Desert Star Academy (92302)

Public school district · Mohave County · Arizona · NCES district ID 0400922

Desert Star Academy (92302) spent $10,579 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 69% of the other Arizona districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $11,993). Its one school enrolled 686 students in 2024-25; 79.8% of its revenue came from the state.

Spending per student among Arizona districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Desert Star Academy (92302) in enrollment (471 to 491 students) and Desert Star Academy (92302) itself.

Current spending per student, Arizona districts closest in size to Desert Star Academy (92302), FY23Red Mesa Unified School District #27 $27,281; Villa Montessori Charter School (4339) $15,110; Alta Vista High School $11,534; Archway Classical Academy Cicero (92314) $11,255; Desert Star Academy (92302) $10,579; BASIS Charter Schools Inc. (549803) $10,415; Pathfinder Charter School Foundation (79024) $10,229; Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary District (4486) $10,123; Painted Rock Academy $8,331; Arizona Agribusiness & Equine Center Inc. (85816) $8,010; State median, under 1,000 students $11,993.010k20k30kRed Mesa Unified School Distri…$27,281Villa Montessori Charter Schoo…$15,110Alta Vista High School$11,534Archway Classical Academy Cice…$11,255Desert Star Academy (92302)$10,579BASIS Charter Schools Inc. (54…$10,415Pathfinder Charter School Foun…$10,229Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary Di…$10,123Painted Rock Academy$8,331Arizona Agribusiness & Equine …$8,010State median, under 1,000 students $11,993
Current spending per student, Arizona districts closest in size to Desert Star Academy (92302), FY23Red Mesa Unified School District #27 $27,281; Villa Montessori Charter School (4339) $15,110; Alta Vista High School $11,534; Archway Classical Academy Cicero (92314) $11,255; Desert Star Academy (92302) $10,579; BASIS Charter Schools Inc. (549803) $10,415; Pathfinder Charter School Foundation (79024) $10,229; Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary District (4486) $10,123; Painted Rock Academy $8,331; Arizona Agribusiness & Equine Center Inc. (85816) $8,010; State median, under 1,000 students $11,993.010k20k30kRed Mesa Unified School District #27$27,281Villa Montessori Charter School (43…$15,110Alta Vista High School$11,534Archway Classical Academy Cicero (9…$11,255Desert Star Academy (92302)$10,579BASIS Charter Schools Inc. (549803)$10,415Pathfinder Charter School Foundatio…$10,229Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary Distric…$10,123Painted Rock Academy$8,331Arizona Agribusiness & Equine Cente…$8,010State median, under 1,000 students $11,993
Current spending per student, Arizona districts closest in size to Desert Star Academy (92302), FY23Red Mesa Unified School District #27 $27,281; Villa Montessori Charter School (4339) $15,110; Alta Vista High School $11,534; Archway Classical Academy Cicero (92314) $11,255; Desert Star Academy (92302) $10,579; BASIS Charter Schools Inc. (549803) $10,415; Pathfinder Charter School Foundation (79024) $10,229; Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary District (4486) $10,123; Painted Rock Academy $8,331; Arizona Agribusiness & Equine Center Inc. (85816) $8,010; State median, under 1,000 students $11,993.010k20k30kRed Mesa Unified School District #27$27,281Villa Montessori Charter School (4339)$15,110Alta Vista High School$11,534Archway Classical Academy Cicero (92314)$11,255Desert Star Academy (92302)$10,579BASIS Charter Schools Inc. (549803)$10,415Pathfinder Charter School Foundation (79024)$10,229Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary District (4486)$10,123Painted Rock Academy$8,331Arizona Agribusiness & Equine Center Inc. (…$8,010State median, under 1,000 students $11,993
Current spending per student, Arizona districts closest in size to Desert Star Academy (92302), FY23Red Mesa Unified School District #27 $27,281; Villa Montessori Charter School (4339) $15,110; Alta Vista High School $11,534; Archway Classical Academy Cicero (92314) $11,255; Desert Star Academy (92302) $10,579; BASIS Charter Schools Inc. (549803) $10,415; Pathfinder Charter School Foundation (79024) $10,229; Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary District (4486) $10,123; Painted Rock Academy $8,331; Arizona Agribusiness & Equine Center Inc. (85816) $8,010; State median, under 1,000 students $11,993.010k20k30kRed Mesa Unified School District #27$27,281Villa Montessori Charter School (4339)$15,110Alta Vista High School$11,534Archway Classical Academy Cicero (92314)$11,255Desert Star Academy (92302)$10,579BASIS Charter Schools Inc. (549803)$10,415Pathfinder Charter School Foundation (7…$10,229Clarkdale-Jerome Elementary District (4…$10,123Painted Rock Academy$8,331Arizona Agribusiness & Equine Center In…$8,010State median, under 1,000 students $11,993

