Echols County

Public school district · Echols County · Georgia · NCES district ID 1301950

Echols County spent $12,391 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 78% of the other Georgia districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $15,365). Its 2 schools enrolled 917 students in 2024-25; 54.4% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,749 per student, up 11.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% or more (Georgia: 84.4%).

Spending per student among Georgia districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Echols County in enrollment (789 to 1,009 students) and Echols County itself.

Current spending per student, Georgia districts closest in size to Echols County, FY23Towns County $18,874; Wheeler County Schools $15,865; Montgomery County $15,683; Johnson County $15,048; State Charter Schools II- Baconton Community Charter School $13,060; Chattahoochee County $13,053; Echols County $12,391; Coweta Charter Academy $11,298; State Charter Schools- International Charter School of Atla $10,723; State Charter Schools- Georgia School for Innovation and th $9,582; State median, under 1,000 students $15,365.5k10k15k20kTowns County$18,874Wheeler County Schools$15,865Montgomery County$15,683Johnson County$15,048State Charter Schools II- Baco…$13,060Chattahoochee County$13,053Echols County$12,391Coweta Charter Academy$11,298State Charter Schools- Interna…$10,723State Charter Schools- Georgia…$9,582State median, under 1,000 students $15,365
Current spending per student, Georgia districts closest in size to Echols County, FY23Towns County $18,874; Wheeler County Schools $15,865; Montgomery County $15,683; Johnson County $15,048; State Charter Schools II- Baconton Community Charter School $13,060; Chattahoochee County $13,053; Echols County $12,391; Coweta Charter Academy $11,298; State Charter Schools- International Charter School of Atla $10,723; State Charter Schools- Georgia School for Innovation and th $9,582; State median, under 1,000 students $15,365.5k10k15k20kTowns County$18,874Wheeler County Schools$15,865Montgomery County$15,683Johnson County$15,048State Charter Schools II- Baconton …$13,060Chattahoochee County$13,053Echols County$12,391Coweta Charter Academy$11,298State Charter Schools- Internationa…$10,723State Charter Schools- Georgia Scho…$9,582State median, under 1,000 students $15,365
Current spending per student, Georgia districts closest in size to Echols County, FY23Towns County $18,874; Wheeler County Schools $15,865; Montgomery County $15,683; Johnson County $15,048; State Charter Schools II- Baconton Community Charter School $13,060; Chattahoochee County $13,053; Echols County $12,391; Coweta Charter Academy $11,298; State Charter Schools- International Charter School of Atla $10,723; State Charter Schools- Georgia School for Innovation and th $9,582; State median, under 1,000 students $15,365.5k10k15k20kTowns County$18,874Wheeler County Schools$15,865Montgomery County$15,683Johnson County$15,048State Charter Schools II- Baconton Communit…$13,060Chattahoochee County$13,053Echols County$12,391Coweta Charter Academy$11,298State Charter Schools- International Charte…$10,723State Charter Schools- Georgia School for I…$9,582State median, under 1,000 students $15,365
Current spending per student, Georgia districts closest in size to Echols County, FY23Towns County $18,874; Wheeler County Schools $15,865; Montgomery County $15,683; Johnson County $15,048; State Charter Schools II- Baconton Community Charter School $13,060; Chattahoochee County $13,053; Echols County $12,391; Coweta Charter Academy $11,298; State Charter Schools- International Charter School of Atla $10,723; State Charter Schools- Georgia School for Innovation and th $9,582; State median, under 1,000 students $15,365.5k10k15k20kTowns County$18,874Wheeler County Schools$15,865Montgomery County$15,683Johnson County$15,048State Charter Schools II- Baconton Comm…$13,060Chattahoochee County$13,053Echols County$12,391Coweta Charter Academy$11,298State Charter Schools- International Ch…$10,723State Charter Schools- Georgia School f…$9,582State median, under 1,000 students $15,365

Where the money came from

$14,150,000 in revenue: 54.4% state, 24.3% local and 21.3% federal. Total spending including $545,000 of capital outlay was $11,678,000, or $13,107 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Echols County revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $7,704,000; Local $3,434,000; Federal $3,012,000; total $14,150,000.
  • State$7,704,000 54%
  • Local$3,434,000 24%
  • Federal$3,012,000 21%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 50 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

