Center Point-Urbana Community School District

Listed by NCES as Center Point-Urbana Comm School District (district ID 1906660)

Public school district · Benton County · Iowa · NCES district ID 1906660

Center Point-Urbana Community School District spent $11,815 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 80% of the other Iowa districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $12,583). Its 4 schools enrolled 1,370 students in 2024-25; 51.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,429 per student, up 5.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (Iowa: 87.5%).

Spending per student among Iowa districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Center Point-Urbana Community in enrollment (1,441 to 1,516 students) and Center Point-Urbana Community itself.

Current spending per student, Iowa districts closest in size to Center Point-Urbana Community, FY23Mid-Prairie Community $13,373; South Tama County Community $13,294; Creston Community Schools $12,755; Harlan Comm $12,411; Independence Comm $12,274; Humboldt Community $11,884; Clear Lake Comm $11,859; Center Point-Urbana Community $11,815; Clayton Ridge Community $10,025; CAM Comm $7,413; State median, 1,000+ students $12,583.6k8k10k12k14kMid-Prairie Community$13,373South Tama County Community$13,294Creston Community Schools$12,755Harlan Comm$12,411Independence Comm$12,274Humboldt Community$11,884Clear Lake Comm$11,859Center Point-Urbana Community$11,815Clayton Ridge Community$10,025CAM Comm$7,413State median, 1,000+ students $12,583
Current spending per student, Iowa districts closest in size to Center Point-Urbana Community, FY23Mid-Prairie Community $13,373; South Tama County Community $13,294; Creston Community Schools $12,755; Harlan Comm $12,411; Independence Comm $12,274; Humboldt Community $11,884; Clear Lake Comm $11,859; Center Point-Urbana Community $11,815; Clayton Ridge Community $10,025; CAM Comm $7,413; State median, 1,000+ students $12,583.6k8k10k12k14kMid-Prairie Community$13,373South Tama County Community$13,294Creston Community Schools$12,755Harlan Comm$12,411Independence Comm$12,274Humboldt Community$11,884Clear Lake Comm$11,859Center Point-Urbana Community$11,815Clayton Ridge Community$10,025CAM Comm$7,413State median, 1,000+ students $12,583
Current spending per student, Iowa districts closest in size to Center Point-Urbana Community, FY23Mid-Prairie Community $13,373; South Tama County Community $13,294; Creston Community Schools $12,755; Harlan Comm $12,411; Independence Comm $12,274; Humboldt Community $11,884; Clear Lake Comm $11,859; Center Point-Urbana Community $11,815; Clayton Ridge Community $10,025; CAM Comm $7,413; State median, 1,000+ students $12,583.6k10k14kMid-Prairie Community$13,373South Tama County Community$13,294Creston Community Schools$12,755Harlan Comm$12,411Independence Comm$12,274Humboldt Community$11,884Clear Lake Comm$11,859Center Point-Urbana Community$11,815Clayton Ridge Community$10,025CAM Comm$7,413State median, 1,000+ students $12,583
Current spending per student, Iowa districts closest in size to Center Point-Urbana Community, FY23Mid-Prairie Community $13,373; South Tama County Community $13,294; Creston Community Schools $12,755; Harlan Comm $12,411; Independence Comm $12,274; Humboldt Community $11,884; Clear Lake Comm $11,859; Center Point-Urbana Community $11,815; Clayton Ridge Community $10,025; CAM Comm $7,413; State median, 1,000+ students $12,583.6k10k14kMid-Prairie Community$13,373South Tama County Community$13,294Creston Community Schools$12,755Harlan Comm$12,411Independence Comm$12,274Humboldt Community$11,884Clear Lake Comm$11,859Center Point-Urbana Community$11,815Clayton Ridge Community$10,025CAM Comm$7,413State median, 1,000+ students $12,583

Where the money came from

$22,688,000 in revenue: 51.6% state, 44.0% local and 4.5% federal. Total spending including $908,000 of capital outlay was $19,189,000, or $13,089 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Center Point-Urbana Community School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $11,700,000; Local $9,975,000; Federal $1,013,000; total $22,688,000.
  • State$11,700,000 52%
  • Local$9,975,000 44%
  • Federal$1,013,000 4%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 125 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,466 students in 2022-23, 1,433 students in 2023-24, 1,370 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Center Point-Urbana Community School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,466, 2023-24: 1,433, 2024-25: 1,37005001k1.5k2022-231,4662023-241,4332024-251,370
Center Point-Urbana Community School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,466, 2023-24: 1,433, 2024-25: 1,37005001k1.5k2022-231,4662023-241,4332024-251,370
Center Point-Urbana Community School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,466, 2023-24: 1,433, 2024-25: 1,37005001k1.5k2022-231,4662023-241,4332024-251,370
Center Point-Urbana Community School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,466, 2023-24: 1,433, 2024-25: 1,37005001k1.5k2022-231,4662023-241,4332024-251,370

