Clarke County

Public school district · Clarke County · Georgia · NCES district ID 1301170

Clarke County spent $21,012 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 99% of the other Georgia districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $13,981). Its 21 schools enrolled 12,275 students in 2024-25; 28.3% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $22,545 per student, up 7.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 75% (Georgia: 84.4%).

Spending per student among Georgia districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Clarke County in enrollment (10,610 to 14,047 students) and Clarke County itself.

Current spending per student, Georgia districts closest in size to Clarke County, FY23Clarke County $21,012; Dougherty County $18,742; Glynn County $14,966; Bulloch County $14,007; Bartow County $13,840; Troup County $13,298; Whitfield County $13,284; Liberty County $12,560; Effingham County $12,037; Lowndes County $12,014; State median, 1,000+ students $13,981.10k15k20k25kClarke County$21,012Dougherty County$18,742Glynn County$14,966Bulloch County$14,007Bartow County$13,840Troup County$13,298Whitfield County$13,284Liberty County$12,560Effingham County$12,037Lowndes County$12,014State median, 1,000+ students $13,981
Current spending per student, Georgia districts closest in size to Clarke County, FY23Clarke County $21,012; Dougherty County $18,742; Glynn County $14,966; Bulloch County $14,007; Bartow County $13,840; Troup County $13,298; Whitfield County $13,284; Liberty County $12,560; Effingham County $12,037; Lowndes County $12,014; State median, 1,000+ students $13,981.10k15k20k25kClarke County$21,012Dougherty County$18,742Glynn County$14,966Bulloch County$14,007Bartow County$13,840Troup County$13,298Whitfield County$13,284Liberty County$12,560Effingham County$12,037Lowndes County$12,014State median, 1,000+ students $13,981
Current spending per student, Georgia districts closest in size to Clarke County, FY23Clarke County $21,012; Dougherty County $18,742; Glynn County $14,966; Bulloch County $14,007; Bartow County $13,840; Troup County $13,298; Whitfield County $13,284; Liberty County $12,560; Effingham County $12,037; Lowndes County $12,014; State median, 1,000+ students $13,981.10k15k20k25kClarke County$21,012Dougherty County$18,742Glynn County$14,966Bulloch County$14,007Bartow County$13,840Troup County$13,298Whitfield County$13,284Liberty County$12,560Effingham County$12,037Lowndes County$12,014State median, 1,000+ students $13,981
Current spending per student, Georgia districts closest in size to Clarke County, FY23Clarke County $21,012; Dougherty County $18,742; Glynn County $14,966; Bulloch County $14,007; Bartow County $13,840; Troup County $13,298; Whitfield County $13,284; Liberty County $12,560; Effingham County $12,037; Lowndes County $12,014; State median, 1,000+ students $13,981.10k15k20k25kClarke County$21,012Dougherty County$18,742Glynn County$14,966Bulloch County$14,007Bartow County$13,840Troup County$13,298Whitfield County$13,284Liberty County$12,560Effingham County$12,037Lowndes County$12,014State median, 1,000+ students $13,981

Where the money came from

$289,467,000 in revenue: 28.3% state, 54.8% local and 16.8% federal. Total spending including $16,410,000 of capital outlay was $281,736,000, or $22,831 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Clarke County revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $81,970,000; Local $158,743,000; Federal $48,754,000; total $289,467,000.
  • State$81,970,000 28%
  • Local$158,743,000 55%
  • Federal$48,754,000 17%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 169 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

12,340 students in 2022-23, 12,331 students in 2023-24, 12,275 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Clarke County enrollment by school year2022-23: 12,340, 2023-24: 12,331, 2024-25: 12,27505k10k15k2022-2312,3402023-2412,3312024-2512,275
Clarke County enrollment by school year2022-23: 12,340, 2023-24: 12,331, 2024-25: 12,27505k10k15k2022-2312,3402023-2412,3312024-2512,275
Clarke County enrollment by school year2022-23: 12,340, 2023-24: 12,331, 2024-25: 12,27505k10k15k2022-2312,3402023-2412,3312024-2512,275
Clarke County enrollment by school year2022-23: 12,340, 2023-24: 12,331, 2024-25: 12,27505k10k15k2022-2312,3402023-2412,3312024-2512,275

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2312,3401127.010.9
2023-2412,3311111.011.1
2024-2512,2751103.911.1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$70,449,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,709 per student

Clarke County booked $70,449,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 1,221 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $57,712 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 28 in 100 Georgia districts with a figure (state median $60,911, 215 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Georgia teacher salary at $61,249 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$46,729,00066.3%
Special education$12,900,00018.3%
Vocational$1,780,0002.5%
Other programs$9,040,00012.8%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,414 in 2018-19, $4,825 in 2019-20, $5,224 in 2020-21, $5,235 in 2021-22, $5,709 in 2022-23.

