student

McIntosh County booked $5,634,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 98 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $57,314 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 26 in 100 Georgia districts with a figure (state median $60,911, 215 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Georgia teacher salary at $61,249 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$4,227,00075.0%
Special education$790,00014.0%
Vocational$227,0004.0%
Other programs$390,0006.9%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,602 in 2018-19, $3,697 in 2019-20, $3,874 in 2020-21, $4,126 in 2021-22, $4,227 in 2022-23.

McIntosh County teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,602, 2019-20: $3,697, 2020-21: $3,874, 2021-22: $4,126, 2022-23: $4,22702k4k6k2018-19$3,6022019-20$3,6972020-21$3,8742021-22$4,1262022-23$4,227
McIntosh County teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,602, 2019-20: $3,697, 2020-21: $3,874, 2021-22: $4,126, 2022-23: $4,22702k4k6k2018-19$3,6022019-20$3,6972020-21$3,8742021-22$4,1262022-23$4,227
McIntosh County teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,602, 2019-20: $3,697, 2020-21: $3,874, 2021-22: $4,126, 2022-23: $4,22702k4k6k2018-19$3,6022019-20$3,6972020-21$3,8742021-22$4,1262022-23$4,227
McIntosh County teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,602, 2019-20: $3,697, 2020-21: $3,874, 2021-22: $4,126, 2022-23: $4,22702k4k6k2018-19$3,6022019-20$3,6972020-21$3,8742021-22$4,1262022-23$4,227

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in McIntosh County scored proficient or above: 37% in reading and 29% in math, against 39.6% in reading and 37.4% in math across Georgia. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Georgia, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtGeorgiaStudents tested
Reading and language arts37%39.6%644
Math29%37.4%691

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

95% or more of the 74 students in McIntosh County's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 84.4% across Georgia. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtGeorgia
Four-year graduation rate95% or more84.4%
Students in the class74134,822

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 694 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Todd Grant Elementary School69414.1100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 311 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
McIntosh County Middle School31113.4100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 389 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
McIntosh Academy38913.495.4%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact McIntosh County

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about McIntosh County

  1. Georgia districts by spending per studentMcIntosh County ranks 23 of 169 Georgia districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($16,059).#23 of 169
  2. Every school district in GeorgiaMcIntosh County is the number 148 by size of 227 Georgia districts, with 1,333 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#148 of 227
  3. Seminole County SchoolsThe next larger Georgia district: 1,340 students in fall 2022, $15,125 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,125
  4. Pulaski CountyThe next smaller Georgia district: 1,330 students in fall 2022, $14,883 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,883
  5. Compare McIntosh County with Seminole County SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. McIntosh Academy, its largest high school389 students in 2024-25, 13.4 per teacher.389
  7. Teacher salary spending across GeorgiaMcIntosh County spent $57,314 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $60,911); spending, not a salary.$57,314
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about McIntosh County

  1. How many schools and students are in McIntosh County?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,394 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does McIntosh County spend per student?
    $16,059 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Georgia median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,981 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,581 per student, up 3.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does McIntosh County's money come from?
    $26,083,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 32.5% state, 47.5% local and 20.1% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in McIntosh County live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 346 of the 1,301 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 26.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does McIntosh County spend on teacher salaries?
    $5,634,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,227 per student. Divided by the 98 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $57,314 per teacher, more than 26 in 100 Georgia districts (state median $60,911). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Georgia teacher salary at $61,249 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in McIntosh County do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in McIntosh County scored proficient or above: 37% in reading and 29% in math, against 39.6% in reading and 37.4% in math across Georgia. Georgia's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in McIntosh County?
    95% or more of the 74 students in McIntosh County's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 84.4% across Georgia. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is McIntosh County's NCES district ID?
    1303600. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25