Escondido Union High

Public school district · San Diego County · California · NCES district ID 0612910

Escondido Union High spent $19,224 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 78% of the other California districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $16,855). Its 5 schools enrolled 6,324 students in 2024-25; 51.2% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $21,430 per student, up 11.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 86% (California: 86.2%).

Spending per student among California districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Escondido Union High in enrollment (6,716 to 7,084 students) and Escondido Union High itself.

Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Escondido Union High, FY23El Monte City $24,829; Azusa Unified $20,674; Escondido Union High $19,224; Culver City Unified $16,956; Ocean View $16,553; Petaluma City Elementary/Joint Union High $16,390; River Springs Charter District $15,068; El Dorado Union High $14,669; Blue Ridge Academy $12,591; Highlands Community Charter District $10,008; State median, 1,000+ students $16,855.5k10k15k20k25k30kEl Monte City$24,829Azusa Unified$20,674Escondido Union High$19,224Culver City Unified$16,956Ocean View$16,553Petaluma City Elementary/Joint…$16,390River Springs Charter District$15,068El Dorado Union High$14,669Blue Ridge Academy$12,591Highlands Community Charter Di…$10,008State median, 1,000+ students $16,855
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Escondido Union High, FY23El Monte City $24,829; Azusa Unified $20,674; Escondido Union High $19,224; Culver City Unified $16,956; Ocean View $16,553; Petaluma City Elementary/Joint Union High $16,390; River Springs Charter District $15,068; El Dorado Union High $14,669; Blue Ridge Academy $12,591; Highlands Community Charter District $10,008; State median, 1,000+ students $16,855.5k10k15k20k25k30kEl Monte City$24,829Azusa Unified$20,674Escondido Union High$19,224Culver City Unified$16,956Ocean View$16,553Petaluma City Elementary/Joint Unio…$16,390River Springs Charter District$15,068El Dorado Union High$14,669Blue Ridge Academy$12,591Highlands Community Charter District$10,008State median, 1,000+ students $16,855
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Escondido Union High, FY23El Monte City $24,829; Azusa Unified $20,674; Escondido Union High $19,224; Culver City Unified $16,956; Ocean View $16,553; Petaluma City Elementary/Joint Union High $16,390; River Springs Charter District $15,068; El Dorado Union High $14,669; Blue Ridge Academy $12,591; Highlands Community Charter District $10,008; State median, 1,000+ students $16,855.5k15k25k30kEl Monte City$24,829Azusa Unified$20,674Escondido Union High$19,224Culver City Unified$16,956Ocean View$16,553Petaluma City Elementary/Joint Union High$16,390River Springs Charter District$15,068El Dorado Union High$14,669Blue Ridge Academy$12,591Highlands Community Charter District$10,008State median, 1,000+ students $16,855
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Escondido Union High, FY23El Monte City $24,829; Azusa Unified $20,674; Escondido Union High $19,224; Culver City Unified $16,956; Ocean View $16,553; Petaluma City Elementary/Joint Union High $16,390; River Springs Charter District $15,068; El Dorado Union High $14,669; Blue Ridge Academy $12,591; Highlands Community Charter District $10,008; State median, 1,000+ students $16,855.5k15k25k30kEl Monte City$24,829Azusa Unified$20,674Escondido Union High$19,224Culver City Unified$16,956Ocean View$16,553Petaluma City Elementary/Joint Union Hi…$16,390River Springs Charter District$15,068El Dorado Union High$14,669Blue Ridge Academy$12,591Highlands Community Charter District$10,008State median, 1,000+ students $16,855

Where the money came from

$181,106,000 in revenue: 51.2% state, 39.6% local and 9.2% federal. Total spending including $2,653,000 of capital outlay was $145,538,000, or $21,151 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Escondido Union High revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $92,796,000; Local $71,710,000; Federal $16,600,000; total $181,106,000.
  • State$92,796,000 51%
  • Local$71,710,000 40%
  • Federal$16,600,000 9%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 646 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

