Fremont County School District #21

Public school district · Fremont County · Wyoming · NCES district ID 5602820

Fremont County School District #21 spent $48,705 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, the most of the 24 Wyoming districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $24,230). Its 3 schools enrolled 413 students in 2024-25; 47.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $50,748 per student, up 4.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 50-59% (Wyoming: 81.4%).

Spending per student among Wyoming districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Fremont County School District #21 in enrollment (211 to 598 students) and Fremont County School District #21 itself.

Current spending per student, Wyoming districts closest in size to Fremont County School District #21, FY23Fremont County School District #21 $48,705; Fremont County School District #38 $43,742; Fremont County School District #14 $39,111; Platte County School District #2 $38,915; Big Horn County School District #4 $31,115; Fremont County School District # 6 $26,021; Fremont County School District #24 $24,768; Sublette County School District #9 $23,692; Big Horn County School District #3 $22,627; Lincoln County School District #1 $20,333; State median, under 1,000 students $24,230.10k20k30k40k50kFremont County School District…$48,705Fremont County School District…$43,742Fremont County School District…$39,111Platte County School District …$38,915Big Horn County School Distric…$31,115Fremont County School District…$26,021Fremont County School District…$24,768Sublette County School Distric…$23,692Big Horn County School Distric…$22,627Lincoln County School District…$20,333State median, under 1,000 students $24,230
Current spending per student, Wyoming districts closest in size to Fremont County School District #21, FY23Fremont County School District #21 $48,705; Fremont County School District #38 $43,742; Fremont County School District #14 $39,111; Platte County School District #2 $38,915; Big Horn County School District #4 $31,115; Fremont County School District # 6 $26,021; Fremont County School District #24 $24,768; Sublette County School District #9 $23,692; Big Horn County School District #3 $22,627; Lincoln County School District #1 $20,333; State median, under 1,000 students $24,230.10k20k30k40k50kFremont County School District #21$48,705Fremont County School District #38$43,742Fremont County School District #14$39,111Platte County School District #2$38,915Big Horn County School District #4$31,115Fremont County School District # 6$26,021Fremont County School District #24$24,768Sublette County School District #9$23,692Big Horn County School District #3$22,627Lincoln County School District #1$20,333State median, under 1,000 students $24,230
Current spending per student, Wyoming districts closest in size to Fremont County School District #21, FY23Fremont County School District #21 $48,705; Fremont County School District #38 $43,742; Fremont County School District #14 $39,111; Platte County School District #2 $38,915; Big Horn County School District #4 $31,115; Fremont County School District # 6 $26,021; Fremont County School District #24 $24,768; Sublette County School District #9 $23,692; Big Horn County School District #3 $22,627; Lincoln County School District #1 $20,333; State median, under 1,000 students $24,230.10k30k50kFremont County School District #21$48,705Fremont County School District #38$43,742Fremont County School District #14$39,111Platte County School District #2$38,915Big Horn County School District #4$31,115Fremont County School District # 6$26,021Fremont County School District #24$24,768Sublette County School District #9$23,692Big Horn County School District #3$22,627Lincoln County School District #1$20,333State median, under 1,000 students $24,230
Current spending per student, Wyoming districts closest in size to Fremont County School District #21, FY23Fremont County School District #21 $48,705; Fremont County School District #38 $43,742; Fremont County School District #14 $39,111; Platte County School District #2 $38,915; Big Horn County School District #4 $31,115; Fremont County School District # 6 $26,021; Fremont County School District #24 $24,768; Sublette County School District #9 $23,692; Big Horn County School District #3 $22,627; Lincoln County School District #1 $20,333; State median, under 1,000 students $24,230.10k30k50kFremont County School District #21$48,705Fremont County School District #38$43,742Fremont County School District #14$39,111Platte County School District #2$38,915Big Horn County School District #4$31,115Fremont County School District # 6$26,021Fremont County School District #24$24,768Sublette County School District #9$23,692Big Horn County School District #3$22,627Lincoln County School District #1$20,333State median, under 1,000 students $24,230

Where the money came from

$20,878,000 in revenue: 47.6% state, 6.2% local and 46.3% federal. Total spending including $1,990,000 of capital outlay was $21,511,000, or $54,321 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Fremont County School District #21 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $9,932,000; Local $1,285,000; Federal $9,661,000; total $20,878,000.
  • State$9,932,000 48%
  • Local$1,285,000 6%
  • Federal$9,661,000 46%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 24 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

396 students in 2022-23, 409 students in 2023-24, 413 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Fremont County School District #21 enrollment by school year2022-23: 396, 2023-24: 409, 2024-25: 41302004006002022-233962023-244092024-25413
Fremont County School District #21 enrollment by school year2022-23: 396, 2023-24: 409, 2024-25: 41302004006002022-233962023-244092024-25413
Fremont County School District #21 enrollment by school year2022-23: 396, 2023-24: 409, 2024-25: 41302004006002022-233962023-244092024-25413
Fremont County School District #21 enrollment by school year2022-23: 396, 2023-24: 409, 2024-25: 41302004006002022-233962023-244092024-25413

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2339652.07.6
2023-2440960.06.8
2024-2541359.07.0

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Fremont County School District #21 scored proficient or above: 14% in reading and 5% in math, against 53.1% in reading and 48.3% in math across Wyoming. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Wyoming, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtWyomingStudents tested
Reading and language arts14%53.1%260
Math5%48.3%260

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

50-59% of the 32 students in Fremont County School District #21's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.4% across Wyoming. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtWyoming
Four-year graduation rate50‑59%81.4%
Students in the class327,475

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 255 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Ft. Washakie Elementary2557.192.5%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 67 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Ft. Washakie Middle School676.7100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 91 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Ft. Washakie High School917.0100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Fremont County School District #21

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Fremont County School District #21

  1. Wyoming districts by spending per studentFremont County School District #21 ranks 1 of 24 Wyoming districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($48,705).#1 of 24
  2. Every school district in WyomingFremont County School District #21 is the number 40 by size of 56 Wyoming districts, with 396 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#40 of 56
  3. Fremont County School District #38The next larger Wyoming district: 423 students in fall 2022, $43,742 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$43,742
  4. Fremont County School District #24The next smaller Wyoming district: 384 students in fall 2022, $24,768 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$24,768
  5. Compare Fremont County School District #21 with Fremont County School District #38Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Ft. Washakie High School, its largest high school91 students in 2024-25, 7.0 per teacher.91
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Fremont County School District #21

  1. How many schools and students are in Fremont County School District #21?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 413 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Fremont County School District #21 spend per student?
    $48,705 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Wyoming median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $24,230 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $50,748 per student, up 4.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Fremont County School District #21's money come from?
    $20,878,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 47.6% state, 6.2% local and 46.3% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Fremont County School District #21 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 138 of the 514 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 26.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How do students in Fremont County School District #21 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Fremont County School District #21 scored proficient or above: 14% in reading and 5% in math, against 53.1% in reading and 48.3% in math across Wyoming. Wyoming's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is the graduation rate in Fremont County School District #21?
    50-59% of the 32 students in Fremont County School District #21's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.4% across Wyoming. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Fremont County School District #21's NCES district ID?
    5602820. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25