Madison Local School District
Listed by NCES as Madison Local (district ID 3904945)
Public school district · Richland County · Ohio · NCES district ID 3904945
Madison Local School District spent $15,954 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 76% of the other Ohio districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $14,273). Its 6 schools enrolled 2,626 students in 2024-25; 48.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,831 per student, down 0.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (Ohio: 86.2%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Ohio districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Madison Local in enrollment (2,669 to 2,778 students) and Madison Local itself.
Where the money came from
$44,630,000 in revenue: 48.0% state, 36.3% local and 15.7% federal. Total spending including $1,313,000 of capital outlay was $48,052,000, or $17,601 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$21,415,000 48%
- Local$16,189,000 36%
- Federal$7,026,000 16%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 452 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
2,730 students in 2022-23, 2,661 students in 2023-24, 2,626 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 2,730 | 4.0 | 682.5 |
| 2023-24 | 2,661 | 201.8 | 13.2 |
| 2024-25 | 2,626 | 181.7 | 14.5 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Madison Local School District scored proficient or above: 56-60% in reading and 52-56% in math, against 59% in reading and 54% in math across Ohio. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Ohio, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | Ohio | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 56-60% | 59% | 1,188 |
| Math | 52-56% | 54% | 1,181 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
95% or more of the 186 students in Madison Local School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Ohio | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 95% or more | 86.2% |
| Students in the class | 186 | 132,008 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
3 elementary schools, 960 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Madison South Elementary School | 486 | 14.7 | 70.2% | Schoolwide program |
| Mifflin Elementary School | 256 | 13.5 | 46.9% | Schoolwide program |
| Eastview Elementary School | 218 | 15.6 | 63.8% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 761 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Madison Middle School | 761 | 13.6 | 61.0% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 855 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Madison High School | 855 | 15.1 | 44.3% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 other school, 50 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Madison Early Childhood Learning Center | 50 | 16.7 | not reported | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Madison Local School District
- Website: mlsd.net
- Phone: (419) 589-2600
- Office: 1379 Grace St, Mansfield, OH 44905
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Madison Local School District
- Ohio districts by spending per studentMadison Local School District ranks 108 of 452 Ohio districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($15,954).#108 of 452
- Every school district in OhioMadison Local School District is the number 156 by size of 999 Ohio districts, with 2,730 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#156 of 999
- Western Brown Local SchoolsThe next larger Ohio district: 2,739 students in fall 2022, $14,056 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,056
- Copley-Fairlawn City SchoolsThe next smaller Ohio district: 2,722 students in fall 2022, $16,352 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,352
- Compare Madison Local School District with Western Brown Local SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Madison High School, its largest high school855 students in 2024-25, 15.1 per teacher.855
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Madison Local School District
How many schools and students are in Madison Local School District?
6 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high, 1 other), enrolling 2,626 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Madison Local School District spend per student?
$15,954 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Ohio median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,273 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,831 per student, down 0.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Madison Local School District's money come from?
$44,630,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 48.0% state, 36.3% local and 15.7% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Madison Local School District live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 575 of the 3,319 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 17.3%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How do students in Madison Local School District do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Madison Local School District scored proficient or above: 56-60% in reading and 52-56% in math, against 59% in reading and 54% in math across Ohio. Ohio's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Madison Local School District?
95% or more of the 186 students in Madison Local School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Madison Local School District's NCES district ID?
3904945. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25