6,862 students in 2022-23, 6,531 students in 2023-24, 6,324 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Escondido Union High enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,862, 2023-24: 6,531, 2024-25: 6,32402k4k6k8k2022-236,8622023-246,5312024-256,324
Escondido Union High enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,862, 2023-24: 6,531, 2024-25: 6,32402k4k6k8k2022-236,8622023-246,5312024-256,324
Escondido Union High enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,862, 2023-24: 6,531, 2024-25: 6,32402k4k6k8k2022-236,8622023-246,5312024-256,324
Escondido Union High enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,862, 2023-24: 6,531, 2024-25: 6,32402k4k6k8k2022-236,8622023-246,5312024-256,324

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-236,862333.120.6
2023-246,531334.119.5
2024-256,324321.619.7

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$34,183,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,968 per student

Escondido Union High booked $34,183,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 333 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $102,633 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 55 in 100 California districts with a figure (state median $99,744, 1,149 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$23,243,00068.0%
Special education$5,390,00015.8%
Vocational$2,172,0006.4%
Other programs$3,378,0009.9%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,892 in 2018-19, $3,864 in 2019-20, $4,324 in 2020-21, $4,384 in 2021-22, $4,968 in 2022-23.

Escondido Union High teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,892, 2019-20: $3,864, 2020-21: $4,324, 2021-22: $4,384, 2022-23: $4,96802k4k6k2018-19$3,8922019-20$3,8642020-21$4,3242021-22$4,3842022-23$4,968
Escondido Union High teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,892, 2019-20: $3,864, 2020-21: $4,324, 2021-22: $4,384, 2022-23: $4,96802k4k6k2018-19$3,8922019-20$3,8642020-21$4,3242021-22$4,3842022-23$4,968
Escondido Union High teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,892, 2019-20: $3,864, 2020-21: $4,324, 2021-22: $4,384, 2022-23: $4,96802k4k6k2018-19$3,8922019-20$3,8642020-21$4,3242021-22$4,3842022-23$4,968
Escondido Union High teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,892, 2019-20: $3,864, 2020-21: $4,324, 2021-22: $4,384, 2022-23: $4,96802k4k6k2018-19$3,8922019-20$3,8642020-21$4,3242021-22$4,3842022-23$4,968

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

Graduation rate, class of 2023

86% of the 1,792 students in Escondido Union High's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtCalifornia
Four-year graduation rate86%86.2%
Students in the class1,792495,492

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

5 high schools, 6,324 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
San Pasqual High1,84620.361.2%Not reported
Orange Glen High1,78819.176.8%Not reported
Escondido High1,65618.369.3%Not reported
Del Lago Academy - Campus of Applied Science76526.758.6%Not reported
Valley High (Continuation)26914.885.1%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Escondido Union High

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Escondido Union High

  1. California districts by spending per studentEscondido Union High ranks 145 of 646 California districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($19,224).#145 of 646
  2. Every school district in CaliforniaEscondido Union High is the number 214 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 6,881 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#214 of 1,991
  3. River Springs Charter DistrictThe next larger California district: 6,886 students in fall 2022, $15,068 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,068
  4. Culver City UnifiedThe next smaller California district: 6,826 students in fall 2022, $16,956 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,956
  5. Compare Escondido Union High with River Springs Charter DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. San Pasqual High, its largest high school1,846 students in 2024-25, 20.3 per teacher.1,846
  7. Teacher salary spending across CaliforniaEscondido Union High spent $102,633 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $99,744); spending, not a salary.$102,633
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Escondido Union High

  1. How many schools and students are in Escondido Union High?
    5 schools were open in 2024-25 (5 high), enrolling 6,324 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Escondido Union High spend per student?
    $19,224 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,855 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $21,430 per student, up 11.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Escondido Union High's money come from?
    $181,106,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 51.2% state, 39.6% local and 9.2% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Escondido Union High live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 1,088 of the 9,461 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 11.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Escondido Union High spend on teacher salaries?
    $34,183,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,968 per student. Divided by the 333 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $102,633 per teacher, more than 55 in 100 California districts (state median $99,744). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. What is the graduation rate in Escondido Union High?
    86% of the 1,792 students in Escondido Union High's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Escondido Union High's NCES district ID?
    0612910. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25