Dunseith 1

Public school district · Rolette County · North Dakota · NCES district ID 3805460

Dunseith 1 spent $23,276 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 81% of the other North Dakota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $17,222). Its 2 schools enrolled 514 students in 2024-25; 37.5% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $26,681 per student, up 14.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80-89% (North Dakota: 83.2%).

Spending per student among North Dakota districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Dunseith 1 in enrollment (491 to 607 students) and Dunseith 1 itself.

Current spending per student, North Dakota districts closest in size to Dunseith 1, FY23Dunseith 1 $23,276; Tioga $18,145; Bowman Co 1 $16,052; Rugby Public Schools $15,723; Hazen 3 $13,607; Nedrose Public School $13,298; Hillsboro Public Schools $13,293; May-Port CG $13,075; South Prairie $12,756; Oakes School District #41 $12,499; State median, under 1,000 students $17,222.10k15k20k25kDunseith 1$23,276Tioga$18,145Bowman Co 1$16,052Rugby Public Schools$15,723Hazen 3$13,607Nedrose Public School$13,298Hillsboro Public Schools$13,293May-Port CG$13,075South Prairie$12,756Oakes School District #41$12,499State median, under 1,000 students $17,222
Current spending per student, North Dakota districts closest in size to Dunseith 1, FY23Dunseith 1 $23,276; Tioga $18,145; Bowman Co 1 $16,052; Rugby Public Schools $15,723; Hazen 3 $13,607; Nedrose Public School $13,298; Hillsboro Public Schools $13,293; May-Port CG $13,075; South Prairie $12,756; Oakes School District #41 $12,499; State median, under 1,000 students $17,222.10k15k20k25kDunseith 1$23,276Tioga$18,145Bowman Co 1$16,052Rugby Public Schools$15,723Hazen 3$13,607Nedrose Public School$13,298Hillsboro Public Schools$13,293May-Port CG$13,075South Prairie$12,756Oakes School District #41$12,499State median, under 1,000 students $17,222
Current spending per student, North Dakota districts closest in size to Dunseith 1, FY23Dunseith 1 $23,276; Tioga $18,145; Bowman Co 1 $16,052; Rugby Public Schools $15,723; Hazen 3 $13,607; Nedrose Public School $13,298; Hillsboro Public Schools $13,293; May-Port CG $13,075; South Prairie $12,756; Oakes School District #41 $12,499; State median, under 1,000 students $17,222.10k15k20k25kDunseith 1$23,276Tioga$18,145Bowman Co 1$16,052Rugby Public Schools$15,723Hazen 3$13,607Nedrose Public School$13,298Hillsboro Public Schools$13,293May-Port CG$13,075South Prairie$12,756Oakes School District #41$12,499State median, under 1,000 students $17,222
Current spending per student, North Dakota districts closest in size to Dunseith 1, FY23Dunseith 1 $23,276; Tioga $18,145; Bowman Co 1 $16,052; Rugby Public Schools $15,723; Hazen 3 $13,607; Nedrose Public School $13,298; Hillsboro Public Schools $13,293; May-Port CG $13,075; South Prairie $12,756; Oakes School District #41 $12,499; State median, under 1,000 students $17,222.10k15k20k25kDunseith 1$23,276Tioga$18,145Bowman Co 1$16,052Rugby Public Schools$15,723Hazen 3$13,607Nedrose Public School$13,298Hillsboro Public Schools$13,293May-Port CG$13,075South Prairie$12,756Oakes School District #41$12,499State median, under 1,000 students $17,222

Where the money came from

$19,925,000 in revenue: 37.5% state, 4.2% local and 58.4% federal. Total spending including $4,517,000 of capital outlay was $18,615,000, or $33,969 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Dunseith 1 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $7,463,000; Local $835,000; Federal $11,627,000; total $19,925,000.
  • State$7,463,000 37%
  • Local$835,000 4%
  • Federal$11,627,000 58%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 151 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

