Stanly County Schools

Public school district · Stanly County · North Carolina · NCES district ID 3704320

Stanly County Schools spent $10,914 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 78% of the other North Carolina districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $12,366). Its 23 schools enrolled 8,743 students in 2024-25; 63.4% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $11,481 per student, up 5.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 85% (North Carolina: 86.5%).

Spending per student among North Carolina districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Stanly County Schools in enrollment (7,527 to 9,143 students) and Stanly County Schools itself.

Current spending per student, North Carolina districts closest in size to Stanly County Schools, FY23Rutherford County Schools $14,515; Chatham County Schools $14,128; Lee County Schools $13,241; Franklin County Schools $13,043; Lenoir County Public Schools $12,902; Carteret County Public Schools $12,846; Sampson County Schools $12,239; Wilkes County Schools $12,150; Hoke County Schools $11,704; Stanly County Schools $10,914; State median, 1,000+ students $12,366.8k10k12k14k16kRutherford County Schools$14,515Chatham County Schools$14,128Lee County Schools$13,241Franklin County Schools$13,043Lenoir County Public Schools$12,902Carteret County Public Schools$12,846Sampson County Schools$12,239Wilkes County Schools$12,150Hoke County Schools$11,704Stanly County Schools$10,914State median, 1,000+ students $12,366
Current spending per student, North Carolina districts closest in size to Stanly County Schools, FY23Rutherford County Schools $14,515; Chatham County Schools $14,128; Lee County Schools $13,241; Franklin County Schools $13,043; Lenoir County Public Schools $12,902; Carteret County Public Schools $12,846; Sampson County Schools $12,239; Wilkes County Schools $12,150; Hoke County Schools $11,704; Stanly County Schools $10,914; State median, 1,000+ students $12,366.8k10k12k14k16kRutherford County Schools$14,515Chatham County Schools$14,128Lee County Schools$13,241Franklin County Schools$13,043Lenoir County Public Schools$12,902Carteret County Public Schools$12,846Sampson County Schools$12,239Wilkes County Schools$12,150Hoke County Schools$11,704Stanly County Schools$10,914State median, 1,000+ students $12,366
Current spending per student, North Carolina districts closest in size to Stanly County Schools, FY23Rutherford County Schools $14,515; Chatham County Schools $14,128; Lee County Schools $13,241; Franklin County Schools $13,043; Lenoir County Public Schools $12,902; Carteret County Public Schools $12,846; Sampson County Schools $12,239; Wilkes County Schools $12,150; Hoke County Schools $11,704; Stanly County Schools $10,914; State median, 1,000+ students $12,366.8k12k16kRutherford County Schools$14,515Chatham County Schools$14,128Lee County Schools$13,241Franklin County Schools$13,043Lenoir County Public Schools$12,902Carteret County Public Schools$12,846Sampson County Schools$12,239Wilkes County Schools$12,150Hoke County Schools$11,704Stanly County Schools$10,914State median, 1,000+ students $12,366
Current spending per student, North Carolina districts closest in size to Stanly County Schools, FY23Rutherford County Schools $14,515; Chatham County Schools $14,128; Lee County Schools $13,241; Franklin County Schools $13,043; Lenoir County Public Schools $12,902; Carteret County Public Schools $12,846; Sampson County Schools $12,239; Wilkes County Schools $12,150; Hoke County Schools $11,704; Stanly County Schools $10,914; State median, 1,000+ students $12,366.8k12k16kRutherford County Schools$14,515Chatham County Schools$14,128Lee County Schools$13,241Franklin County Schools$13,043Lenoir County Public Schools$12,902Carteret County Public Schools$12,846Sampson County Schools$12,239Wilkes County Schools$12,150Hoke County Schools$11,704Stanly County Schools$10,914State median, 1,000+ students $12,366

Where the money came from

$105,137,000 in revenue: 63.4% state, 20.9% local and 15.7% federal. Total spending including $2,512,000 of capital outlay was $98,270,000, or $11,370 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Stanly County Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $66,615,000; Local $22,013,000; Federal $16,509,000; total $105,137,000.
  • State$66,615,000 63%
  • Local$22,013,000 21%
  • Federal$16,509,000 16%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 150 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

8,643 students in 2022-23, 8,739 students in 2023-24, 8,743 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Stanly County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 8,643, 2023-24: 8,739, 2024-25: 8,74302.5k5k7.5k10k2022-238,6432023-248,7392024-258,743
Stanly County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 8,643, 2023-24: 8,739, 2024-25: 8,74302.5k5k7.5k10k2022-238,6432023-248,7392024-258,743
Stanly County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 8,643, 2023-24: 8,739, 2024-25: 8,74302.5k5k7.5k10k2022-238,6432023-248,7392024-258,743
Stanly County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 8,643, 2023-24: 8,739, 2024-25: 8,74302.5k5k7.5k10k2022-238,6432023-248,7392024-258,743

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-238,643537.416.1
2023-248,739534.816.3
2024-258,743568.915.4

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$26,651,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,084 per student

Stanly County Schools booked $26,651,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 539 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $49,405 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 48 in 100 North Carolina districts with a figure (state median $49,503, 293 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average North Carolina teacher salary at $53,644 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$17,346,00065.1%
Special education$3,090,00011.6%
Vocational$1,879,0007.1%
Other programs$4,336,00016.3%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,112 in 2018-19, $3,247 in 2019-20, $3,275 in 2020-21, $3,280 in 2021-22, $3,084 in 2022-23.

