Houston North District

Listed by NCES as Harmony Public Schools - Houston North (district ID 4800274)

Public school district · Harris County · Texas · NCES district ID 4800274

Houston North District spent $11,690 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 62% of the other Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $12,244). Its 10 schools enrolled 7,571 students in 2024-25; 78.3% of its revenue came from the state. Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 99% or more (Texas: 90.3%).

Spending per student among Texas districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Houston North District in enrollment (6,443 to 7,032 students) and Houston North District itself.

Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Houston North District, FY23Galveston ISD $13,846; Angleton ISD $12,378; Highland Park Independent School Dist $12,216; Houston North District $11,690; Lancaster ISD $11,574; Lockhart ISD $11,451; Cedar Hill ISD $11,107; White Settlement ISD $10,991; Red Oak ISD $10,825; Crosby ISD $10,074; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k10k12k14k16kGalveston ISD$13,846Angleton ISD$12,378Highland Park Independent Scho…$12,216Houston North District$11,690Lancaster ISD$11,574Lockhart ISD$11,451Cedar Hill ISD$11,107White Settlement ISD$10,991Red Oak ISD$10,825Crosby ISD$10,074State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Houston North District, FY23Galveston ISD $13,846; Angleton ISD $12,378; Highland Park Independent School Dist $12,216; Houston North District $11,690; Lancaster ISD $11,574; Lockhart ISD $11,451; Cedar Hill ISD $11,107; White Settlement ISD $10,991; Red Oak ISD $10,825; Crosby ISD $10,074; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k10k12k14k16kGalveston ISD$13,846Angleton ISD$12,378Highland Park Independent School Di…$12,216Houston North District$11,690Lancaster ISD$11,574Lockhart ISD$11,451Cedar Hill ISD$11,107White Settlement ISD$10,991Red Oak ISD$10,825Crosby ISD$10,074State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Houston North District, FY23Galveston ISD $13,846; Angleton ISD $12,378; Highland Park Independent School Dist $12,216; Houston North District $11,690; Lancaster ISD $11,574; Lockhart ISD $11,451; Cedar Hill ISD $11,107; White Settlement ISD $10,991; Red Oak ISD $10,825; Crosby ISD $10,074; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k12k16kGalveston ISD$13,846Angleton ISD$12,378Highland Park Independent School Dist$12,216Houston North District$11,690Lancaster ISD$11,574Lockhart ISD$11,451Cedar Hill ISD$11,107White Settlement ISD$10,991Red Oak ISD$10,825Crosby ISD$10,074State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Houston North District, FY23Galveston ISD $13,846; Angleton ISD $12,378; Highland Park Independent School Dist $12,216; Houston North District $11,690; Lancaster ISD $11,574; Lockhart ISD $11,451; Cedar Hill ISD $11,107; White Settlement ISD $10,991; Red Oak ISD $10,825; Crosby ISD $10,074; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k12k16kGalveston ISD$13,846Angleton ISD$12,378Highland Park Independent School Dist$12,216Houston North District$11,690Lancaster ISD$11,574Lockhart ISD$11,451Cedar Hill ISD$11,107White Settlement ISD$10,991Red Oak ISD$10,825Crosby ISD$10,074State median, 1,000+ students $12,244

Where the money came from

$92,481,000 in revenue: 78.3% state, 4.3% local and 17.4% federal. Total spending was $78,684,000, or $11,690 per student; the district reported no capital outlay that year.

Houston North District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $72,436,000; Local $3,997,000; Federal $16,048,000; total $92,481,000.
  • State$72,436,000 78%
  • Local$3,997,000 4%
  • Federal$16,048,000 17%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 577 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

6,731 students in 2022-23, 7,107 students in 2023-24, 7,571 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Houston North District enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,731, 2023-24: 7,107, 2024-25: 7,57102k4k6k8k2022-236,7312023-247,1072024-257,571
Houston North District enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,731, 2023-24: 7,107, 2024-25: 7,57102k4k6k8k2022-236,7312023-247,1072024-257,571
Houston North District enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,731, 2023-24: 7,107, 2024-25: 7,57102k4k6k8k2022-236,7312023-247,1072024-257,571
Houston North District enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,731, 2023-24: 7,107, 2024-25: 7,57102k4k6k8k2022-236,7312023-247,1072024-257,571

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-236,731454.914.8
2023-247,107440.316.1
2024-257,571462.416.4

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$16,819,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $2,499 per student

Houston North District booked $16,819,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 455 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $36,974 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 4 in 100 Texas districts with a figure (state median $50,660, 1,054 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$12,634,00075.1%
Special education$2,237,00013.3%
Vocational$88,0000.5%
Other programs$1,860,00011.1%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,563 in 2018-19, $2,985 in 2019-20, $2,635 in 2020-21, $3,086 in 2021-22, $2,499 in 2022-23.

