Lewistown Elementary

Public school district · Fergus County · Montana · NCES district ID 3016490

Lewistown Elementary spent $11,521 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 87% of the other Montana districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $16,778). Its 4 schools enrolled 815 students in 2024-25; 40.5% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,529 per student, up 8.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).

Spending per student among Montana districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Lewistown Elementary in enrollment (769 to 994 students) and Lewistown Elementary itself.

Current spending per student, Montana districts closest in size to Lewistown Elementary, FY23Huntley Project $15,530; Glendive Public Schools $14,702; Livingston Elementary $14,667; Glasgow K-12 Schools $13,532; Miles City Elementary $12,293; Sidney Elementary $12,008; Florence-Carlton School District 15-6 $11,908; Lewistown Elementary $11,521; Dillon Elementary $11,122; Belgrade High School $10,923; State median, under 1,000 students $16,778.7.5k10k12.5k15k17.5kHuntley Project$15,530Glendive Public Schools$14,702Livingston Elementary$14,667Glasgow K-12 Schools$13,532Miles City Elementary$12,293Sidney Elementary$12,008Florence-Carlton School Distri…$11,908Lewistown Elementary$11,521Dillon Elementary$11,122Belgrade High School$10,923State median, under 1,000 students $16,778
Current spending per student, Montana districts closest in size to Lewistown Elementary, FY23Huntley Project $15,530; Glendive Public Schools $14,702; Livingston Elementary $14,667; Glasgow K-12 Schools $13,532; Miles City Elementary $12,293; Sidney Elementary $12,008; Florence-Carlton School District 15-6 $11,908; Lewistown Elementary $11,521; Dillon Elementary $11,122; Belgrade High School $10,923; State median, under 1,000 students $16,778.7.5k10k12.5k15k17.5kHuntley Project$15,530Glendive Public Schools$14,702Livingston Elementary$14,667Glasgow K-12 Schools$13,532Miles City Elementary$12,293Sidney Elementary$12,008Florence-Carlton School District 15…$11,908Lewistown Elementary$11,521Dillon Elementary$11,122Belgrade High School$10,923State median, under 1,000 students $16,778
Current spending per student, Montana districts closest in size to Lewistown Elementary, FY23Huntley Project $15,530; Glendive Public Schools $14,702; Livingston Elementary $14,667; Glasgow K-12 Schools $13,532; Miles City Elementary $12,293; Sidney Elementary $12,008; Florence-Carlton School District 15-6 $11,908; Lewistown Elementary $11,521; Dillon Elementary $11,122; Belgrade High School $10,923; State median, under 1,000 students $16,778.7.5k12.5k17.5kHuntley Project$15,530Glendive Public Schools$14,702Livingston Elementary$14,667Glasgow K-12 Schools$13,532Miles City Elementary$12,293Sidney Elementary$12,008Florence-Carlton School District 15-6$11,908Lewistown Elementary$11,521Dillon Elementary$11,122Belgrade High School$10,923State median, under 1,000 students $16,778
Current spending per student, Montana districts closest in size to Lewistown Elementary, FY23Huntley Project $15,530; Glendive Public Schools $14,702; Livingston Elementary $14,667; Glasgow K-12 Schools $13,532; Miles City Elementary $12,293; Sidney Elementary $12,008; Florence-Carlton School District 15-6 $11,908; Lewistown Elementary $11,521; Dillon Elementary $11,122; Belgrade High School $10,923; State median, under 1,000 students $16,778.7.5k12.5k17.5kHuntley Project$15,530Glendive Public Schools$14,702Livingston Elementary$14,667Glasgow K-12 Schools$13,532Miles City Elementary$12,293Sidney Elementary$12,008Florence-Carlton School District 15-6$11,908Lewistown Elementary$11,521Dillon Elementary$11,122Belgrade High School$10,923State median, under 1,000 students $16,778

Where the money came from

$13,380,000 in revenue: 40.5% state, 48.4% local and 11.1% federal. Total spending including $14,469,000 of capital outlay was $26,014,000, or $29,295 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Lewistown Elementary revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $5,419,000; Local $6,473,000; Federal $1,488,000; total $13,380,000.
  • State$5,419,000 41%
  • Local$6,473,000 48%
  • Federal$1,488,000 11%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 361 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

