Hysham K-12 Schools
Public school district · Treasure County · Montana · NCES district ID 3014760
Hysham K-12 Schools spent $22,304 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 73% of the other Montana districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $16,778). Its 3 schools enrolled 92 students in 2024-25; 35.9% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $21,271 per student, down 4.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Montana districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Hysham K-12 Schools in enrollment (73 to 84 students) and Hysham K-12 Schools itself.
Where the money came from
$1,745,000 in revenue: 35.9% state, 59.7% local and 4.4% federal. Total spending including $25,000 of capital outlay was $1,825,000, or $23,101 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$627,000 36%
- Local$1,042,000 60%
- Federal$76,000 4%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 361 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25
79 students in 2022-23, 85 students in 2023-24, 92 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 79 | 12.0 | 6.6 |
| 2023-24 | 85 | 11.3 | 7.5 |
| 2024-25 | 92 | 11.0 | 8.3 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Hysham K-12 Schools scored proficient or above: 40-59% in reading and 21-39% in math, against 45.7% in reading and 35.2% in math across Montana. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Montana, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Montana | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 40-59% | 45.7% | 30 |
| Math | 21-39% | 35.2% | 30 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
1 elementary school, 53 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hysham School | 53 | 9.5 | 22.6% | Targeted program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 11 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hysham 7-8 | 11 | 8.3 | 63.6% | Targeted program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 28 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hysham High School | 28 | 6.8 | 28.6% | Targeted program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Hysham K-12 Schools
- Phone: (406) 342-5237
- Office: 115 Summit Street, Hysham, MT 59038
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Hysham K-12 Schools
- Montana districts by spending per studentHysham K-12 Schools ranks 100 of 361 Montana districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($22,304).#100 of 361
- Every school district in MontanaHysham K-12 Schools is the number 237 by size of 398 Montana districts, with 79 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#237 of 398
- Ekalaka ElementaryThe next larger Montana district: 81 students in fall 2022, $20,864 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$20,864
- West Glacier ElementaryThe next smaller Montana district: 77 students in fall 2022, $10,403 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,403
- Compare Hysham K-12 Schools with Ekalaka ElementaryEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Hysham High School, its largest high school28 students in 2024-25, 6.8 per teacher.28
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Hysham K-12 Schools
How many schools and students are in Hysham K-12 Schools?
3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 92 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Hysham K-12 Schools spend per student?
$22,304 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Montana median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,778 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $21,271 per student, down 4.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Hysham K-12 Schools' money come from?
$1,745,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 35.9% state, 59.7% local and 4.4% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Hysham K-12 Schools live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 24 of the 137 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 17.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How do students in Hysham K-12 Schools do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Hysham K-12 Schools scored proficient or above: 40-59% in reading and 21-39% in math, against 45.7% in reading and 35.2% in math across Montana. Montana's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is Hysham K-12 Schools' NCES district ID?
3014760. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25