Gasconade Co. R-II
Public school district · Gasconade County · Missouri · NCES district ID 2923340
Gasconade Co. R-II spent $10,268 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 91% of the other Missouri districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $11,885). Its 4 schools enrolled 1,771 students in 2024-25; 36.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $10,380 per student, up 1.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (Missouri: 89.3%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Missouri districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Gasconade Co. R-II in enrollment (1,769 to 1,888 students) and Gasconade Co. R-II itself.
Where the money came from
$23,376,000 in revenue: 36.6% state, 56.0% local and 7.4% federal. Total spending including $1,327,000 of capital outlay was $20,722,000, or $11,648 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$8,554,000 37%
- Local$13,100,000 56%
- Federal$1,722,000 7%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 176 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25
1,779 students in 2022-23, 1,823 students in 2023-24, 1,771 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 1,779 | 124.8 | 14.3 |
| 2023-24 | 1,823 | 129.1 | 14.1 |
| 2024-25 | 1,771 | 123.4 | 14.4 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$6,022,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,385 per student
Gasconade Co. R-II booked $6,022,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 125 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $48,253 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 35 in 100 Missouri districts with a figure (state median $50,410, 484 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $4,310,000 | 71.6% |
| Special education | $817,000 | 13.6% |
| Vocational | $279,000 | 4.6% |
| Other programs | $616,000 | 10.2% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,067 in 2018-19, $2,989 in 2019-20, $3,031 in 2020-21, $2,999 in 2021-22, $3,385 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Gasconade Co. R-II scored proficient or above: 39% in reading and 39% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Missouri, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Missouri | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 39% | 43.2% | 947 |
| Math | 39% | 39.2% | 845 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
90-94% of the 104 students in Gasconade Co. R-II's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Missouri | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 90‑94% | 89.3% |
| Students in the class | 104 | 67,017 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
2 elementary schools, 822 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Owensville Elementary | 539 | 14.2 | 36.9% | Schoolwide program |
| Gerald Elementary | 283 | 11.4 | 40.6% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 408 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Owensville Middle | 408 | 16.4 | 44.1% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 541 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Owensville High | 541 | 15.1 | 34.0% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Gasconade Co. R-II
- Website: dutchmen.us
- Phone: (573) 646-1015
- Office: 402 E Lincoln, Owensville, MO 65066
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Gasconade Co. R-II
- Missouri districts by spending per studentGasconade Co. R-II ranks 160 of 176 Missouri districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($10,268).#160 of 176
- Every school district in MissouriGasconade Co. R-II is the number 122 by size of 558 Missouri districts, with 1,779 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#122 of 558
- Dallas Co. R-IThe next larger Missouri district: 1,782 students in fall 2022, $11,875 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,875
- Wright City R-II School DistrictThe next smaller Missouri district: 1,769 students in fall 2022, $12,538 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,538
- Compare Gasconade Co. R-II with Dallas Co. R-IEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Owensville High, its largest high school541 students in 2024-25, 15.1 per teacher.541
- Teacher salary spending across MissouriGasconade Co. R-II spent $48,253 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,410); spending, not a salary.$48,253
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Gasconade Co. R-II
How many schools and students are in Gasconade Co. R-II?
4 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,771 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Gasconade Co. R-II spend per student?
$10,268 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Missouri median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $11,885 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $10,380 per student, up 1.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Gasconade Co. R-II's money come from?
$23,376,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 36.6% state, 56.0% local and 7.4% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Gasconade Co. R-II live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 264 of the 1,913 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 13.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Gasconade Co. R-II spend on teacher salaries?
$6,022,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,385 per student. Divided by the 125 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $48,253 per teacher, more than 35 in 100 Missouri districts (state median $50,410). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Gasconade Co. R-II do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Gasconade Co. R-II scored proficient or above: 39% in reading and 39% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Missouri's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Gasconade Co. R-II?
90-94% of the 104 students in Gasconade Co. R-II's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Gasconade Co. R-II's NCES district ID?
2923340. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25