547 students in 2022-23, 547 students in 2023-24, 514 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Dunseith 1 enrollment by school year2022-23: 547, 2023-24: 547, 2024-25: 51402004006002022-235472023-245472024-25514
Dunseith 1 enrollment by school year2022-23: 547, 2023-24: 547, 2024-25: 51402004006002022-235472023-245472024-25514
Dunseith 1 enrollment by school year2022-23: 547, 2023-24: 547, 2024-25: 51402004006002022-235472023-245472024-25514
Dunseith 1 enrollment by school year2022-23: 547, 2023-24: 547, 2024-25: 51402004006002022-235472023-245472024-25514

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2354755.09.9
2023-2454755.09.9
2024-2551457.09.0

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$4,228,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $7,715 per student

Dunseith 1 booked $4,228,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 55 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $76,873 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 77 in 100 North Dakota districts with a figure (state median $65,626, 125 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average North Dakota teacher salary at $55,769 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$2,123,00050.2%
Special education$479,00011.3%
Vocational$154,0003.6%
Other programs$1,472,00034.8%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $6,188 in 2018-19, $6,309 in 2019-20, $5,926 in 2020-21, $7,159 in 2021-22, $7,715 in 2022-23.

Dunseith 1 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $6,188, 2019-20: $6,309, 2020-21: $5,926, 2021-22: $7,159, 2022-23: $7,71502k4k6k8k2018-19$6,1882019-20$6,3092020-21$5,9262021-22$7,1592022-23$7,715
Dunseith 1 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $6,188, 2019-20: $6,309, 2020-21: $5,926, 2021-22: $7,159, 2022-23: $7,71502k4k6k8k2018-19$6,1882019-20$6,3092020-21$5,9262021-22$7,1592022-23$7,715
Dunseith 1 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $6,188, 2019-20: $6,309, 2020-21: $5,926, 2021-22: $7,159, 2022-23: $7,71502k4k6k8k2018-19$6,1882019-20$6,3092020-21$5,9262021-22$7,1592022-23$7,715
Dunseith 1 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $6,188, 2019-20: $6,309, 2020-21: $5,926, 2021-22: $7,159, 2022-23: $7,71502k4k6k8k2018-19$6,1882019-20$6,3092020-21$5,9262021-22$7,1592022-23$7,715

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Dunseith 1 scored proficient or above: 11% in reading and 4% in math, against 43.8% in reading and 38.6% in math across North Dakota. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within North Dakota, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNorth DakotaStudents tested
Reading and language arts11%43.8%246
Math4%38.6%255

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80-89% of the 55 students in Dunseith 1's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.2% across North Dakota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNorth Dakota
Four-year graduation rate80‑89%83.2%
Students in the class558,249

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 236 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Dunseith Elementary School2368.7100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 278 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Dunseith High School2789.3100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Dunseith 1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Dunseith 1

  1. North Dakota districts by spending per studentDunseith 1 ranks 30 of 151 North Dakota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($23,276).#30 of 151
  2. Every school district in North DakotaDunseith 1 is the number 31 by size of 170 North Dakota districts, with 548 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#31 of 170
  3. Hazen 3 School DistrictThe next larger North Dakota district: 570 students in fall 2022, $13,607 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,607
  4. South Prairie School DistrictThe next smaller North Dakota district: 533 students in fall 2022, $12,756 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,756
  5. Compare Dunseith 1 with Hazen 3 School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Dunseith High School, its largest high school278 students in 2024-25, 9.3 per teacher.278
  7. Teacher salary spending across North DakotaDunseith 1 spent $76,873 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $65,626); spending, not a salary.$76,873
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Dunseith 1

  1. How many schools and students are in Dunseith 1?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 514 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Dunseith 1 spend per student?
    $23,276 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the North Dakota median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,222 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $26,681 per student, up 14.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Dunseith 1's money come from?
    $19,925,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 37.5% state, 4.2% local and 58.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Dunseith 1 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 203 of the 695 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 29.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Dunseith 1 spend on teacher salaries?
    $4,228,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $7,715 per student. Divided by the 55 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $76,873 per teacher, more than 77 in 100 North Dakota districts (state median $65,626). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average North Dakota teacher salary at $55,769 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Dunseith 1 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Dunseith 1 scored proficient or above: 11% in reading and 4% in math, against 43.8% in reading and 38.6% in math across North Dakota. North Dakota's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Dunseith 1?
    80-89% of the 55 students in Dunseith 1's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.2% across North Dakota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Dunseith 1's NCES district ID?
    3805460. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25