Suwannee County School District

Listed by NCES as Suwannee (district ID 1201830)

Public school district · Suwannee County · Florida · NCES district ID 1201830

Suwannee County School District spent $11,325 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 66% of the other Florida districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $11,744). Its 11 schools enrolled 6,007 students in 2024-25; 49.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $11,896 per student, up 5.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% (Florida: 88%).

Spending per student among Florida districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Suwannee County in enrollment (3,313 to 6,398 students) and Suwannee County itself.

Current spending per student, Florida districts closest in size to Suwannee County, FY23Gadsden $13,871; Jackson County $12,683; Desoto $12,385; Hardee $11,932; Okeechobee $11,523; Levy $11,488; Washington County $11,470; Baker County $11,376; Suwannee County $11,325; Wakulla County $10,952; State median, 1,000+ students $11,744.8k10k12k14k16kGadsden$13,871Jackson County$12,683Desoto$12,385Hardee$11,932Okeechobee$11,523Levy$11,488Washington County$11,470Baker County$11,376Suwannee County$11,325Wakulla County$10,952State median, 1,000+ students $11,744
Current spending per student, Florida districts closest in size to Suwannee County, FY23Gadsden $13,871; Jackson County $12,683; Desoto $12,385; Hardee $11,932; Okeechobee $11,523; Levy $11,488; Washington County $11,470; Baker County $11,376; Suwannee County $11,325; Wakulla County $10,952; State median, 1,000+ students $11,744.8k10k12k14k16kGadsden$13,871Jackson County$12,683Desoto$12,385Hardee$11,932Okeechobee$11,523Levy$11,488Washington County$11,470Baker County$11,376Suwannee County$11,325Wakulla County$10,952State median, 1,000+ students $11,744
Current spending per student, Florida districts closest in size to Suwannee County, FY23Gadsden $13,871; Jackson County $12,683; Desoto $12,385; Hardee $11,932; Okeechobee $11,523; Levy $11,488; Washington County $11,470; Baker County $11,376; Suwannee County $11,325; Wakulla County $10,952; State median, 1,000+ students $11,744.8k12k16kGadsden$13,871Jackson County$12,683Desoto$12,385Hardee$11,932Okeechobee$11,523Levy$11,488Washington County$11,470Baker County$11,376Suwannee County$11,325Wakulla County$10,952State median, 1,000+ students $11,744
Current spending per student, Florida districts closest in size to Suwannee County, FY23Gadsden $13,871; Jackson County $12,683; Desoto $12,385; Hardee $11,932; Okeechobee $11,523; Levy $11,488; Washington County $11,470; Baker County $11,376; Suwannee County $11,325; Wakulla County $10,952; State median, 1,000+ students $11,744.8k12k16kGadsden$13,871Jackson County$12,683Desoto$12,385Hardee$11,932Okeechobee$11,523Levy$11,488Washington County$11,470Baker County$11,376Suwannee County$11,325Wakulla County$10,952State median, 1,000+ students $11,744

Where the money came from

$73,350,000 in revenue: 49.6% state, 23.9% local and 26.5% federal. Total spending including $3,767,000 of capital outlay was $72,893,000, or $12,282 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Suwannee County School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $36,401,000; Local $17,500,000; Federal $19,449,000; total $73,350,000.
  • State$36,401,000 50%
  • Local$17,500,000 24%
  • Federal$19,449,000 27%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 66 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

5,935 students in 2022-23, 5,968 students in 2023-24, 6,007 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Suwannee County School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 5,935, 2023-24: 5,968, 2024-25: 6,00702k4k6k8k2022-235,9352023-245,9682024-256,007
Suwannee County School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 5,935, 2023-24: 5,968, 2024-25: 6,00702k4k6k8k2022-235,9352023-245,9682024-256,007
Suwannee County School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 5,935, 2023-24: 5,968, 2024-25: 6,00702k4k6k8k2022-235,9352023-245,9682024-256,007
Suwannee County School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 5,935, 2023-24: 5,968, 2024-25: 6,00702k4k6k8k2022-235,9352023-245,9682024-256,007

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-235,935304.019.5
2023-245,968313.719.0
2024-256,007315.319.1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$21,324,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,593 per student

Suwannee County School District booked $21,324,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 306 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $69,627 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 95 in 100 Florida districts with a figure (state median $58,157, 66 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Florida teacher salary at $51,230 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$15,503,00072.7%
Special education$2,180,00010.2%
Vocational$2,174,00010.2%
Other programs$1,467,0006.9%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,044 in 2018-19, $3,232 in 2019-20, $3,153 in 2020-21, $3,263 in 2021-22, $3,593 in 2022-23.

