Groton-Dunstable Regional School District
Listed by NCES as Groton-Dunstable (district ID 2505500)
Public school district · Middlesex County · Massachusetts · NCES district ID 2505500
Groton-Dunstable Regional School District spent $21,526 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 52% of the other Massachusetts districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $21,173). Its 5 schools enrolled 2,300 students in 2024-25; 31.9% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,002 per student, up 6.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (Massachusetts: 89.2%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Massachusetts districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Groton-Dunstable Regional in enrollment (2,295 to 2,479 students) and Groton-Dunstable Regional itself.
Where the money came from
$57,621,000 in revenue: 31.9% state, 62.8% local and 5.3% federal. Total spending including $222,000 of capital outlay was $54,861,000, or $23,138 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$18,371,000 32%
- Local$36,207,000 63%
- Federal$3,043,000 5%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 243 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
2,351 students in 2022-23, 2,305 students in 2023-24, 2,300 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 2,351 | 184.8 | 12.7 |
| 2023-24 | 2,305 | 184.7 | 12.5 |
| 2024-25 | 2,300 | 170.8 | 13.5 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$15,314,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $6,459 per student
Groton-Dunstable Regional School District booked $15,314,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 185 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $82,859 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 48 in 100 Massachusetts districts with a figure (state median $83,840, 276 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Massachusetts teacher salary at $88,903 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $12,530,000 | 81.8% |
| Special education | $2,784,000 | 18.2% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $6,203 in 2018-19, $6,557 in 2019-20, $7,010 in 2020-21, $6,528 in 2021-22, $6,459 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Groton-Dunstable Regional School District scored proficient or above: 63% in reading and 63% in math, against 43.7% in reading and 40.7% in math across Massachusetts. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Massachusetts, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Massachusetts | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 63% | 43.7% | 1,261 |
| Math | 63% | 40.7% | 1,257 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
95% or more of the 171 students in Groton-Dunstable Regional School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.2% across Massachusetts. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Massachusetts | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 95% or more | 89.2% |
| Students in the class | 171 | 72,602 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
2 elementary schools, 825 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Florence Roche School | 615 | 13.9 | not reported | Targeted program |
| Swallow/Union School | 210 | 13.0 | not reported | Targeted program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 739 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Groton Dunstable Regional Middle | 739 | 12.9 | not reported | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 659 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Groton Dunstable Regional | 659 | 13.7 | not reported | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 other school, 77 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Boutwell School | 77 | 15.4 | not reported | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Groton-Dunstable Regional School District
- Website: gdrsd.org
- Phone: (978) 448-5505
- Office: 344 Main Street, Groton, MA 01450
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Groton-Dunstable Regional School District
- Massachusetts districts by spending per studentGroton-Dunstable Regional School District ranks 116 of 243 Massachusetts districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($21,526).#116 of 243
- Every school district in MassachusettsGroton-Dunstable Regional School District is the number 120 by size of 397 Massachusetts districts, with 2,371 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#120 of 397
- North ReadingThe next larger Massachusetts district: 2,383 students in fall 2022, $21,284 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$21,284
- Hudson Public SchoolsThe next smaller Massachusetts district: 2,357 students in fall 2022, $24,343 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$24,343
- Compare Groton-Dunstable Regional School District with North ReadingEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Groton Dunstable Regional, its largest high school659 students in 2024-25, 13.7 per teacher.659
- Teacher salary spending across MassachusettsGroton-Dunstable Regional School District spent $82,859 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $83,840); spending, not a salary.$82,859
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Groton-Dunstable Regional School District
How many schools and students are in Groton-Dunstable Regional School District?
5 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high, 1 other), enrolling 2,300 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Groton-Dunstable Regional School District spend per student?
$21,526 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Massachusetts median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $21,173 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,002 per student, up 6.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Groton-Dunstable Regional School District's money come from?
$57,621,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 31.9% state, 62.8% local and 5.3% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Groton-Dunstable Regional School District live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 61 of the 2,918 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 2.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Groton-Dunstable Regional School District spend on teacher salaries?
$15,314,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $6,459 per student. Divided by the 185 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $82,859 per teacher, more than 48 in 100 Massachusetts districts (state median $83,840). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Massachusetts teacher salary at $88,903 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Groton-Dunstable Regional School District do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Groton-Dunstable Regional School District scored proficient or above: 63% in reading and 63% in math, against 43.7% in reading and 40.7% in math across Massachusetts. Massachusetts's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Groton-Dunstable Regional School District?
95% or more of the 171 students in Groton-Dunstable Regional School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.2% across Massachusetts. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Groton-Dunstable Regional School District's NCES district ID?
2505500. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25