Haysville Public Schools

Listed by NCES as Haysville (district ID 2007050)

Public school district · Sedgwick County · Kansas · NCES district ID 2007050

Haysville Public Schools spent $13,026 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 56% of the other Kansas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $13,446). Its 9 schools enrolled 5,417 students in 2024-25; 75.3% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,563 per student, up 4.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 89% (Kansas: 88%).

Spending per student among Kansas districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Haysville Public Schools in enrollment (4,357 to 7,233 students) and Haysville Public Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Kansas districts closest in size to Haysville Public Schools, FY23Salina Unified School District 305 $18,954; Emporia Public Schools $15,701; Dodge City Public Schools $14,558; Goddard $14,463; Manhattan-Ogden Unified School District 383 $13,446; Haysville Public Schools $13,026; Gardner Edgerton School District 231 $12,882; Auburn-Washburn USD 437 $12,682; Liberal $12,351; Spring Hill $10,928; State median, 1,000+ students $13,446.5k10k15k20kSalina Unified School District…$18,954Emporia Public Schools$15,701Dodge City Public Schools$14,558Goddard$14,463Manhattan-Ogden Unified School…$13,446Haysville Public Schools$13,026Gardner Edgerton School Distri…$12,882Auburn-Washburn USD 437$12,682Liberal$12,351Spring Hill$10,928State median, 1,000+ students $13,446
Current spending per student, Kansas districts closest in size to Haysville Public Schools, FY23Salina Unified School District 305 $18,954; Emporia Public Schools $15,701; Dodge City Public Schools $14,558; Goddard $14,463; Manhattan-Ogden Unified School District 383 $13,446; Haysville Public Schools $13,026; Gardner Edgerton School District 231 $12,882; Auburn-Washburn USD 437 $12,682; Liberal $12,351; Spring Hill $10,928; State median, 1,000+ students $13,446.5k10k15k20kSalina Unified School District 305$18,954Emporia Public Schools$15,701Dodge City Public Schools$14,558Goddard$14,463Manhattan-Ogden Unified School Dist…$13,446Haysville Public Schools$13,026Gardner Edgerton School District 231$12,882Auburn-Washburn USD 437$12,682Liberal$12,351Spring Hill$10,928State median, 1,000+ students $13,446
Current spending per student, Kansas districts closest in size to Haysville Public Schools, FY23Salina Unified School District 305 $18,954; Emporia Public Schools $15,701; Dodge City Public Schools $14,558; Goddard $14,463; Manhattan-Ogden Unified School District 383 $13,446; Haysville Public Schools $13,026; Gardner Edgerton School District 231 $12,882; Auburn-Washburn USD 437 $12,682; Liberal $12,351; Spring Hill $10,928; State median, 1,000+ students $13,446.5k10k15k20kSalina Unified School District 305$18,954Emporia Public Schools$15,701Dodge City Public Schools$14,558Goddard$14,463Manhattan-Ogden Unified School District 383$13,446Haysville Public Schools$13,026Gardner Edgerton School District 231$12,882Auburn-Washburn USD 437$12,682Liberal$12,351Spring Hill$10,928State median, 1,000+ students $13,446
Current spending per student, Kansas districts closest in size to Haysville Public Schools, FY23Salina Unified School District 305 $18,954; Emporia Public Schools $15,701; Dodge City Public Schools $14,558; Goddard $14,463; Manhattan-Ogden Unified School District 383 $13,446; Haysville Public Schools $13,026; Gardner Edgerton School District 231 $12,882; Auburn-Washburn USD 437 $12,682; Liberal $12,351; Spring Hill $10,928; State median, 1,000+ students $13,446.5k10k15k20kSalina Unified School District 305$18,954Emporia Public Schools$15,701Dodge City Public Schools$14,558Goddard$14,463Manhattan-Ogden Unified School District…$13,446Haysville Public Schools$13,026Gardner Edgerton School District 231$12,882Auburn-Washburn USD 437$12,682Liberal$12,351Spring Hill$10,928State median, 1,000+ students $13,446

Where the money came from

$93,548,000 in revenue: 75.3% state, 12.6% local and 12.1% federal. Total spending including $3,876,000 of capital outlay was $83,129,000, or $14,362 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Haysville Public Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $70,409,000; Local $11,808,000; Federal $11,331,000; total $93,548,000.
  • State$70,409,000 75%
  • Local$11,808,000 13%
  • Federal$11,331,000 12%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 83 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