Clarke County teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,414, 2019-20: $4,825, 2020-21: $5,224, 2021-22: $5,235, 2022-23: $5,70902k4k6k2018-19$4,4142019-20$4,8252020-21$5,2242021-22$5,2352022-23$5,709
Clarke County teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,414, 2019-20: $4,825, 2020-21: $5,224, 2021-22: $5,235, 2022-23: $5,70902k4k6k2018-19$4,4142019-20$4,8252020-21$5,2242021-22$5,2352022-23$5,709
Clarke County teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,414, 2019-20: $4,825, 2020-21: $5,224, 2021-22: $5,235, 2022-23: $5,70902k4k6k2018-19$4,4142019-20$4,8252020-21$5,2242021-22$5,2352022-23$5,709
Clarke County teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,414, 2019-20: $4,825, 2020-21: $5,224, 2021-22: $5,235, 2022-23: $5,70902k4k6k2018-19$4,4142019-20$4,8252020-21$5,2242021-22$5,2352022-23$5,709

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Clarke County scored proficient or above: 28% in reading and 27% in math, against 39.6% in reading and 37.4% in math across Georgia. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Georgia, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtGeorgiaStudents tested
Reading and language arts28%39.6%6,090
Math27%37.4%6,353

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

75% of the 768 students in Clarke County's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 84.4% across Georgia. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtGeorgia
Four-year graduation rate75%84.4%
Students in the class768134,822

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

14 elementary schools, 6,190 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Whitehead Road Elementary School6329.699.1%Schoolwide program
Gaines Elementary School56811.3100.0%Schoolwide program
Timothy Elementary School56510.668.3%Schoolwide program
Oglethorpe Avenue Elementary School56310.1100.0%Schoolwide program
Chase Street Elementary School49211.274.4%Schoolwide program
Barnett Shoals Elementary School4909.8100.0%Schoolwide program
Barrow Elementary School45610.977.4%Schoolwide program
Whit Davis Road Elementary School39510.796.7%Schoolwide program
Judia Jackson Harris Elementary3929.7100.0%Schoolwide program
Fowler Drive Elementary School3668.6100.0%Schoolwide program
Howard B. Stroud Elementary School3508.3100.0%Schoolwide program
Winterville Elementary School3439.393.6%Schoolwide program
The other 2 elementary schools
SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Alps Road Elementary School3228.5100.0%Schoolwide program
Cleveland Road Elementary School2568.0100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

4 middle schools, 2,631 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Clarke Middle School71811.383.8%Schoolwide program
Burney-Harris-Lyons Middle School70711.5100.0%Schoolwide program
Hilsman Middle School62411.0100.0%Schoolwide program
Coile Middle School58210.5100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

3 high schools, 3,454 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Clarke Central High School1,90715.982.5%Schoolwide program
Cedar Shoals High School1,48913.6100.0%Schoolwide program
Classic City High School588.382.8%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Clarke County

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Clarke County

  1. Georgia districts by spending per studentClarke County ranks 2 of 169 Georgia districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($21,012).#2 of 169
  2. Every school district in GeorgiaClarke County is the number 30 by size of 227 Georgia districts, with 12,340 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#30 of 227
  3. Glynn CountyThe next larger Georgia district: 12,844 students in fall 2022, $14,966 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,966
  4. Whitfield CountyThe next smaller Georgia district: 12,317 students in fall 2022, $13,284 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,284
  5. Compare Clarke County with Glynn CountyEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Clarke Central High School, its largest high school1,907 students in 2024-25, 15.9 per teacher.1,907
  7. Teacher salary spending across GeorgiaClarke County spent $57,712 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $60,911); spending, not a salary.$57,712
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Clarke County

  1. How many schools and students are in Clarke County?
    21 schools were open in 2024-25 (14 elementary, 4 middle, 3 high), enrolling 12,275 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Clarke County spend per student?
    $21,012 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Georgia median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,981 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $22,545 per student, up 7.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Clarke County's money come from?
    $289,467,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 28.3% state, 54.8% local and 16.8% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Clarke County live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 3,536 of the 15,193 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 23.3%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Clarke County spend on teacher salaries?
    $70,449,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,709 per student. Divided by the 1,221 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $57,712 per teacher, more than 28 in 100 Georgia districts (state median $60,911). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Georgia teacher salary at $61,249 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Clarke County do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Clarke County scored proficient or above: 28% in reading and 27% in math, against 39.6% in reading and 37.4% in math across Georgia. Georgia's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Clarke County?
    75% of the 768 students in Clarke County's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 84.4% across Georgia. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Clarke County's NCES district ID?
    1301170. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25