Where the money came from

$5,747,000 in revenue: 79.8% state, 4.3% local and 16.0% federal. Total spending including $315,000 of capital outlay was $6,064,000, or $12,633 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Desert Star Academy (92302) revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $4,585,000; Local $245,000; Federal $917,000; total $5,747,000.
  • State$4,585,000 80%
  • Local$245,000 4%
  • Federal$917,000 16%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 475 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

480 students in 2022-23, 503 students in 2023-24, 686 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Desert Star Academy (92302) enrollment by school year2022-23: 480, 2023-24: 503, 2024-25: 68602004006008002022-234802023-245032024-25686
Desert Star Academy (92302) enrollment by school year2022-23: 480, 2023-24: 503, 2024-25: 68602004006008002022-234802023-245032024-25686
Desert Star Academy (92302) enrollment by school year2022-23: 480, 2023-24: 503, 2024-25: 68602004006008002022-234802023-245032024-25686
Desert Star Academy (92302) enrollment by school year2022-23: 480, 2023-24: 503, 2024-25: 68602004006008002022-234802023-245032024-25686

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-23480not reportednot reported
2023-24503not reportednot reported
2024-2568611.261.2

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Desert Star Academy (92302) scored proficient or above: 43% in reading and 30% in math, against 40.4% in reading and 34.8% in math across Arizona. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Arizona, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtArizonaStudents tested
Reading and language arts43%40.4%337
Math30%34.8%337

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

1 other school, 686 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Desert Star Academy68661.2not reportedSchoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Desert Star Academy (92302)

  • Phone: (928) 788-3987
  • Office: 5599 Highway 95, Fort Mohave, AZ 86426

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Desert Star Academy (92302)

  1. Arizona districts by spending per studentDesert Star Academy (92302) ranks 329 of 475 Arizona districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($10,579).#329 of 475
  2. Every school district in ArizonaDesert Star Academy (92302) is the number 285 by size of 661 Arizona districts, with 480 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#285 of 661
  3. Red Mesa Unified School District #27The next larger Arizona district: 481 students in fall 2022, $27,281 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$27,281
  4. Archway Classical Academy Cicero (92314)The next smaller Arizona district: 479 students in fall 2022, $11,255 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,255
  5. Compare Desert Star Academy (92302) with Red Mesa Unified School District #27Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Desert Star Academy (92302)

  1. How many schools and students are in Desert Star Academy (92302)?
    One school was open in 2024-25 (1 other), enrolling 686 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Desert Star Academy (92302) spend per student?
    $10,579 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Arizona median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $11,993 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.
  3. Where does Desert Star Academy (92302)'s money come from?
    $5,747,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 79.8% state, 4.3% local and 16.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How do students in Desert Star Academy (92302) do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Desert Star Academy (92302) scored proficient or above: 43% in reading and 30% in math, against 40.4% in reading and 34.8% in math across Arizona. Arizona's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  5. What is Desert Star Academy (92302)'s NCES district ID?
    0400922. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25