Stanly County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,112, 2019-20: $3,247, 2020-21: $3,275, 2021-22: $3,280, 2022-23: $3,08401k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1122019-20$3,2472020-21$3,2752021-22$3,2802022-23$3,084
Stanly County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,112, 2019-20: $3,247, 2020-21: $3,275, 2021-22: $3,280, 2022-23: $3,08401k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1122019-20$3,2472020-21$3,2752021-22$3,2802022-23$3,084
Stanly County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,112, 2019-20: $3,247, 2020-21: $3,275, 2021-22: $3,280, 2022-23: $3,08401k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1122019-20$3,2472020-21$3,2752021-22$3,2802022-23$3,084
Stanly County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,112, 2019-20: $3,247, 2020-21: $3,275, 2021-22: $3,280, 2022-23: $3,08401k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1122019-20$3,2472020-21$3,2752021-22$3,2802022-23$3,084

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Stanly County Schools scored proficient or above: 46% in reading and 45% in math, against 48% in reading and 50% in math across North Carolina. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within North Carolina, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNorth CarolinaStudents tested
Reading and language arts46%48%3,793
Math45%50%3,791

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

85% of the 625 students in Stanly County Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.5% across North Carolina. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNorth Carolina
Four-year graduation rate85%86.5%
Students in the class625120,822

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

11 elementary schools, 4,183 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Locust Elementary56315.899.5%Schoolwide program
Central Elementary52513.599.4%Schoolwide program
Stanfield Elementary48313.699.4%Schoolwide program
Badin Elementary41114.299.3%Schoolwide program
Aquadale Elementary37913.099.2%Schoolwide program
Endy Elementary36013.399.2%Schoolwide program
Norwood Elementary35415.199.2%Schoolwide program
Oakboro Choice STEM35314.099.2%Schoolwide program
Richfield Elementary30214.199.0%Schoolwide program
East Albemarle Elementary26113.398.9%Schoolwide program
Millingport Elementary19212.997.9%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

4 middle schools, 1,890 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
West Stanly Middle School66217.499.5%Eligible, no program
North Stanly Middle47116.699.4%Eligible, no program
South Stanly Middle40217.099.3%Eligible, no program
Albemarle Middle35514.399.2%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

7 high schools, 2,614 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
West Stanly High80017.999.6%Not Title I
North Stanly High56815.498.2%Eligible, no program
South Stanly High44216.399.3%Eligible, no program
Albemarle High41413.699.0%Eligible, no program
Stanly STEM Early College18931.598.4%Eligible, no program
Stanly Early College High18823.498.4%Eligible, no program
Stanly Academy Learning Center1314.476.9%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 other school, 56 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Stanly County Virtual Education56not reported44.6%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Stanly County Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Stanly County Schools

  1. North Carolina districts by spending per studentStanly County Schools ranks 117 of 150 North Carolina districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($10,914).#117 of 150
  2. Every school district in North CarolinaStanly County Schools is the number 42 by size of 332 North Carolina districts, with 8,643 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#42 of 332
  3. Wilkes County SchoolsThe next larger North Carolina district: 8,673 students in fall 2022, $12,150 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,150
  4. Lenoir County Public SchoolsThe next smaller North Carolina district: 8,334 students in fall 2022, $12,902 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,902
  5. Compare Stanly County Schools with Wilkes County SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. West Stanly High, its largest high school800 students in 2024-25, 17.9 per teacher.800
  7. Teacher salary spending across North CarolinaStanly County Schools spent $49,405 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $49,503); spending, not a salary.$49,405
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Stanly County Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Stanly County Schools?
    23 schools were open in 2024-25 (11 elementary, 4 middle, 7 high, 1 other), enrolling 8,743 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Stanly County Schools spend per student?
    $10,914 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the North Carolina median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,366 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $11,481 per student, up 5.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Stanly County Schools' money come from?
    $105,137,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 63.4% state, 20.9% local and 15.7% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Stanly County Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 1,666 of the 10,785 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 15.4%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Stanly County Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $26,651,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,084 per student. Divided by the 539 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $49,405 per teacher, more than 48 in 100 North Carolina districts (state median $49,503). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average North Carolina teacher salary at $53,644 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Stanly County Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Stanly County Schools scored proficient or above: 46% in reading and 45% in math, against 48% in reading and 50% in math across North Carolina. North Carolina's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Stanly County Schools?
    85% of the 625 students in Stanly County Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.5% across North Carolina. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Stanly County Schools' NCES district ID?
    3704320. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25