Brooklyn UD 188
Public school district · St. Clair County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1723640
Brooklyn UD 188 spent $21,565 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 85% of the other Illinois districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $16,409). Its 3 schools enrolled 118 students in 2024-25; 39.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,097 per student, up 7.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was under 50% (Illinois: 87.6%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Brooklyn UD 188 in enrollment (139 to 157 students) and Brooklyn UD 188 itself.
Where the money came from
$4,323,000 in revenue: 39.6% state, 32.1% local and 28.3% federal. Total spending including $32,000 of capital outlay was $3,596,000, or $24,463 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$1,714,000 40%
- Local$1,386,000 32%
- Federal$1,223,000 28%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 468 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
147 students in 2022-23, 134 students in 2023-24, 118 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 147 | 9.0 | 16.3 |
| 2023-24 | 134 | 9.0 | 14.9 |
| 2024-25 | 118 | 7.0 | 16.9 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Brooklyn UD 188 scored proficient or above: 5% or less in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Illinois | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 5% or less | 29.9% | 61 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
under 50% of the 12 students in Brooklyn UD 188's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Illinois | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | under 50% | 87.6% |
| Students in the class | 12 | 149,998 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
1 elementary school, 67 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lovejoy Elementary School | 67 | 14.4 | All free (CEP) | Targeted program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 24 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lovejoy Middle School | 24 | 70.6 | All free (CEP) | Targeted program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 27 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lovejoy Technology Academy | 27 | 13.5 | All free (CEP) | Targeted program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Brooklyn UD 188
- Website: lovejoyschool.org
- Phone: (618) 271-1028
- Office: 800 Madison St, Lovejoy, IL 62059
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Brooklyn UD 188
- Illinois districts by spending per studentBrooklyn UD 188 ranks 73 of 468 Illinois districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($21,565).#73 of 468
- Every school district in IllinoisBrooklyn UD 188 is the number 807 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 147 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#807 of 865
- Gardner CCSD 72CThe next larger Illinois district: 148 students in fall 2022, $17,561 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,561
- Willow Grove SD 46The next smaller Illinois district: 146 students in fall 2022, $14,527 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,527
- Compare Brooklyn UD 188 with Gardner CCSD 72CEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Lovejoy Technology Academy, its largest high school27 students in 2024-25, 13.5 per teacher.27
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Brooklyn UD 188
How many schools and students are in Brooklyn UD 188?
3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 118 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Brooklyn UD 188 spend per student?
$21,565 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,409 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,097 per student, up 7.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Brooklyn UD 188's money come from?
$4,323,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 39.6% state, 32.1% local and 28.3% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Brooklyn UD 188 live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 60 of the 127 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 47.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How do students in Brooklyn UD 188 do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Brooklyn UD 188 scored proficient or above: 5% or less in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Brooklyn UD 188?
under 50% of the 12 students in Brooklyn UD 188's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Brooklyn UD 188's NCES district ID?
1723640. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25