888 students in 2022-23, 870 students in 2023-24, 815 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Lewistown Elementary enrollment by school year2022-23: 888, 2023-24: 870, 2024-25: 81502505007501k2022-238882023-248702024-25815
Lewistown Elementary enrollment by school year2022-23: 888, 2023-24: 870, 2024-25: 81502505007501k2022-238882023-248702024-25815
Lewistown Elementary enrollment by school year2022-23: 888, 2023-24: 870, 2024-25: 81502505007501k2022-238882023-248702024-25815
Lewistown Elementary enrollment by school year2022-23: 888, 2023-24: 870, 2024-25: 81502505007501k2022-238882023-248702024-25815

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2388863.414.0
2023-2487062.513.9
2024-2581559.313.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$3,698,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,164 per student

Lewistown Elementary booked $3,698,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 63 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $58,291 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 65 in 100 Montana districts with a figure (state median $53,321, 282 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Montana teacher salary at $53,628 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$3,245,00087.8%
Special education$453,00012.2%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,698 in 2018-19, $3,846 in 2019-20, $4,170 in 2020-21, $3,871 in 2021-22, $4,164 in 2022-23.

Lewistown Elementary teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,698, 2019-20: $3,846, 2020-21: $4,170, 2021-22: $3,871, 2022-23: $4,16402k4k6k2018-19$3,6982019-20$3,8462020-21$4,1702021-22$3,8712022-23$4,164
Lewistown Elementary teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,698, 2019-20: $3,846, 2020-21: $4,170, 2021-22: $3,871, 2022-23: $4,16402k4k6k2018-19$3,6982019-20$3,8462020-21$4,1702021-22$3,8712022-23$4,164
Lewistown Elementary teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,698, 2019-20: $3,846, 2020-21: $4,170, 2021-22: $3,871, 2022-23: $4,16402k4k6k2018-19$3,6982019-20$3,8462020-21$4,1702021-22$3,8712022-23$4,164
Lewistown Elementary teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,698, 2019-20: $3,846, 2020-21: $4,170, 2021-22: $3,871, 2022-23: $4,16402k4k6k2018-19$3,6982019-20$3,8462020-21$4,1702021-22$3,8712022-23$4,164

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Lewistown Elementary scored proficient or above: 49% in reading and 40% in math, against 45.7% in reading and 35.2% in math across Montana. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Montana, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMontanaStudents tested
Reading and language arts49%45.7%572
Math40%35.2%571

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

2 elementary schools, 341 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Garfield School18212.138.5%Schoolwide program
Highland Park School15912.739.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 middle schools, 474 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Lewis & Clark School27616.139.1%Schoolwide program
Lewistown 7-819813.538.4%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Lewistown Elementary

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Lewistown Elementary

  1. Montana districts by spending per studentLewistown Elementary ranks 316 of 361 Montana districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($11,521).#316 of 361
  2. Every school district in MontanaLewistown Elementary is the number 33 by size of 398 Montana districts, with 888 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#33 of 398
  3. Miles City ElementaryThe next larger Montana district: 953 students in fall 2022, $12,293 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,293
  4. Sidney ElementaryThe next smaller Montana district: 856 students in fall 2022, $12,008 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,008
  5. Compare Lewistown Elementary with Miles City ElementaryEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Teacher salary spending across MontanaLewistown Elementary spent $58,291 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $53,321); spending, not a salary.$58,291
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Lewistown Elementary

  1. How many schools and students are in Lewistown Elementary?
    4 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 2 middle), enrolling 815 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Lewistown Elementary spend per student?
    $11,521 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Montana median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,778 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,529 per student, up 8.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Lewistown Elementary's money come from?
    $13,380,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 40.5% state, 48.4% local and 11.1% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Lewistown Elementary live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 121 of the 830 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 14.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Lewistown Elementary spend on teacher salaries?
    $3,698,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,164 per student. Divided by the 63 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $58,291 per teacher, more than 65 in 100 Montana districts (state median $53,321). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Montana teacher salary at $53,628 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Lewistown Elementary do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Lewistown Elementary scored proficient or above: 49% in reading and 40% in math, against 45.7% in reading and 35.2% in math across Montana. Montana's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is Lewistown Elementary's NCES district ID?
    3016490. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25