Houston North District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,563, 2019-20: $2,985, 2020-21: $2,635, 2021-22: $3,086, 2022-23: $2,49901k2k3k4k2018-19$2,5632019-20$2,9852020-21$2,6352021-22$3,0862022-23$2,499
Houston North District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,563, 2019-20: $2,985, 2020-21: $2,635, 2021-22: $3,086, 2022-23: $2,49901k2k3k4k2018-19$2,5632019-20$2,9852020-21$2,6352021-22$3,0862022-23$2,499
Houston North District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,563, 2019-20: $2,985, 2020-21: $2,635, 2021-22: $3,086, 2022-23: $2,49901k2k3k4k2018-19$2,5632019-20$2,9852020-21$2,6352021-22$3,0862022-23$2,499
Houston North District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,563, 2019-20: $2,985, 2020-21: $2,635, 2021-22: $3,086, 2022-23: $2,49901k2k3k4k2018-19$2,5632019-20$2,9852020-21$2,6352021-22$3,0862022-23$2,499

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Houston North District scored proficient or above: 54% in reading and 46% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Texas, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtTexasStudents tested
Reading and language arts54%52%3,166
Math46%42%3,169

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

99% or more of the 211 students in Houston North District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtTexas
Four-year graduation rate99% or more90.3%
Students in the class211403,301

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

7 elementary schools, 5,258 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Harmony School of Excellence-Houston1,16516.352.0%Schoolwide program
Harmony School of Excellence - Katy1,12318.044.1%Not reported
Harmony School of Achievement - Houston69418.457.2%Schoolwide program
Harmony School of Enrichment - Houston66416.775.9%Schoolwide program
Harmony Science Academy - Cypress65616.056.6%Schoolwide program
Harmony School of Endeavor-Houston56114.986.8%Schoolwide program
Harmony Science Academy - Bryan39512.583.8%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 703 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Harmony School of Technology-Houston70317.070.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 high schools, 1,610 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Harmony School of Discovery - Houston85815.859.1%Schoolwide program
Harmony School of Advancement-Houston75216.861.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Houston North District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Houston North District

  1. Texas districts by spending per studentHouston North District ranks 357 of 577 Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($11,690).#357 of 577
  2. Every school district in TexasHouston North District is the number 168 by size of 1,212 Texas districts, with 6,731 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#168 of 1,212
  3. Cedar Hill ISDThe next larger Texas district: 6,920 students in fall 2022, $11,107 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,107
  4. Crosby ISDThe next smaller Texas district: 6,717 students in fall 2022, $10,074 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,074
  5. Compare Houston North District with Cedar Hill ISDEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Harmony School of Discovery - Houston, its largest high school858 students in 2024-25, 15.8 per teacher.858
  7. Teacher salary spending across TexasHouston North District spent $36,974 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,660); spending, not a salary.$36,974
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Houston North District

  1. How many schools and students are in Houston North District?
    10 schools were open in 2024-25 (7 elementary, 1 middle, 2 high), enrolling 7,571 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Houston North District spend per student?
    $11,690 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Texas median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,244 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.
  3. Where does Houston North District's money come from?
    $92,481,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 78.3% state, 4.3% local and 17.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How much does Houston North District spend on teacher salaries?
    $16,819,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $2,499 per student. Divided by the 455 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $36,974 per teacher, more than 4 in 100 Texas districts (state median $50,660). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  5. How do students in Houston North District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Houston North District scored proficient or above: 54% in reading and 46% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Texas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is the graduation rate in Houston North District?
    99% or more of the 211 students in Houston North District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Houston North District's NCES district ID?
    4800274. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25