5,788 students in 2022-23, 5,528 students in 2023-24, 5,417 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Haysville Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 5,788, 2023-24: 5,528, 2024-25: 5,41702k4k6k2022-235,7882023-245,5282024-255,417
Haysville Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 5,788, 2023-24: 5,528, 2024-25: 5,41702k4k6k2022-235,7882023-245,5282024-255,417
Haysville Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 5,788, 2023-24: 5,528, 2024-25: 5,41702k4k6k2022-235,7882023-245,5282024-255,417
Haysville Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 5,788, 2023-24: 5,528, 2024-25: 5,41702k4k6k2022-235,7882023-245,5282024-255,417

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-235,788363.415.9
2023-245,528366.215.1
2024-255,417352.315.4

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$25,490,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,404 per student

Haysville Public Schools booked $25,490,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 377 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $67,606 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 89 in 100 Kansas districts with a figure (state median $57,761, 260 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Kansas teacher salary at $54,815 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$21,018,00082.5%
Special education$3,904,00015.3%
Vocational$406,0001.6%
Other programs$162,0000.6%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,836 in 2018-19, $3,911 in 2019-20, $4,203 in 2020-21, $4,405 in 2021-22, $4,404 in 2022-23.

Haysville Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,836, 2019-20: $3,911, 2020-21: $4,203, 2021-22: $4,405, 2022-23: $4,40402k4k6k2018-19$3,8362019-20$3,9112020-21$4,2032021-22$4,4052022-23$4,404
Haysville Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,836, 2019-20: $3,911, 2020-21: $4,203, 2021-22: $4,405, 2022-23: $4,40402k4k6k2018-19$3,8362019-20$3,9112020-21$4,2032021-22$4,4052022-23$4,404
Haysville Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,836, 2019-20: $3,911, 2020-21: $4,203, 2021-22: $4,405, 2022-23: $4,40402k4k6k2018-19$3,8362019-20$3,9112020-21$4,2032021-22$4,4052022-23$4,404
Haysville Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,836, 2019-20: $3,911, 2020-21: $4,203, 2021-22: $4,405, 2022-23: $4,40402k4k6k2018-19$3,8362019-20$3,9112020-21$4,2032021-22$4,4052022-23$4,404

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Haysville Public Schools scored proficient or above: 26% in reading and 19% in math, against 32.5% in reading and 29.4% in math across Kansas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Kansas, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtKansasStudents tested
Reading and language arts26%32.5%2,943
Math19%29.4%2,941

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

89% of the 467 students in Haysville Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Kansas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtKansas
Four-year graduation rate89%88%
Students in the class46736,783

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

6 elementary schools, 2,308 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Nelson Elementary44215.259.0%Schoolwide program
Prairie Elementary School40714.066.8%Schoolwide program
Freeman Elementary39714.647.1%Schoolwide program
Rex Elementary38612.854.1%Schoolwide program
Oatville Elementary36014.348.3%Schoolwide program
Ruth Clark Elementary K-531613.157.9%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 middle schools, 1,306 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Haysville Middle School75514.354.8%Eligible, no program
Haysville West Middle School55113.651.4%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 1,803 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Campus High Haysville1,80319.144.7%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Haysville Public Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Haysville Public Schools

  1. Kansas districts by spending per studentHaysville Public Schools ranks 47 of 83 Kansas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,026).#47 of 83
  2. Every school district in KansasHaysville Public Schools is the number 20 by size of 290 Kansas districts, with 5,788 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#20 of 290
  3. Gardner Edgerton School District 231The next larger Kansas district: 5,994 students in fall 2022, $12,882 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,882
  4. Spring HillThe next smaller Kansas district: 5,371 students in fall 2022, $10,928 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,928
  5. Compare Haysville Public Schools with Gardner Edgerton School District 231Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Campus High Haysville, its largest high school1,803 students in 2024-25, 19.1 per teacher.1,803
  7. Teacher salary spending across KansasHaysville Public Schools spent $67,606 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $57,761); spending, not a salary.$67,606
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Haysville Public Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Haysville Public Schools?
    9 schools were open in 2024-25 (6 elementary, 2 middle, 1 high), enrolling 5,417 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Haysville Public Schools spend per student?
    $13,026 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Kansas median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,446 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,563 per student, up 4.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Haysville Public Schools' money come from?
    $93,548,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 75.3% state, 12.6% local and 12.1% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Haysville Public Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 606 of the 4,940 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 12.3%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Haysville Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $25,490,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,404 per student. Divided by the 377 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $67,606 per teacher, more than 89 in 100 Kansas districts (state median $57,761). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Kansas teacher salary at $54,815 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Haysville Public Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Haysville Public Schools scored proficient or above: 26% in reading and 19% in math, against 32.5% in reading and 29.4% in math across Kansas. Kansas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Haysville Public Schools?
    89% of the 467 students in Haysville Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Kansas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Haysville Public Schools' NCES district ID?
    2007050. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25