BRIDGES Charter District
Public school district · Ventura County · California · NCES district ID 0601879
BRIDGES Charter District spent $13,977 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 81% of the other California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $17,666). Its one school enrolled 420 students in 2024-25; 37.9% of its revenue came from the state.
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among California districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to BRIDGES Charter District in enrollment (349 to 353 students) and BRIDGES Charter District itself.
Where the money came from
$5,438,000 in revenue: 37.9% state, 53.2% local and 8.9% federal. Total spending was $4,974,000, or $14,171 per student; the district reported no capital outlay that year.
- State$2,060,000 38%
- Local$2,894,000 53%
- Federal$484,000 9%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 1,238 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25
351 students in 2022-23, 378 students in 2023-24, 420 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 351 | 18.2 | 19.3 |
| 2023-24 | 378 | 16.6 | 22.8 |
| 2024-25 | 420 | 24.4 | 17.2 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$1,549,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,413 per student
BRIDGES Charter District booked $1,549,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 18 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $85,016 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 25 in 100 California districts with a figure (state median $99,744, 1,149 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $1,274,000 | 82.2% |
| Special education | $121,000 | 7.8% |
| Other programs | $154,000 | 9.9% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,332 in 2018-19, $3,610 in 2019-20, $3,707 in 2020-21, $4,110 in 2021-22, $4,413 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in BRIDGES Charter District scored proficient or above: 57-68% in reading and 46-56% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | California | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 57-68% | 45% | 223 |
| Math | 46-56% | 34% | 219 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
1 elementary school, 420 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BRIDGES Charter | 420 | 17.2 | 19.0% | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact BRIDGES Charter District
- Website: bridgescharter.org
- Phone: (805) 492-3569
- Office: 1335 Calle Bouganvilla, Thousand Oaks, CA 91360
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about BRIDGES Charter District
- California districts by spending per studentBRIDGES Charter District ranks 1,004 of 1,238 California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,977).#1,004 of 1,238
- Every school district in CaliforniaBRIDGES Charter District is the number 1,271 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 351 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#1,271 of 1,991
- KIPP Adelante Preparatory Academy DistrictThe next larger California district: 352 students in fall 2022, $18,034 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,034
- Watts Learning Center DistrictThe next smaller California district: 350 students in fall 2022, $20,366 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$20,366
- Compare BRIDGES Charter District with KIPP Adelante Preparatory Academy DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Teacher salary spending across CaliforniaBRIDGES Charter District spent $85,016 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $99,744); spending, not a salary.$85,016
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about BRIDGES Charter District
How many schools and students are in BRIDGES Charter District?
One school was open in 2024-25 (1 elementary), enrolling 420 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does BRIDGES Charter District spend per student?
$13,977 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,666 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.Where does BRIDGES Charter District's money come from?
$5,438,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 37.9% state, 53.2% local and 8.9% federal (NCES F-33).How much does BRIDGES Charter District spend on teacher salaries?
$1,549,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,413 per student. Divided by the 18 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $85,016 per teacher, more than 25 in 100 California districts (state median $99,744). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in BRIDGES Charter District do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in BRIDGES Charter District scored proficient or above: 57-68% in reading and 46-56% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is BRIDGES Charter District's NCES district ID?
0601879. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25