Suwannee County School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,044, 2019-20: $3,232, 2020-21: $3,153, 2021-22: $3,263, 2022-23: $3,59301k2k3k4k2018-19$3,0442019-20$3,2322020-21$3,1532021-22$3,2632022-23$3,593
Suwannee County School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,044, 2019-20: $3,232, 2020-21: $3,153, 2021-22: $3,263, 2022-23: $3,59301k2k3k4k2018-19$3,0442019-20$3,2322020-21$3,1532021-22$3,2632022-23$3,593
Suwannee County School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,044, 2019-20: $3,232, 2020-21: $3,153, 2021-22: $3,263, 2022-23: $3,59301k2k3k4k2018-19$3,0442019-20$3,2322020-21$3,1532021-22$3,2632022-23$3,593
Suwannee County School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,044, 2019-20: $3,232, 2020-21: $3,153, 2021-22: $3,263, 2022-23: $3,59301k2k3k4k2018-19$3,0442019-20$3,2322020-21$3,1532021-22$3,2632022-23$3,593

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Suwannee County School District scored proficient or above: 46% in reading and 51% in math, against 53% in reading and 55% in math across Florida. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Florida, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtFloridaStudents tested
Reading and language arts46%53%2,503
Math51%55%2,478

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90% of the 344 students in Suwannee County School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Florida. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtFlorida
Four-year graduation rate90%88%
Students in the class344208,274

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

4 elementary schools, 2,886 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Suwannee Riverside Elementary90120.355.8%Schoolwide program
Branford Elementary School71218.355.1%Schoolwide program
Suwannee Pineview Elementary65816.162.0%Schoolwide program
Suwannee Springcrest Elementary61517.157.6%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 971 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Suwannee Middle School97120.752.2%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

3 high schools, 1,969 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Suwannee High School1,16724.540.1%Schoolwide program
Branford High School79919.738.2%Schoolwide program
Riveroak Technical College30.3not reportedNot Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

3 other schools, 181 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Suwannee Virtual School9819.63.1%Not Title I
Suwannee Opportunity School6613.281.8%Schoolwide program
Community Base Service Students17not reported17.6%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

One more school on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory

These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.

Riveroak Technical College

High school in Live Oak; open in 2024-25; 3 students; 0.3 students per teacher.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.

Contact Suwannee County School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Suwannee County School District

  1. Florida districts by spending per studentSuwannee County School District ranks 44 of 66 Florida districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($11,325).#44 of 66
  2. Every school district in FloridaSuwannee County School District is the number 46 by size of 80 Florida districts, with 5,935 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#46 of 80
  3. Jackson County School DistrictThe next larger Florida district: 6,076 students in fall 2022, $12,683 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,683
  4. LevyThe next smaller Florida district: 5,689 students in fall 2022, $11,488 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,488
  5. Compare Suwannee County School District with Jackson County School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Suwannee High School, its largest high school1,167 students in 2024-25, 24.5 per teacher.1,167
  7. Teacher salary spending across FloridaSuwannee County School District spent $69,627 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $58,157); spending, not a salary.$69,627
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Suwannee County School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Suwannee County School District?
    11 schools were open in 2024-25 (4 elementary, 1 middle, 3 high, 3 other), enrolling 6,007 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Suwannee County School District spend per student?
    $11,325 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Florida median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $11,744 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $11,896 per student, up 5.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Suwannee County School District's money come from?
    $73,350,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 49.6% state, 23.9% local and 26.5% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Suwannee County School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 1,992 of the 7,310 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 27.3%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Suwannee County School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $21,324,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,593 per student. Divided by the 306 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $69,627 per teacher, more than 95 in 100 Florida districts (state median $58,157). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Florida teacher salary at $51,230 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Suwannee County School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Suwannee County School District scored proficient or above: 46% in reading and 51% in math, against 53% in reading and 55% in math across Florida. Florida's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Suwannee County School District?
    90% of the 344 students in Suwannee County School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Florida. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Suwannee County School District's NCES district ID?
    1201830. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25