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,466102.914.2
2023-241,43399.914.3
2024-251,37096.114.3

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$6,877,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,691 per student

Center Point-Urbana Community School District booked $6,877,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 103 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $66,728 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 69 in 100 Iowa districts with a figure (state median $63,361, 318 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Iowa teacher salary at $59,262 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$4,744,00069.0%
Special education$1,144,00016.6%
Vocational$295,0004.3%
Other programs$694,00010.1%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,973 in 2018-19, $4,043 in 2019-20, $4,346 in 2020-21, $4,521 in 2021-22, $4,691 in 2022-23.

Center Point-Urbana Community School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,973, 2019-20: $4,043, 2020-21: $4,346, 2021-22: $4,521, 2022-23: $4,69102k4k6k2018-19$3,9732019-20$4,0432020-21$4,3462021-22$4,5212022-23$4,691
Center Point-Urbana Community School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,973, 2019-20: $4,043, 2020-21: $4,346, 2021-22: $4,521, 2022-23: $4,69102k4k6k2018-19$3,9732019-20$4,0432020-21$4,3462021-22$4,5212022-23$4,691
Center Point-Urbana Community School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,973, 2019-20: $4,043, 2020-21: $4,346, 2021-22: $4,521, 2022-23: $4,69102k4k6k2018-19$3,9732019-20$4,0432020-21$4,3462021-22$4,5212022-23$4,691
Center Point-Urbana Community School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,973, 2019-20: $4,043, 2020-21: $4,346, 2021-22: $4,521, 2022-23: $4,69102k4k6k2018-19$3,9732019-20$4,0432020-21$4,3462021-22$4,5212022-23$4,691

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Center Point-Urbana Community School District scored proficient or above: 82% in reading and 76% in math, against 69.7% in reading and 63.8% in math across Iowa. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Iowa, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIowaStudents tested
Reading and language arts82%69.7%996
Math76%63.8%996

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90-94% of the 107 students in Center Point-Urbana Community School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.5% across Iowa. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtIowa
Four-year graduation rate90‑94%87.5%
Students in the class10738,026

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 640 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Center Point-Urbana Primary School36513.814.8%Targeted program
Center Point-Urbana Intermediate School27514.918.2%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 290 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Center Point-Urbana Middle School29012.614.8%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 440 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Center Point-Urbana High School44015.710.7%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Center Point-Urbana Community School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Center Point-Urbana Community School District

  1. Iowa districts by spending per studentCenter Point-Urbana Community School District ranks 100 of 125 Iowa districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($11,815).#100 of 125
  2. Every school district in IowaCenter Point-Urbana Community School District is the number 81 by size of 328 Iowa districts, with 1,466 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#81 of 328
  3. Clayton Ridge Community School DistrictThe next larger Iowa district: 1,485 students in fall 2022, $10,025 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,025
  4. Mid-Prairie Community School DistrictThe next smaller Iowa district: 1,446 students in fall 2022, $13,373 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,373
  5. Compare Center Point-Urbana Community School District with Clayton Ridge Community School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Center Point-Urbana High School, its largest high school440 students in 2024-25, 15.7 per teacher.440
  7. Teacher salary spending across IowaCenter Point-Urbana Community School District spent $66,728 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $63,361); spending, not a salary.$66,728
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Center Point-Urbana Community School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Center Point-Urbana Community School District?
    4 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,370 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Center Point-Urbana Community School District spend per student?
    $11,815 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Iowa median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,583 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,429 per student, up 5.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Center Point-Urbana Community School District's money come from?
    $22,688,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 51.6% state, 44.0% local and 4.5% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Center Point-Urbana Community School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 48 of the 1,211 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 4.0%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Center Point-Urbana Community School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $6,877,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,691 per student. Divided by the 103 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $66,728 per teacher, more than 69 in 100 Iowa districts (state median $63,361). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Iowa teacher salary at $59,262 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Center Point-Urbana Community School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Center Point-Urbana Community School District scored proficient or above: 82% in reading and 76% in math, against 69.7% in reading and 63.8% in math across Iowa. Iowa's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Center Point-Urbana Community School District?
    90-94% of the 107 students in Center Point-Urbana Community School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.5% across Iowa. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Center Point-Urbana Community School District's NCES district ID?
    1906660. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25