891 students in 2022-23, 895 students in 2023-24, 917 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Echols County enrollment by school year2022-23: 891, 2023-24: 895, 2024-25: 91702505007501k2022-238912023-248952024-25917
Echols County enrollment by school year2022-23: 891, 2023-24: 895, 2024-25: 91702505007501k2022-238912023-248952024-25917
Echols County enrollment by school year2022-23: 891, 2023-24: 895, 2024-25: 91702505007501k2022-238912023-248952024-25917
Echols County enrollment by school year2022-23: 891, 2023-24: 895, 2024-25: 91702505007501k2022-238912023-248952024-25917

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2389160.314.8
2023-2489560.914.7
2024-2591761.414.9

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$3,412,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,829 per student

Echols County booked $3,412,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 60 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $56,584 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 23 in 100 Georgia districts with a figure (state median $60,911, 215 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Georgia teacher salary at $61,249 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$2,535,00074.3%
Special education$390,00011.4%
Vocational$244,0007.2%
Other programs$243,0007.1%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,530 in 2018-19, $3,718 in 2019-20, $3,565 in 2020-21, $3,801 in 2021-22, $3,829 in 2022-23.

Echols County teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,530, 2019-20: $3,718, 2020-21: $3,565, 2021-22: $3,801, 2022-23: $3,82901k2k3k4k2018-19$3,5302019-20$3,7182020-21$3,5652021-22$3,8012022-23$3,829
Echols County teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,530, 2019-20: $3,718, 2020-21: $3,565, 2021-22: $3,801, 2022-23: $3,82901k2k3k4k2018-19$3,5302019-20$3,7182020-21$3,5652021-22$3,8012022-23$3,829
Echols County teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,530, 2019-20: $3,718, 2020-21: $3,565, 2021-22: $3,801, 2022-23: $3,82901k2k3k4k2018-19$3,5302019-20$3,7182020-21$3,5652021-22$3,8012022-23$3,829
Echols County teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,530, 2019-20: $3,718, 2020-21: $3,565, 2021-22: $3,801, 2022-23: $3,82901k2k3k4k2018-19$3,5302019-20$3,7182020-21$3,5652021-22$3,8012022-23$3,829

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Echols County scored proficient or above: 39% in reading and 44% in math, against 39.6% in reading and 37.4% in math across Georgia. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Georgia, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtGeorgiaStudents tested
Reading and language arts39%39.6%442
Math44%37.4%458

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90% or more of the 58 students in Echols County's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 84.4% across Georgia. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtGeorgia
Four-year graduation rate90% or more84.4%
Students in the class58134,822

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 673 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Echols County Elementary/Middle School67316.488.1%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 244 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Echols County High School24412.071.7%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Echols County

  • Phone: (912) 559-5734
  • Office: 216 Hwy 129 North, Statenville, GA 31648

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Echols County

  1. Georgia districts by spending per studentEchols County ranks 39 of 50 Georgia districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($12,391).#39 of 50
  2. Every school district in GeorgiaEchols County is the number 173 by size of 227 Georgia districts, with 891 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#173 of 227
  3. Montgomery CountyThe next larger Georgia district: 951 students in fall 2022, $15,683 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,683
  4. State Charter Schools II- Baconton Community Charter SchoolThe next smaller Georgia district: 890 students in fall 2022, $13,060 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,060
  5. Compare Echols County with Montgomery CountyEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Echols County High School, its largest high school244 students in 2024-25, 12.0 per teacher.244
  7. Teacher salary spending across GeorgiaEchols County spent $56,584 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $60,911); spending, not a salary.$56,584
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Echols County

  1. How many schools and students are in Echols County?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 917 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Echols County spend per student?
    $12,391 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Georgia median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,365 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,749 per student, up 11.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Echols County's money come from?
    $14,150,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 54.4% state, 24.3% local and 21.3% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Echols County live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 223 of the 710 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 31.4%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Echols County spend on teacher salaries?
    $3,412,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,829 per student. Divided by the 60 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $56,584 per teacher, more than 23 in 100 Georgia districts (state median $60,911). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Georgia teacher salary at $61,249 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Echols County do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Echols County scored proficient or above: 39% in reading and 44% in math, against 39.6% in reading and 37.4% in math across Georgia. Georgia's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Echols County?
    90% or more of the 58 students in Echols County's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 84.4% across Georgia. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Echols County's NCES district ID?
    1301950. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25