ASU Preparatory Academy (90273)
Public school district · Maricopa County · Arizona · NCES district ID 0400788
ASU Preparatory Academy (90273) spent $17,794 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 82% of the other Arizona districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $11,993). Its one school enrolled 99 students in 2024-25; 59.8% of its revenue came from the state.
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Arizona districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to ASU Preparatory Academy (90273) in enrollment (106 to 108 students) and ASU Preparatory Academy (90273) itself.
Where the money came from
$1,657,000 in revenue: 59.8% state, 1.0% local and 39.2% federal. Total spending was $1,907,000, or $17,822 per student; the district reported no capital outlay that year.
- State$991,000 60%
- Local$17,000 1%
- Federal$649,000 39%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 475 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
107 students in 2022-23, 99 students in 2023-24, 99 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 107 | not reported | not reported |
| 2023-24 | 99 | not reported | not reported |
| 2024-25 | 99 | 9.0 | 11.0 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in ASU Preparatory Academy (90273) scored proficient or above: 20-24% in reading and 10-14% in math, against 40.4% in reading and 34.8% in math across Arizona. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Arizona, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Arizona | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 20-24% | 40.4% | 119 |
| Math | 10-14% | 34.8% | 120 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
1 other school, 99 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ASU Preparatory Academy - South Phoenix Intermediate | 99 | 11.0 | 72.0% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact ASU Preparatory Academy (90273)
- Website: asuprep.asu.edu
- Phone: (480) 965-4574
- Office: 1130 E University Dr. Ste 230, Tempe, AZ 85287
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about ASU Preparatory Academy (90273)
- Arizona districts by spending per studentASU Preparatory Academy (90273) ranks 88 of 475 Arizona districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($17,794).#88 of 475
- Every school district in ArizonaASU Preparatory Academy (90273) is the number 533 by size of 661 Arizona districts, with 107 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#533 of 661
- Tucson Preparatory School (6374)The next larger Arizona district: 108 students in fall 2022, $14,426 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,426
- Discovery Plus Academy (6357)The next smaller Arizona district: 106 students in fall 2022, $10,972 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,972
- Compare ASU Preparatory Academy (90273) with Tucson Preparatory School (6374)Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about ASU Preparatory Academy (90273)
How many schools and students are in ASU Preparatory Academy (90273)?
One school was open in 2024-25 (1 other), enrolling 99 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does ASU Preparatory Academy (90273) spend per student?
$17,794 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Arizona median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $11,993 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.Where does ASU Preparatory Academy (90273)'s money come from?
$1,657,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 59.8% state, 1.0% local and 39.2% federal (NCES F-33).How do students in ASU Preparatory Academy (90273) do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in ASU Preparatory Academy (90273) scored proficient or above: 20-24% in reading and 10-14% in math, against 40.4% in reading and 34.8% in math across Arizona. Arizona's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is ASU Preparatory Academy (90273)'s NCES district ID?
0400788. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25